THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi LeeThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 6/27/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Short and Sweet

Monty and his best friend Percy are going on a grand tour of Europe, and they plan on having the time of their lives. Even with his younger sister, Felicity coming along, Monty won’t let it ruin his fun. But things get crazy when the group encounters an ancient artifact, highwaymen, and pirates.

Characters

Henry “Monty” Montague: Our main character who grew a lot over the course of the book. Monty has the most engaging voice, he’s entertaining and sassy. He got the group into the mess they were in by trying to get even with someone. Monty had the problem of saying things without thinking and often came to regret it, but his friends called him out on it. He was a flawed character but that’s whats great about him because over the course of the book he learned from his mistakes.

Percy: Monty’s best friend and our voice of reason. Percy is also a person a color which I found interesting, because of course during the time that this book takes place it makes travel for the grand tour a bit harder because certain places won’t allow him to stay. Percy also struggles in this book because throughout the course of his friendship with Monty he has always supported him and now Percy has his own demons to fight and wonders if Monty can support him.

Felicity: Monty’s younger sister and the brains of the group. Felicity’s strength and knowledge saved the group from dangerous situations. I was rooting for her throughout the book she had goals and I felt bad that during that time girls her age didn’t have many choices.

Romance

Monty has liked Percy for a while, and thinks the grand tour will be the perfect time to express how he feels. But things don’t work well mainly because Percy seems more annoyed with Monty than smitten. It seemed like Monty always said or did the wrong thing that ended up pushing Percy away.

My Thoughts

~ This isn’t an ordinary grand tour of Europe, like it was expected to be. Mayhem begins when the group reaches their first stop in Paris. This leads them to places that are off of their original course.

~ In Paris, Monty steals an artifact that leads to the group being attacked by highwaymen, hiding in a small town, going to Barcelona, meeting pirates, and trying to find something on an island that is sinking.

~ My favorite part of the book was the whole mystery surrounding the artifact and what it does. The artifact was the whole reason the group had to go off course so I was eager to find out what it could do.

~ What I loved the most about this book was how fast paced it was. From the very beginning we embark on a journey with these characters.

~ In each city we meet different characters and all of them add to the story in their own way. My favorite characters were the pirates I loved learning more about them and their ultimate goal.

~ I felt like I was with the trio of characters and I was worried about their well-being, they were in some dangerous positions and on the run from some people who wanted them dead.

Overall

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must read! Everything about it is amazing, the characters, the action and adventure, the diversity, and of course the romance. The ending was great and everything was wrapped up nicely. Monty, Percy, and Felicity are a set of characters I won’t forget. This is hands down one of my favorite reads of 2017, and I encourage everyone to pick it up and read it!

 

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

THE CLOCKWORK SCARAB By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CLOCKWORK SCARAB By Colleen GleasonThe Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #1
Published by Chronicle Books on 9/17/13
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business.

But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood. And when two society girls go missing, there's no one more qualified to investigate.

Now fierce Evaline and logical Mina must resolve their rivalry, navigate the advances of not just one but three mysterious gentlemen, and solve a murder with only one clue: the strange Egyptian scarab. The stakes are high.

If Stoker and Holmes don't unravel why the belles of London society are in such danger, they'll become the next victims.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina Holmes is the niece of Sherlock and Evaline Stoker is the younger sister of Bram. These girls live two totally different lives, Mina has the same great observation and deduction skills that her uncle has, and Evaline has strength and quickness which helps her to fight vampires. The girls meet at the British Museum and meet Irene Adler, who informs them of a mystery. The mystery being young women who have either disappeared or have been found murdered. Both Evaline and Mina have to work together to stop the evil that is going on throughout London. These two girls did not mesh Mina thought that Evaline was impulsive and Evaline thought that Mina was a know it all. I enjoyed this book it’s so different, its a steampunk novel that takes place in London. The mystery itself kept me on my toes we get to see a bit of Egyptian mythology as well. There’s a lot of character development in this book and though we do get to meet male characters they’re not the focus of the book. I love mysteries and this one was so interesting the steampunk aspect and the two main characters. This book is worth reading!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

UNRIVALED By Alyson Noel

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

UNRIVALED By Alyson NoelUnrivaled by Alyson Noel
Series: Beautiful Idols #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 5/10/16
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Everyone wants to be someone. Layla Harrison wants to be a reporter. Aster Amirpour wants to be an actress. Tommy Phillips wants to be a guitar hero.

But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her own a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and lured into a competition where Madison Brooks is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing. . . . And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.

Short and Sweet

We follow Aster, Layla, and Tommy as they work as promoters for Hollywood’s hottest night clubs. Only one will win the competition, each of them thinks this will help kick start their careers.

Characters

Layla: A wannabe reporter trying to make it to a journalism school in New York, she also had a blog where she wrote about celebrities.

Aster: Aster wants to be an actress and this not follow her parents dreams of her either being a doctor or a lawyer. Aster thinks this competition will bring her stardom.

Tommy: A boy from a small town in Oklahoma who moved to LA to start his music career.

Madison: Hollywood’s “It girl” who has a mysterious past.

Ira Redman: Owner of the clubs.

Romance

Okay so first I’ll start with actual relationships and then move to hookups.

Layla and Mateo: They were in a relationship before the Layla joined the competition, but their relationship becomes strained the more Layla focuses on the competition and not Mateo.

Madison and Ryan: So both of these characters are celebrities. This relationship was set up by their agents hoping to get both of them some more publicity. You can tell from the beginning that this relationship isn’t working, they’re both basically using each other, not the kind of relationship where you would look at them and say, “aw they’re so in love!”

Aster and Ryan: I don’t even know where to start with this. This was one of those things where the girl knows that the guy has a boyfriend but the guy was like no no I don’t really like the person i’m in a relationship with. So basically these two hooked up and it was front page news.

Layla and Tommy: These two just shared a drunken kiss on the dance floor.

Quotes

~ “I came here to win, same as you. And that’s exactly what I intend to do.”

My Thoughts

~ There are four POVs and I feel like once you read through all of them in the first couple of chapters, it’s not hard to keep up with which one you’re reading. There wasn’t a particular person I liked reading more than the other mainly because each of them was exciting and held my interest. each character had something going on in their lives outside of the competition.

~ The competition was changing everyone’s life and we get to see how far they’ll really go just to win. You can even see some of the characters losing themselves and even though they knew right from wrong they were in it to win it.

~ Each character was unique and different in their own ways they each came from a different walk of life. I feel that Aster and Layla went through more character development than Tommy did.

~ So the mystery aspect of the book didn’t take part until the 65% point. And this isn’t a spoiler but I feel like there is still so much that was unanswered and I hope most of those questions are answered in the next book, Blacklist.

~ Madison was an interesting character, she’s mysterious and I want to know more about her. I’m sure everyone in the book wants to know more about her. Madison’s past is a mystery in and of itself and what she’s hiding must be big.

~ I thought the competition aspect was okay. There were three nightclubs and each main character worked in one and they had teams. At the end of the week someone would go home.

Overall

This was a really solid book I loved it and it was exactly what I needed to get me out of my slump. It’s fast paced and full of secrets, lies, blackmailing, and mystery. This book held my attention from the very beginning to the end. Definitely recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

DARE YOU By Jennifer Brown

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
DARE YOU By Jennifer BrownDare You by Jennifer Brown
Series: Nikki Kill #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2/14/17
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis—and only her synesthesia can help her unravel the dark truth.

Nikki Kill didn't realize that trying to find out who killed Peyton Hollis would tangle her in a web of dangerous family secrets that would rock her identity to the core. But now that Nikki knows the truth, the all-powerful Hollises want to frame her for Peyton's murder.

And now Nikki's only chance at escaping the cold black bars of prison or the crimson grip of death is teaming up with the enigmatic Detective Martinez and relying on an ever-shifting kaleidoscope of clues...

Short and Sweet

After what happened in Shade Me, Nikki learns that the Hollis family is trying to frame her for Peyton’s murder. Now Nikki has to team up with detective Martinez to try to clear her name.

Characters

Nikki: Our main character who uses her synesthesia to try to find clues to help clear her name. Nikki has changed a little since we’ve seen her in Shade Me, she’s a little more paranoid as she should be since what she went through.

Detective Martinez: The detective from Shade Me who is now trying to help Nikki find clues about who is framing her for Peyton’s Murder.

Romance

I felt a connection between Nikki and Martinez but Martinez was dating someone and I just want that relationship to happen but time will tell.

My Thoughts

~Dare You picks up right where Shade Me left off. Nikki is graduating and trying to move on from what happened with the Hollis family but it’s hard when strange things start happening and Nikki learns that the Hollis family is trying to blame her for Peyton’s murder.

~ I love seeing Nikki and Detective Martinez team up again their dynamic is so amazing especially because there’s a connection there.

~ I don’t think there’s any books like this one. How many YA characters do you know with synesthesia? It’s such an interesting condition to learn more about and I like seeing how Nikki sees the world differently because of it.

~ There’s so much that goes on in this book, trying get the evidence to actually prove that Nikki is innocent, we learn more about Nikki’s mom, and we meet some new characters good and bad.

~ At some points I was worried about Nikki I mean people were coming for her and Luna Fairchild is crazy. I mean I was worried about Luna Fairchild coming for me.

Overall

This is one of my FAVORITE series hands down! I love mysteries and if you do too pick up this book! This series needs to be read in order for the plot and everything to make sense. The ending isn’t much of a cliffhanger but there are still answers we need questions to. I need book three!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

THE LAST OF AUGUST By Brittany Cavallaro

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE LAST OF AUGUST By Brittany CavallaroThe Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro
Series: Charlotte Holmes #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2/14/17
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Jamie and Charlotte are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved Uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers.

So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

Short and Sweet

In this sequel to A Study in Charlotte we’re in England with Watson and Holmes for winter break! But just because they’ve left the States doesn’t mean they’ve left the mysteries behind. This mystery hits close to home as Holmes’ uncle Leander goes missing and her mother is poisoned, and there’s art forgeries involved.

Characters

Jaime Watson: One of our main characters. Jaime is a descendant of James Watson in case his name didn’t tip you off. James is our narrarator during the first 3/4’s of the book. He had a more prominent role in this book I think, he tried to solve it on his own and he put some clues together.

Charlotte Holmes: Our other main character and descendant of Sherlock Holmes. She definitely has qualities that Sherlock has. She’s a very interesting character in that she has great deductive skills but isn’t great at sharing her feelings with others so you kind of have to guess what she’s up to.

August Moriarty: In this book we get to meet Holmes’ old tutor. He was a decent character he was mainly there to help them solve their case. But he’s still a moriarty so can we really trust him?

Romance

Charlotte Holmes and Jaime Watson have the most… I don’t even know how to describe their relationship. I mean they work well as partners and there’s feelings there but its complicated to describe. Their whole relationship is the definition of Facebook’s its complicated status.

My Thoughts

~ I thought the beginning was a little slow, I think it’s because we had to meet a few more characters and learn about their backstory but after that the story took off.

~ We see more traveling in this book which I loved.

~ Jaime took off on his own and tried to follow leads which was really interesting to see what he would do without Charlotte.

~ Charlotte is still the same Charlotte we met in the first book, you just learn to love her even though she’s closed off.

~ This was an interesting mystery, because Leander was trying to solve one so when he went missing Holmes and Watson and to figure out what he was trying to solve and solve the mystery of his disappearance.

~ My favorite part of this book was meeting Elmira Davenport she’s quite the character.

~ The ending killed me I don’t even know what to think it happened so fast. I need the next book to see what happens next!

Overall

If you haven’t read A Study in Charlotte you should, and then pick up this book! I love the dynamic between Holmes and Watson and seeing them solve mysteries together is great! We meet new characters we travel and we’re solving mysteries whats not to love? Pick up this book I recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS By Liz Czukas

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS By Liz CzukasTop Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas
Published by HarperTeen on 12/9/14
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe's Day

5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market

4) Crashing a cart into a customer's car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi

3) Trying to rock the "drowned rat" look after being caught in a snowstorm

2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)

1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees— of stealing upwards of $10,000

Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe's list of Top Ten Best Moments.

Short and Sweet

Chloe works at a supermarket and has to work on Christmas Eve. If that wasn’t bad enough someone stole some money, now her and her coworkers are stuck in the break room until they can clear their names and figure out who took the money.

My Thoughts

~ I actually read this book when it first came out but never wrote a review for it. I thought what a better time to write a review for this book than around the time it takes place.

~ I love everything about this book, the characters, the plot, and the setting.

~ Our main character Chloe likes to make list which I found fun and interesting to look at. The story is told from Chloe’s POV she’s real and funny, and her daily observations about what happens at the market are hilarious to read.

~ Chloe’s coworkers are diverse and funny also. I like how they all band together to try to solve the mystery of who took the money so they can leave work jail.

~ Chloe also has a crush on one of her coworkers, Tyson. I thought it was cute, I mean what’s better than being stuck with your crush in the store all day.

~Bonds were made after being stuck together. None of the coworkers were really friends at the beginning of the book they were more like acquaintances, but they learn more about each other and bond and friendships are made.

~ The mystery wasn’t intense, but it does make you think about who could have done it.

Overall

This book is light, cute, and fluffy. It’s a great read for the holiday and you guys should read it. How many other books do you know that take place in a grocery store? Do you know how much fun it would be to get stuck in a grocery store and try to solve a mystery. Fun times my friends. Go read this book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE GILDED CAGE By Lucinda Gray

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GILDED CAGE By Lucinda GrayThe Gilded Cage by Lucinda Gray
Published by Henry Holt and Co. on 8/2/16
Genres: Historical, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

After growing up on a farm in Virginia, Walthingham Hall in England seems like another world to sixteen-year-old Katherine Randolph. Her new life, filled with the splendor of upper class England in the 1820s, is shattered when she discovers the corpse of her brother George in a lake on the estate-the tragic accidental drowning of a young man, the coroner reports, despite the wound to George's head.

Katherine is expected to observe the mourning customs and get on with her life, but she can't accept that her brother's death was an accident. A bitter poacher prowls the estate, and strange visitors threaten the occupants of the house. There's a rumor, too, that a wild animal stalks the woods of Walthingham.

Can Katherine retain her sanity long enough to find out the truth? Or will her brother's killer claim her life, too?

Short and Sweet

Katherine and her brother George Randolph live in Virginia, but their lives change when they discover that they are heirs to the Walthingham country estate in England. Katherine and George try to adjust to their new life in British aristocracy. Not long after their arrival George is found dead in an icy lake. Everyone believes it was just an accident, except for Katherine. After hearing rumors about the beast of Walthingham, she believ es that their is something more to her brothers death and she won’t rest until she learns the truth.

My Thoughts

~ Alright where should I start? I ordered this book mainly because of the time period and the plot I love mysteries and I also like historical fiction. Gray does a great job making the time period seem realistic and authentic.

~ Katherine is an okay character, she didn’t have a lot of power I often saw her as helpless during some parts of the book. I did like the fact the she was determined and inquisitive about her brothers death and she wouldn’t give up until she learned the truth, she was a sweet character that tried to see the good in others she also had a temper which only made the other characters refer to her as a “Wildcat.”

~ We don’t learn much about George except for the fact that he was Katherine’s older brother and a painting, I think he was only in a chapter or two before the accident occurred.

~ Katherine’s cousins Henry and Grace were awful I couldn’t stand the way they treated her. I took the time to think about this and in the end decided to compare them to characters from Gossip Girl. Katherine would be Dan a girl who worked on a farm without much money, Grace would be Blair and Henry would be Chuck.

~ Characters would often point out how Katherine was impolite and improper, I mean she was still trying to get the hang of things.

~ Oh yeah there were some romantic interest but I didn’t like it I mean Katherine hooked up with one and then something happened and then she moved on to another guy.

~ We don’t learn much about the Beast of Walthingham mainly because no one will say anything about it.

~ Something happens near the end of the book towards the end I don’t want to spoil it for you guys but I thought it wasn’t necessary to have in the book.

Overall

In my honest opinion there was something that was missing, and that just made me change my rating for this book. I thought there could have been more in discovering what happened to George I feel like that was just thrown out there and like I said the beast of Walthingham isn’t even mentioned enough to make it relevant. Things just felt too rushed to me I don’t think this book was anything special. I was into it at the beginning but towards the end the downward spiral ensued.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

MADE FOR YOU By Melissa Marr

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MADE FOR YOU By Melissa MarrMade for You by Melissa Marr
Published by HarperCollins on 1/5/16
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep their friends—and each other—from falling into the hands of a killer.

Short and Sweet

Made For You is about Eva who survived an attempt at her life, and the killer who was responsible for it and is still after her. After the attempt at her life, Eva and her friends find themselves in danger. Eva tries to find the killer before he attacks again.

My Thoughts

~ Made for You is told in a dual narrative, one POV is Eva and the other is of the actual killer.

~ I liked reading from the killer’s chapters, we get to see what’s going on in their head, but we don’t know their identity.

~ There is a paranormal aspect because Eva can now see how people die.

~ Eva was realistic and lovable, she wanted to know what was happening and she cares enough  about her friends to she help them even if it put her in danger.

~ I  liked Nate he was sweet and genuinely cared for Eva. I loved that this two childhood friends reunited.

~ I couldn’t put it down it was a thriller that was believable.

~ The mystery was well done and I didn’t have a clue about who the killer was until I got closer to the end.

Overall

The story line was realistic and things play out in a realistic way. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! I enjoyed it and would recommend it if you like mysteries, thrillers, that have a paranormal aspect.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

LAST SEEN LEAVING By Caleb Roehrig

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
LAST SEEN LEAVING By Caleb RoehrigLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
Published by Feiwel & Friends on 10/4/16
Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking question he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn―as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

Short and Sweet

After coming home and seeing cops at his house Flynn begins to freak out (for all the wrong reasons). Flynn soon learns that his girlfriend January has gone missing and the cops believe he’s involved somehow. Flynn takes it upon himself to find out what happened January. The more he finds out about January the more he learns about himself as well.

My Thoughts

~I enjoyed Flynn as a main character. It was nice that he still cared about January even though their relationship was on the rocks. I definitely thought he should have been honest with January about his sexuality.

~Flynn begins his search by finding people January has mentioned. He soon discovers that what January has been telling people doesn’t match up to what happened in reality.

~I liked Flynn’s interactions other characters. He’s smart and funny and had a way of getting through to people.

~Seeing the flashbacks was nice, it was interesting to see how January and Flynn’s relationship was before January’s disappearance.

~Some moments definitely had my heart racing and on the edge of my seat!

Overall

I was hooked from the first page! I couldn’t put it down, it didn’t take me long to finish. The plot and mystery was great. There were a few twist so I didn’t know who to suspect. I also liked seeing Flynn grow and accept himself for who he really is. I think this book is amazing! Highly recommending this book and it’s perfect, because Halloween is right around the corner!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings