ELEMENTALS: THE WRATH OF THE FURY By Michelle Madow

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ELEMENTALS: THE WRATH OF THE FURY By Michelle MadowElementals: The Wrath of the Fury by Michelle Madow
Series: Elementals
Published by Dreamscape Publishing on 2/23/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mythology, Young Adult
Pages: 36
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Everything changed on the night of the Olympian Comet.

I’ve always known that I’m a witch. But I didn’t expect to discover that I have a mysterious power unheard of amongst my kind. My best friend Garrett — who I’ve secretly been wanting to become more than a friend — has one of these powers too.

We know something big is going on. But we didn’t realize that there are ancient creatures searching for us, and that they’ll kill us for what we are…

Short and Sweet

The Wrath of the Fury is a short story in the Elementals universe. In the book we meet new characters, Sydney, Garrett, and Kayla and these characters are in Las Vegas. Our characters are warned in the beginning not to go out because of how dangerous it might be but our characters go out anyway. Afterwards the characters run into some trouble and have decisions to make. I liked this short story a lot, it was fun to be back in the Elementals universe. There was action and even though it was short it was a great insight into the world. Sydney was a good character and was smart too I also liked her friends and I think it would be nice to see them in another book. This book was great and can be read before, during, or after reading the series.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

CARAVAL By Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

CARAVAL By Stephanie GarberCaraval by Stephanie Garber
Series: Caraval #1
Published by Flatiron Books on 1/31/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

Short and Sweet

After years of writing the Caraval master, Scarlett finally gets a reply and three tickets. All Scarlett has ever wanted is to take her sister to see the magic of Caraval in person. The only problem is the two sisters don’t have a way to get to where Caraval is until a strange sailor offers to take them. Things seem to go great until Donatella is taken and becomes a prize for who finds her first, now it’s up to Scarlett to play the game and be the first one to find her sister.

Characters

Scarlett: Scarlett is caring and her main goal in this book is to find her sister. Scarlett is like a mother to Donatella and is very protective of her. I did find her to be a little annoying at times mainly because she wouldn’t accept any help and thought she was capable of doing things on her own.

Donatella: Scarlett’s younger carefree sister. All Donatella wants is to leave Trisda and get away from their father. Donatella is very impulsive and will do what she thinks she has to just to get her way.

Julian: The sailor who comes to Trisda and offers to take the sisters to Caraval. Julian was a hard character to figure out her definitely had secrets he was hiding. I didn’t know exactly what he wanted he’s just a hard character to place. What is he doing? Why did he want to go to caraval? Is he actually trying to help Scarlett or not?

Romance

Scarlett and The Count: Scarlett is engaged to be married to a man she has never met, but they do write each other letters. We don’t learn much about the count mainly because Scarlett has very little information about him, but Scarlett did believe that he would be able to provide a better life for her and Donatella.

Scarlett and Julian: I wasn’t sure about these two at first but as the book progressed I was rooting for them. Scarlett found Julian hard to read and first and wanted to know exactly why he wanted to come to Caraval with her. But the more time they spend together the more they come to care for each and I loved it.

My Thoughts

~  The world in this book is so amazing and magical, nothing is as it seems and that’s exactly what Scarlett has to keep in mind while she plays the game. Scarlett gets swept into this world and has to differentiate whats real and what’s make believe.

~ Scarlett becomes more apart of the game than she ever thought she would. Her sister was taken and now she has five clues to figure out before any of the other participants of caraval.

~ Scarlett made some pretty big leaps of faith when she thought she knew what the clues meant and and some points I didn’t know how she put two and two together.

~ Every character that works at caraval was very interesting and they were all so different that they brought something to the magic of the book and making the world more realistic.

~ There’s a lot of secrets about caraval and past players and games and it was interesting to learn about.

~ The master legend was also a mystery mainly because we don’t meet him but we do but we don’t it’s crazy and kind of hard to follow.

~ The ending was great and it just makes me want the second book now, I want to know what else could happen that hasn’t already.

Overall

I enjoyed this book so much! There were so many twists and the world was so amazing it just kept me invested in the plot! It was a light and fun read and it’d be a great read for the summer. I feel like this is a book I can read over and over again! I can’t wait until the second book is released.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE WINNER’S CRIME BY MARIE RUTKOSKI

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE WINNER’S CRIME BY MARIE RUTKOSKIThe Winner's Crime by Marie Rutkoski
Series: The Winner's Trilogy #2
Published by Square Fish on 3/29/16
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A royal wedding is what most girls dream about. It means one celebration after another: balls, fireworks, and revelry until dawn. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement: that she agreed to marry the crown prince in exchange for Arin's freedom. But can Kestrel trust Arin? Can she even trust herself? For Kestrel is becoming very good at deception. She's working as a spy in the court. If caught, she'll be exposed as a traitor to her country. Yet she can't help searching for a way to change her ruthless world . . . and she is close to uncovering a shocking secret. This dazzling follow-up to The Winner's Curse reveals the high price of dangerous lies and untrustworthy alliances. The truth will come out, and when it does, Kestrel and Arin will learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

Short and Sweet

In the last book we see that Kestrel made a deal to free the Herran in exchange for her hand in marriage to the emperor’s son. Kestrel is now in Valoria surrounded by Valorians and all of the riches she could want, but she’s unhappy. All Kestrel wants is to help further Arin’s cause and help the Herrani people but she also knows that she has to remain loyal to her father the general and her own people.

Quotes

~ “If you won’t be my friend, you’ll regret being my enemy.”

~ “Sometimes you think you want something,” Arin told him, “when in reality you need to let it go.”

My Thoughts

~ There’s so much going on in this book with Kestrel, shes living with the emperor and his son preparing for their wedding, but she’s also trying to figure out how she can help the Herrani from Valoria.

~ Arin is still in Herran and even though his people are technically free, but the Valorians are taking anything from the country and it’s leaving the Herran people with little faith.

~ Kestrel and Prince Verex do not get along during the first half of the book, due to Verex knowing that Kestrel has her own motives for wanting to marry him. They both make a truce and he becomes helpful by letting Kestrel know not to play games with the emperor.

~ At her engagement party Kestrel meets Tensen, Herrani’s minister of agriculture. She agrees to give him political information as long as he does not let Arin know where he’s getting the information.

~ When Kestrel becomes a spy for the Herran she has to try to keep a low profile but that’s hard for her to do especially with Arin around.

~ When Kestrel decided to become a spy I got nervous for her. The emperor was not a nice man and I felt like if she made one wrong move she would be killed.

~ I honestly liked reading from Kestrel’s point of view rather than Arin’s. I know his POV was important, because we got to see what was happening in Herran but Kestrel was risking it all in the Valoria.

~ The ending killed me. I don’t even know how to describe Kestrel, crazy, brave, courageous? Ugh I don’t even know what I would do in that situation and I can’t believe that it even happened the way it did.

Overall

I need to read the final book in this series asap! The ending in this book was too much for me to just not want the next book in my hands. I want to see what Kestrel and Arin do next and how everything will wrap up. If you’re looking for a new series to start this is a great one! There’s love, betrayal, and a lot of politics involved.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

 

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen GleasonThe Chess Queen Enigma by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #3
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/6/15
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

In this third installment of the Stoker and Holmes series, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes have reluctantly agreed to act as social chaperones and undercover bodyguards for Princess Lurelia of Betrovia, who has arrived in London to deliver a letter that details the secret location of an ancient chess queen that's been missing for centuries. But when the letter—which will heal a centuries-old rift between England and the Betrovians—is stolen out from under Evaline and Mina's watchful eyes, the two girls are forced into a high-stakes race to ensure they find the chess queen before anyone else does.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina and Evaline are asked to be social chaperones for princess Lurelia of Betrovia, the only problem is the princess seems to be dull and boring. Not only do the two girls have to worry about watching the princess, they’re also trying to find a chess piece that has been missing for centuries before their foe the Ankh gets to it. This is my favorite book in the series so far! There was so much going on that it just held my attention and made me wonder what was going to happen next. There were a few storylines in this book, one involving the princess and the chess piece and one that involved Pix and his mysterious device which was mentioned in book two. The Ankh is also back, and I felt bad for Mina because it always seemed like the Ankh was one step ahead of her. Mina and Evaline are still growing and in this book I felt like they respected each other more, which lead them to work better as partners. We got to see more of Grayling, I enjoy scenes with him and the interactions he had with Mina. This book was my favorite and I can’t wait until book four is released! I highly recommend this series especially if you love mysteries!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

THE CLOCKWORK SCARAB By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CLOCKWORK SCARAB By Colleen GleasonThe Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #1
Published by Chronicle Books on 9/17/13
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business.

But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood. And when two society girls go missing, there's no one more qualified to investigate.

Now fierce Evaline and logical Mina must resolve their rivalry, navigate the advances of not just one but three mysterious gentlemen, and solve a murder with only one clue: the strange Egyptian scarab. The stakes are high.

If Stoker and Holmes don't unravel why the belles of London society are in such danger, they'll become the next victims.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina Holmes is the niece of Sherlock and Evaline Stoker is the younger sister of Bram. These girls live two totally different lives, Mina has the same great observation and deduction skills that her uncle has, and Evaline has strength and quickness which helps her to fight vampires. The girls meet at the British Museum and meet Irene Adler, who informs them of a mystery. The mystery being young women who have either disappeared or have been found murdered. Both Evaline and Mina have to work together to stop the evil that is going on throughout London. These two girls did not mesh Mina thought that Evaline was impulsive and Evaline thought that Mina was a know it all. I enjoyed this book it’s so different, its a steampunk novel that takes place in London. The mystery itself kept me on my toes we get to see a bit of Egyptian mythology as well. There’s a lot of character development in this book and though we do get to meet male characters they’re not the focus of the book. I love mysteries and this one was so interesting the steampunk aspect and the two main characters. This book is worth reading!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

HUNTED By Meagan Spooner

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HUNTED By Meagan SpoonerHunted by Meagan Spooner
Published by HarperTeen on 3/14/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Beauty knows the Beast's forest in her bones--and in her blood. 

Though Yeva grew up with the city's highest aristocrats, far from her father's old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who's ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there's no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas...or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva's father's misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he'd been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters' protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory--a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva's only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

Short and Sweet

Yeva lives in the city with her two sisters and father, but when her father makes a risky business decision that goes wrong the family is forced to move to her father’s lodge in the forest. Her father used to be a hunter and takes it up again once they arrive at the lodge, but he starts to lose his mind and goes missing in the woods. Yeva goes after him and the beast that he mentioned before he went missing.

Characters

Yeva (Beauty): Yeva is family oriented and she loves them a lot and she’s willing to make sacrifices that she thinks will help her family. Yeva is graceful and intelligent, she has a love for nature and hunting.

Beast: We get to read from the beast’s POV and we see that he’s conflicted with fighting his animal side and human side.

Romance

Yeva and Solmir: He was one of Yeva’s suitors he was rich and willing to help her family. He and Yeva built a friendship over time and Yeva tries to find feelings for him, so that she might take him up on his offer of marriage. When Yeva goes looking for her father she makes a deal with Solmir that if he looks out for her sisters when she comes back she’ll marry him.

Yeva and Beast: This was a slow building relationship. Yeva was being held captive by the Beast and their interactions were tense at first, but they soon began to understand each other and show more compassion.

Quotes

“She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.”

My Thoughts

~ Let me be completely honest, I’ve never watched Beauty and the Beast so going into this book I didn’t know much about the original story.

~ I think the book started off slow but once I got to the point where Yeva and her family moved to the lodge things started to pick up for me.

~ Yeva was always looking for something more in her life but whenever she thought about what that something was she didn’t know. The Beast was also the same way and that was what led him to being cursed.

~ I liked seeing the relationship between Beauty and the Beast develop it was slow and it took time. Beauty’s presence helped Beast regain control of his human side.

~ Beauty was intelligent and knew that the Beast couldn’t tell her about the curse so she did some inquiring of her own around his castle whenever she had the chance.

~ I loved the setting, it was somewhere in Russia and we get to go through the seasons and it felt like I was there with the characters.

Overall

The writing was beautiful and as soon as I got into the book I couldn’t put it down. I loved the characters and their different personalities and getting to see Yeva grow. This was a great introduction to Beauty and the Beast for me, and I recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AVENGED By Amy Tintera

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVENGED By Amy TinteraAvenged by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #2
Published by HarperTeen on 5/2/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister, Olivia, from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its former glory.

But their fight has only begun. Olivia is determined to destroy everyone who acts against Ruina. Em isn’t as sure. Ever since Em posed as Prince Casimir’s betrothed in Lera, she’s started to see another side to this war. And now that Cas has taken the throne, Em believes a truce is within reach. But Olivia suspects that Em’s romantic feelings for Cas are just coloring her judgement.

Em is determined to bring peace to her home. But when winning the war could mean betraying her family, Em faces an impossible choice between loyalty and love. Em must stay one step ahead of her enemies—and her blood—before she’s the next victim in this battle for sovereignty.

Short and Sweet

Emelina and Olivia Flores go back to their kingdom of Ruina and vow to rebuild it to its former glory. But alliances are shifting and figuring out what to do and who to trust is just the beginning.

Characters

Emelina: One of the queens of Ruina who is willing to do what is best for her people. Emelina is way more level headed than Olivia, which I’ll get into a little later.

Olivia: The other queen of Ruina who is also willing to do what is best for her people but in a very different way than her sister. Olivia is back with a vengeance, she is not happy which is understandable she was kept prisoner but she will kill anyone who gets in her way. “You’re weak!” she screamed again.

Cas: Prince of Lera who is fighting for his throne, because his cousin Jovita and some of his people have turned against him.

Aren: The second strongest Ruined who is Emelina and Olivia’s friend. Aren struggles in this book with being angry and killing with Olivia, because he understands her anger or with being level headed with Emelina and showing compassion towards people.

*We get to read from all of these characters POVs.

Romance

There is two romances in this book that I feel are worth mentioning.

Emelina and Cas: They developed a bond in the first book Ruined and they still have feelings for each other even though their people don’t like the match. I love these two together I think it would work, I mean she did pretend to be someone else but all the feelings they have for each other are genuine. “I’m very reasonable. Em says it’s one of my best qualities.”

Aren and Iria: Iria is a warrior from the Olso army. Okay this is a match I didn’t see coming but the more I read the more I liked it. Aren needed someone who wasn’t a ruined who could understand what he was going through and show him compassion and Iria was the right person. She risked it all for him and his feelings for her changed over the course of the book and he showed his feelings more and I loved it!

Quotes

~ “We take. We will take the throne, we will take responsibility, and we will crush anyone who defies us. Got it?”

~ “It sounds like you’re about to die.”

~ “The Ruined don’t betray each other.”

My Thoughts

~ There is so much going on this book and it’s amazing, I couldn’t put this book down.

~ In Ruined Emelina aligned with the Olso kingdom to help her rescue her sister and attack the kingdom of Lera. Now that Em and Olivia are back in Ruina the warriors are back and along with them is August, the youngest prince of Olso. He proposes a marriage to Em and thats when things get complicated.

~ Em still has feelings for Cas and he still has feelings for Em. I mean they are technically married but he thought he was married to someone else and not one of the heirs of Ruina.

~ Olivia is intense! She will literally kill anyone who gets in her way provoked or not. I think she likes it shes like a killing machine snapping necks left and right. Olivia doesn’t like Cas and believes that Em’s love for him is causing her to make the wrong decisions.

~ I felt bad for Cas in this book. He’s trying to be with Em which is difficult because the Ruined don’t like the Lerans and she has to put her people before him, and his cousin Jovita is making things hard for him with his own people. Jovita convinces the Lerans who are staying in the fortress that Cas is going crazy and she temporarily takes over. Cas now has to figure out who is by his side and how to get his rightful place on the throne back.

~ I also liked Violet she is the governors daughter of the Southern Providence. She was also a strong female character and was loyal and willing to help Cas when most people weren’t.

~ I was worried about Olivia and Em, its like oil and water. When they got back to Ruina they proposed a diarchy. They’re so different Olivia is angry and thinks she can just take anyone out who gets in her way while Em thinks she can talk things out with people and try to make things better without so much bloodshed.

~ I loved getting to know more about Aren and seeing him struggle between what was right and what was wrong. His bond with Iria just made me smile it was cute and the relationship building was amazing.

Overall

I LOVED this book! It was amazing and it makes my want the next book so bad. I need to know whats going to happen next! I couldn’t put this book down and it didn’t end in a big cliffhanger but it still left me wanting to know what Em is going to do! Avenged was a great sequel and I definitely recommend this series its one of my favorites. You have to pick up Ruined if you haven’t and then get Avenged they don’t disappoint!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

DREAMOLOGY By Lucy Keating

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DREAMOLOGY By Lucy KeatingDreamology by Lucy Keating
Published by HarperTeen on 4/12/16
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Short and Sweet

Since Alice was little she has always had dreams with Max in them. In these dreams Alice and Max go on adventures and travel the world. Of course Max isn’t real because he’s only in Alice’s dreams, but everything changes when Alice walks into her new school and into class and sees Max. This Max is different than dream Max he’s doesn’t seem to want anything to do with Alice. Now Alice is determined to find out why they dream about each other, because things from their dreams are starting to seep into their reality.

Characters

Alice: Our main character who has dreams about Max, and is trying to fit in at a new school. She also has a few family issues, due to the fact that her mother left her at a young age and hasn’t returned. Alice is a dreamer, she’s adventurous and not afraid to admit it, she was out there. When Alice put her mind to something she didn’t stop until she got it.

Max: The boy Alice dreams about. Max is very different in the dreams and reality. Dream Max is fun and adventurous. Max in reality is a little stubborn and reserved he likes to think things through.

Romance

Obviously in their dreams Max and Alice are in a relationship, but in reality Max has a girlfriend Celeste, which complicates a lot of things. They both have feelings for each other but Max is taken so its complicated.

My Thoughts

~ My favorite part about this book was reading about Max and Alice’s dreams, they go to the most amazing places and have the most adventurous dreams. In one dream they were going down a river of milk with a Cheerio and Froot Loop as a tube.

~ I kind of felt bad for Alice she finds out that Max is real but he’s nothing like the Max she knows in her dreams. I also felt bad for Max’s girlfriend Celeste, her boyfriend has been dreaming about another girl since he was little.

~ Oliver was probably one of my favorite characters. He was known as a rule breaker and he was swoon worthy. He was one of Alice’s first friends at her new school. He was also the main source of humor.

~ Okay so the problem Alice and Max are facing is that their dreams are starting to bleed into reality and if they don’t put a stop to it they could possibly lose their sense of reality.

~ Max and Alice discover the Center for Dream Discovery (CDD) which is where they went as children to deal with the fact that they couldn’t sleep. Here Alice and Max try to figure out whats going on with them.

~ Finding out what happened that made this two dream about each other was so interesting, I also thought it was crazy that because they’ve been doing it for so long it was starting to become dangerous.

Overall

This book was cute and it didn’t take long to read at all! I read it fairly quickly and enjoyed it. This book is different and I think now is the perfect time to read it, it’s almost the summer and this book is light, funny and cute! Pick it up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary LindseyAshes on the Waves by Mary Lindsey
Published by Philomel Books on 6/27/13
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Gothic, Paranormal, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Author
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Liam MacGregor is cursed. Haunted by the wails of fantastical Bean Sidhes and labeled a demon by the villagers of Dòchas, Liam has accepted that things will never get better for him--until a wealthy heiress named Annabel Leighton arrives on the island and Liam's fate is changed forever.
With Anna, Liam finally finds the happiness he has always been denied, but the violent, mythical Otherworlders, who inhabit the island and the sea around it, have other plans. They make a wager on the couple's love, testing its strength through a series of cruel obstacles. But the tragedies draw Liam and Anna even closer. Frustrated, the creatures put the couple through one last trial--and this time it's not only their love that's in danger of being destroyed

Short and Sweet Review

Ashes on the Waves is the retelling of Edgar Allen Poe’s Annabel Lee poem. Liam is crippled and only has the use of one of his arms. This has him and the townspeople believing that his is possessed by a demon. Because of this Liam is lonely and lost, as he believes what everyone is saying about him being a demon. He doesn’t have much contact with other people on the island so when his childhood crush Anna comes back to the island he becomes filled with emotions. Ashes on the Waves is your classic love story. But what we really need to know is if Liam and Anna’s love is strong enough to overcome the paranormal things that happen on this island. I loved the island it made the story. It’s creepy, isolated, and dark. The book starts of slow but it starts to take off. There’s a bit of a mystery in this book especially surrounding whats going on in this town. This book is beautiful, dark, and heart wrenching. I love all of Mary Lindsey’s books and this one is no exception. This is actually the first book I’ve read of hers and I definitely recommend this to all of my friends!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf