THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi LeeThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 6/27/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Short and Sweet

Monty and his best friend Percy are going on a grand tour of Europe, and they plan on having the time of their lives. Even with his younger sister, Felicity coming along, Monty won’t let it ruin his fun. But things get crazy when the group encounters an ancient artifact, highwaymen, and pirates.

Characters

Henry “Monty” Montague: Our main character who grew a lot over the course of the book. Monty has the most engaging voice, he’s entertaining and sassy. He got the group into the mess they were in by trying to get even with someone. Monty had the problem of saying things without thinking and often came to regret it, but his friends called him out on it. He was a flawed character but that’s whats great about him because over the course of the book he learned from his mistakes.

Percy: Monty’s best friend and our voice of reason. Percy is also a person a color which I found interesting, because of course during the time that this book takes place it makes travel for the grand tour a bit harder because certain places won’t allow him to stay. Percy also struggles in this book because throughout the course of his friendship with Monty he has always supported him and now Percy has his own demons to fight and wonders if Monty can support him.

Felicity: Monty’s younger sister and the brains of the group. Felicity’s strength and knowledge saved the group from dangerous situations. I was rooting for her throughout the book she had goals and I felt bad that during that time girls her age didn’t have many choices.

Romance

Monty has liked Percy for a while, and thinks the grand tour will be the perfect time to express how he feels. But things don’t work well mainly because Percy seems more annoyed with Monty than smitten. It seemed like Monty always said or did the wrong thing that ended up pushing Percy away.

My Thoughts

~ This isn’t an ordinary grand tour of Europe, like it was expected to be. Mayhem begins when the group reaches their first stop in Paris. This leads them to places that are off of their original course.

~ In Paris, Monty steals an artifact that leads to the group being attacked by highwaymen, hiding in a small town, going to Barcelona, meeting pirates, and trying to find something on an island that is sinking.

~ My favorite part of the book was the whole mystery surrounding the artifact and what it does. The artifact was the whole reason the group had to go off course so I was eager to find out what it could do.

~ What I loved the most about this book was how fast paced it was. From the very beginning we embark on a journey with these characters.

~ In each city we meet different characters and all of them add to the story in their own way. My favorite characters were the pirates I loved learning more about them and their ultimate goal.

~ I felt like I was with the trio of characters and I was worried about their well-being, they were in some dangerous positions and on the run from some people who wanted them dead.

Overall

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must read! Everything about it is amazing, the characters, the action and adventure, the diversity, and of course the romance. The ending was great and everything was wrapped up nicely. Monty, Percy, and Felicity are a set of characters I won’t forget. This is hands down one of my favorite reads of 2017, and I encourage everyone to pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

AVENGED By Amy Tintera

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVENGED By Amy TinteraAvenged by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #2
Published by HarperTeen on 5/2/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister, Olivia, from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its former glory.

But their fight has only begun. Olivia is determined to destroy everyone who acts against Ruina. Em isn’t as sure. Ever since Em posed as Prince Casimir’s betrothed in Lera, she’s started to see another side to this war. And now that Cas has taken the throne, Em believes a truce is within reach. But Olivia suspects that Em’s romantic feelings for Cas are just coloring her judgement.

Em is determined to bring peace to her home. But when winning the war could mean betraying her family, Em faces an impossible choice between loyalty and love. Em must stay one step ahead of her enemies—and her blood—before she’s the next victim in this battle for sovereignty.

Short and Sweet

Emelina and Olivia Flores go back to their kingdom of Ruina and vow to rebuild it to its former glory. But alliances are shifting and figuring out what to do and who to trust is just the beginning.

Characters

Emelina: One of the queens of Ruina who is willing to do what is best for her people. Emelina is way more level headed than Olivia, which I’ll get into a little later.

Olivia: The other queen of Ruina who is also willing to do what is best for her people but in a very different way than her sister. Olivia is back with a vengeance, she is not happy which is understandable she was kept prisoner but she will kill anyone who gets in her way. “You’re weak!” she screamed again.

Cas: Prince of Lera who is fighting for his throne, because his cousin Jovita and some of his people have turned against him.

Aren: The second strongest Ruined who is Emelina and Olivia’s friend. Aren struggles in this book with being angry and killing with Olivia, because he understands her anger or with being level headed with Emelina and showing compassion towards people.

*We get to read from all of these characters POVs.

Romance

There is two romances in this book that I feel are worth mentioning.

Emelina and Cas: They developed a bond in the first book Ruined and they still have feelings for each other even though their people don’t like the match. I love these two together I think it would work, I mean she did pretend to be someone else but all the feelings they have for each other are genuine. “I’m very reasonable. Em says it’s one of my best qualities.”

Aren and Iria: Iria is a warrior from the Olso army. Okay this is a match I didn’t see coming but the more I read the more I liked it. Aren needed someone who wasn’t a ruined who could understand what he was going through and show him compassion and Iria was the right person. She risked it all for him and his feelings for her changed over the course of the book and he showed his feelings more and I loved it!

Quotes

~ “We take. We will take the throne, we will take responsibility, and we will crush anyone who defies us. Got it?”

~ “It sounds like you’re about to die.”

~ “The Ruined don’t betray each other.”

My Thoughts

~ There is so much going on this book and it’s amazing, I couldn’t put this book down.

~ In Ruined Emelina aligned with the Olso kingdom to help her rescue her sister and attack the kingdom of Lera. Now that Em and Olivia are back in Ruina the warriors are back and along with them is August, the youngest prince of Olso. He proposes a marriage to Em and thats when things get complicated.

~ Em still has feelings for Cas and he still has feelings for Em. I mean they are technically married but he thought he was married to someone else and not one of the heirs of Ruina.

~ Olivia is intense! She will literally kill anyone who gets in her way provoked or not. I think she likes it shes like a killing machine snapping necks left and right. Olivia doesn’t like Cas and believes that Em’s love for him is causing her to make the wrong decisions.

~ I felt bad for Cas in this book. He’s trying to be with Em which is difficult because the Ruined don’t like the Lerans and she has to put her people before him, and his cousin Jovita is making things hard for him with his own people. Jovita convinces the Lerans who are staying in the fortress that Cas is going crazy and she temporarily takes over. Cas now has to figure out who is by his side and how to get his rightful place on the throne back.

~ I also liked Violet she is the governors daughter of the Southern Providence. She was also a strong female character and was loyal and willing to help Cas when most people weren’t.

~ I was worried about Olivia and Em, its like oil and water. When they got back to Ruina they proposed a diarchy. They’re so different Olivia is angry and thinks she can just take anyone out who gets in her way while Em thinks she can talk things out with people and try to make things better without so much bloodshed.

~ I loved getting to know more about Aren and seeing him struggle between what was right and what was wrong. His bond with Iria just made me smile it was cute and the relationship building was amazing.

Overall

I LOVED this book! It was amazing and it makes my want the next book so bad. I need to know whats going to happen next! I couldn’t put this book down and it didn’t end in a big cliffhanger but it still left me wanting to know what Em is going to do! Avenged was a great sequel and I definitely recommend this series its one of my favorites. You have to pick up Ruined if you haven’t and then get Avenged they don’t disappoint!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

SILVER STARS By Michael Grant

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SILVER STARS By Michael GrantSilver Stars by Michael Grant
Series: Soldier Girl #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 1/31/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The summer of 1943, World War II. With heavy memories of combat, Frangie, Rainy, Rio and the rest of the American army are moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily.

The women won’t conquer Italy alone. They are not heroes for fighting alongside their brothers—they are soldiers. But Frangie, Rainy, Rio, and the millions of brave females fighting for their country have become a symbol in the fight for equality. They will brave terrible conditions in an endless siege; they will fight to find themselves on the front lines of WWII; and they will come face-to-face with the brutality of war until they win or die.

Short and Sweet

Frangie, Rainy, and Rio are back, this statement just makes me happy. These soldiers are on to their next target, Italy, and back to the front lines to sacrifice their lives for their country.

Characters

Rainy: Is given a mission that will in the end help the US Army, which she’s all for because she follows orders, but while she’s on the mission she begins to question if she should have taken the mission in the first place.

Rio: Is on the front lines in battle and has a more prominent role in this book because she’s looked at by everyone on camp as someone who was meant to be a soldier.

Frangie: Is still a medic just trying to do her job trying to save the lives of injured G.I’s if she can and just going where she’s needed.

Romance

There’s not really that much romance in this book. Rio still has her hometown sweetheart, Strand that she talks to via letters, and they do get to meet up at one point in the book. I thought Rainy would have a romantic interest in this book, but boy was I wrong, I was really wrong. I don’t want to spoil anything… While writing this I realized that Rainy was talking to another boy and now I’m questioning myself and if they could have a romantic relationship. Halev are you the one for Rainy? Because C definitely wasn’t.

My Thoughts

~ I loved this book just as much as the first one (Front Lines).

~ Rio, had a lot more page time than the other girls which I didn’t really mind because she had more action going on in her story line.

~ Okay so Rainy has a mission that she goes on in this book which we follow her through the motions. Her story line was interesting but it gets better towards the end of the book. Rainy is intelligent and her knowledge of multiple languages is impressive. By the way after finishing the book I did some research on what Rainy would have went through and its awful.

~ Frangie, I love her so much. She’s caring and she picked a job that suits her strengths. I would say that Frangie’s story line is kind of like Rainy’s it’s interesting but gets better towards the end. I’m glad she got to meet up with a loved one to brighten her mood.

~ I will say that the war has changed these three girls. You can tell it changed Rio in the first book and you get more of that change in this book, shes a little more excited to kill than she was before she killed her first Kraut. I didn’t feel like there was much change with Frangie but she does learn a few things about her family that surprises her. Rainy didn’t have a change until the end of this book which was understandable especially with what she had to endure.

~ Rio is really the only one in this series who has a best friend with her in the war, Jenou. I like that she has a friend with her but I was upset by the strain that their friendship was going through.

~ My favorite thing about these books is when the girls meet and have interactions. It happened in Front Lines and it happened in this book too. I love how they remember each other and are friendly.

~ Michael Grant does a GREAT job writing this series. He definitely does his research and makes this series so true to the time it’s placed in. When reading this book it feels like you’re transported to the front lines with these girls and seeing what they see and feeling how they feel.

Overall

I love love love this series its one of my favorites! I want the third book now, just to see the next mission these girls will have to tackle. If you haven’t read Front Lines you should, and then pick up Silver Stars, because these books do not disappoint! I would recommend this series in a heartbeat, so if you like action and historical fiction with details that make you feel like you’re there then this series is for you!!!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE HANDS OF TIME By Michelle Madow

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE HANDS OF TIME By Michelle MadowThe Hands of Time by Michelle Madow
Series: Elementals #5
Published by Dreamscape Publishing on 11/2/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Mythology, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Months ago, Nicole Cassidy’s life was turned upside-down when she discovered that she was a witch descended from the Greek gods. She and the four other witches gifted with elemental powers fought all over the world—and in another dimension—to battle the supporters of the Titans and fight for the people they love.

Now the Elementals must stop Typhon—the most dangerous monster in the world—from rising, and seal the portal to the dangerous prison world of Kerberos. But they won’t be able to do that without facing their hardest decision yet… a sacrifice so great that it may be one they’re not willing to make.

Short and Sweet

Picking up right where we left off in the last book, Nicole has the chance to go back in time and fix her mistakes to save Blake’s life and Medusa’s head from being destroyed. Now her and the other Elementals have to finish their quest of stopping the Titans from rising.

My Thoughts

~ I loved this book but it was bittersweet. It’s the last book in the series, we lose a few characters, and sacrifices are made, but like all of the books they only get better and this was my favorite in the series.

~ When I started reading this book I had a few ideas about what I thought was going to happen but I was caught off guard by some of the twist. I don’t want to spoil anything but these twist were unexpected and I didn’t see anything coming.

~ The pace in this book was pretty fast. That being said I felt like some of the tasks the Elementals had to handle in the first half of the book were easy, but in the second half that’s when they had to deal with the bigger decisions that would impact their futures and lives.

~ I think the romance between characters in this book took a backseat mainly because they had bigger and better things to worry about and I didn’t really mind that.

~ This is hard for me to say but I did not like Nicole in this book. She was pretty selfish especially at the end. I mean I understand not wanting something to happen to your boyfriend but to act like someone else’s life isn’t as important just bothered me.

~ I loved Danielle, she seemed to be level-headed and always thought things through.

Overall

I loved watching these characters grow over these past five books and develop into the heroes they are now. This book was a crazy ride and left me speechless. It was a great ending to this series. I would recommend this series, these books aren’t long and you can just breeze through them. If you like mythology and witches and quest then pick this series up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

FALLING KINGDOMS By Morgan Rhodes

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

FALLING KINGDOMS By Morgan RhodesFalling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #1
Published by Penguin Group on 12/11/12
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 423
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Princess Cleo of Mytica confronts violence for the first time in her life when a shocking murder sets her kingdom on a path to collapse. Once a privileged royal, Cleo must now summon the strength to survive in this new world and fight for her rightful place as Queen.

The King of Limeros’s son, Magnus, must plan each footstep with shrewd, sharp guile if he is to earn his powerful father’s trust, while his sister, Lucia, discovers a terrifying secret about her heritage that will change everything.

Rebellious Jonas lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Witches, if found, are put to death, and Watchers, immortal beings who take the shape of hawks to visit the human world, have been almost entirely forgotten. A vicious power struggle quickly escalates to war, and these four young people collide against each other and the rise of elementia, the magic that can topple kingdoms and crown a ruler in the same day.

Short and Sweet

Falling Kingdoms follows four young people from different kingdoms. When one wrong move has the kingdoms at each others throats, our main characters fates become intertwined, as they’re now key players in which kingdom will come to power.

Characters

Cleo: A princess who tries to do the right thing often finds herself regretting taking action or not taking action.

Jonas: A boy who suffered the loss of his brother at the hand of a lord, and now searches for justice for himself and his country.

Magnus: The heir to his father’s throne who does everything to try and earn his father’s respect but only seems to be met with failure.

Lucia: A princess who’s scared of the power she holds. Her only problem is that her only confidant, her brother Magnus seems to be avoiding her.

My Thoughts

~ The world building was so amazing, it was fast paced, and none of the details will slow you down.

~ No one is safe in this book, the killings in this book were unexpected and some were shocking.

~ There’s so much action and drama in this book, my interest was always held and it kept me on my toes.

~ These characters and their relationships are complex, everything they do dictates their futures and how their paths cross.

~ This book was unpredictable the events and plot twist just keep you guessing at Rhodes will do next.

~ So there’s some romance in this book, some of them were crazy. But fear not because the romance is not the forefront of this book, but at some points it did drive the story forward.

~ There was so much violence and action in the end, and secrets revealed, and there wasn’t a cliffhanger!

Overall

I loved this book more than I thought I would, it was everything I would want in a high fantasy! I need to read the rest of the series. If you haven’t started this series pick it up, you’ll love it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

THREE DARK CROWNS By Kendare Blake

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THREE DARK CROWNS By Kendare BlakeThree Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Series: Three Dark Crowns #1
Published by HarperTeen on 9/20/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose...it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

Short and Sweet

Katharine, Arsinoe, and Mirabella, are three sisters and queens that have to compete for the throne. Each sister has a different power, and live in different parts of the land. Only one of the sisters can claim the throne and to do so she would have to kill the other two.

Characters

Arsinoe was the naturalist, she was viewed as a weak queen due to the fact that her gift didn’t seem to show. I felt bad for, because people seemed to view her as a bit of a disappointment.

Katharine was the poisoner, and her power was weak as well. To try and improve her gift, Katharine was repeatedly poisoned her whole life.

Mirabella was the elemental, and was the strongest of the three queens. Because of her power she was favored the most by people on Fennbirn.

My Thoughts

~All three have powers, but Katharine and Arsinoe’s were both weak. It was interesting to see how they had to adjust because of their powers not showing.

~We get to read all three girls POV’s, I liked reading from all three I don’t think I have a favorite, I was rooting for all three of them.

~I thought I wouldn’t like Mirabella, because she wasn’t having the same problems as Katharine and Arsinoe with her power, but she was struggling with the thoughts of having to kill her sisters.

~I also liked the secondary characters they definitely add another layer to this story. My favorite would have to be Jules, she was always looking out for Arsinoe.

~The ending was AMAZING! It was something I wasn’t expecting to happen, I just want the second book now to see what happens next!

Favorite Quotes

~”I could never hate you,” she says. “But if you do not leave now, my cat will tear your throat out.”

~”I want revenge,” “And then I want my crown.”

~”They’ll all pay for this,” “They will bleed and scream and get what they’re owed.”

Overall

I loved this book! Its now one of my favorites and I can’t wait until the second one is released. At the end there were so many plot twist that I wasn’t expecting and it’ll be interesting to see how these three will move forward after the events that took place in this book. I would definitely recommend this book you won’t regret it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

THE KISS OF DECEPTION By Mary E. Pearson

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE KISS OF DECEPTION By Mary E. PearsonThe Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1
Published by Henry Holt and Co. on 7/8/14
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 497
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn't—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.
On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.

Short and Sweet

Princess Lia does not like traditions. Lia escapes from her arranged marriage by taking off to a nearby village. Lia is making a new life for herself as a barmaid. Everything seems to be going fine until two men enter the bar, one is the prince she left at the alter and the other is the assassin sent to kill her.

My Thoughts

~ The book is told from all three characters points of view. All three did a beautiful job as narrator.

~ Lia was an intriguing character. She had a vast knowledge in languages which she used to her advantage. She was also brave and stood for what she thought was right.

~ We get to see the men the same way Lia did, and we got to learn their names, as Rafe and Kaden.

~The most interesting aspect of the book was that we didn’t know who was the prince or the assassin.

~I thought I would be able to guess who was who but in the end I was totally wrong.

Overall

The Kiss of Deception was an amazing book. The story is captivating once it gets started. I definitely liked this book, and I can’t wait to continue on with the series!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

RUINED By Amy Tintera

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RUINED By Amy TinteraRuined by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #1
Published by HarperTeen on 5/3/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined—completely lacking any magic—she is determined to get revenge.

Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everything he holds dear, including his son.

The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

Short and Sweet

Em’s parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped and all Em wants now is to get her sister back and revenge. To get her sister back Em puts a plan in motion to infiltrate a rival kingdom and pose as the Prince’s betrothed. While in the kingdom of Lera, Em plans on killing Cas and the rest of the royal family to get her sister and salvage what’s left of the Ruined kingdom.

What I liked

~Em. She was fearless I mean she was posing as another princess in enemy territory! She was also a pretty kickass heroine and she was skilled at fighting! Which makes up for the fact the she didn’t have Ruined powers. Em was also caring she wasn’t heartless even though she was on a mission for revenge.

~Cas. Ahh Cas I mean from the description he sounds pretty cute. Anyway I think when Cas got a different point of view on things thanks to Em he started to realize what was right and what was wrong. He also had to question things and people in his family. Cas was a lot smarter than people gave him credit for.

~Olivia. Em’s sister. We don’t meet her till the end but she’s pretty badass too. Olivia unlike her sister has Ruined power and shes one of the most powerful.

~ The plot it was so good and at some points it got so intense!

What I didn’t like

~ Nothing! This book was so good!!!

Quotes

~”Please don’t die, she prayed. Not yet.”

~ “You and I, we’ve barely started. When we’re done, they’ll all be on their knees, begging for forgiveness.”

Overall

This is a must read, after I started it and got through the first few chapters and knew what I was in for I couldn’t put the book down! It’s now one of my favorite books of 2016. There’s plenty of action from the start, a little romance, some violence, and a few twists. Ruined is an excellent start to a series and I’m already ready for the sequel! I would recommend it to readers who like fantasy and stories of revenge.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

THE WONDERFUL WIZARD OF OZ By L. Frank Baum

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE WONDERFUL WIZARD OF OZ By L. Frank BaumThe Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
Series: Oz #1
Published by Createspace Independent Pub on 11/29/14
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 76
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Country girl Dorothy Gale gets whisked away by a cyclone to the fantastical Land of Oz. Dropped into the midst of trouble when her farmhouse crushes a tyrannical sorceress, Dorothy incurs the wrath of the Wicked Witch of the West. Dorothy is desperate to return to her native Kansas, and, aided by the Good Witch of the North, she sets out for the Emerald City to get help from the legendary Wizard. On her way, she meets three unlikely allies who embody key human virtues—the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, and the Cowardly Lion.

Short and Sweet

I think we all know the story of the Wizard of Oz and sweet little Dorothy, but if you don’t I’ll give you a recap. Dorothy lives on a farm in Kansas with her Aunt Em, Uncle Henry, and how could we forget little Toto. The adventure begins when a tornado comes and sweeps Dorothy, Toto, and their house into a magical land. Now Dorothy and Toto must find a way back to Kansas by finding the Wizard in the Emerald City, and along the way they meet some new friends.

What I liked

~ I liked Dorothy she was always looking out for her friends and looking for solutions to the problems they would come across.

~We get to meet people who weren’t in the movie.

~ It was a short book and easy to read.

~ Fun adventure to go on with Dorothy and the gang.

What I didn’t like

~ The only thing that bothered me was when the characters would repeat themselves if something went wrong. Ex. “I won’t get my brain. I won’t get my heart.” Just things like that. It happened a few times but I got over it.

realitytvgifs real housewives rhoa real housewives of atlanta annoyed

Overall

I would recommend this book! It was short and I think I may even like it more than the movie. There is also a version of it that is free on Google Play books if you guys decide you want to read it!

SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings

 

REIGN OF SHADOWS By Sophie Jordan

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REIGN OF SHADOWS By Sophie JordanReign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan
Series: Reign of Shadows #1
Published by HarperTeen on 2/9/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok's lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna's survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn't stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.
I really love Sophie Jordan and her writing. Reign of Shadows presents a very unique world where people live in darkness and in fear of the monsters that lurk. Luna has been hiding in the tower all her life. Keeping her identity a secret after the world has been cloaked in an almost permanent eclipse.
 I really enjoyed learning about Luna. She was a strong heroine completely capable of handling herself in fighting situations. A bit stubborn in situations and definitely proud of who she is and what she’s been forced to endure during her lifetime. Of course being cooped up all her life in the tower. And it’s no surprise she wants to venture out. But you can imagine that doesn’t turn out well for her and she finds herself on the run after her tower is invaded and those she was raised by are taken from her. It’s nice to see how she grows for the duration of this book. She isn’t quite the same person, by the end of the book. She’d never been away from her tower for so long and so far, and the experiences Outside have changed her. And yet, she still has all of her internal light and goodness. Fowler is our other protagonist. This book is written in first-person dual POV, switching between Luna and Fowler. I liked both of their POV’s. Fowler is gruff and stern and serious, and he has secrets of his own. He doesn’t let anyone past his walls, and he doesn’t show much emotion. He doesn’t want to be Luna’s friend but when he’s saved by Luna, he has a bit of debt to her. Fowler is the way he is because of life in the eclipse; he’s hardened and determined to find a better life in Allu, free of dwellers (creatures that started to appear after the eclipse).
The world is very different in this fantasy, its not like an other fantasy I’ve read before.
The pacing of the book is fast with lots of action and it didn’t take long to read I breezed through it.
Of course I need to read the next book! That ending and huge cliffhanger left me wanting more. There’s no way you will not want to read on once you see what happens.
SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings