TRULY DEVIOUS By Maureen Johnson

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TRULY DEVIOUS By Maureen JohnsonTruly Devious by Maureen Johnson
Series: Truly Devious #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 1/16/18
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

Short and Sweet

Albert Ellingham created Ellingham Academy a private school in Vermont for students who were bright. Tragedy struck when a mysterious person going by the name Truly Devious leaves a riddle for Ellingham, not only that but Ellingham’s wife and child were kidnapped and a student was murdered. Now in present day Stevie Bell is ready to attend Ellingham Academy. Stevie loves crimes, mysteries, and is determined to solve the infamous Truly Devious case, but things get complicated when strange things start to occur at Ellingham.

Characters

Stevie: Our main character. I loved Stevie, we don’t see many protagonist that are into true crime. Stevie looked at things from all angles and she pieced things together. I was rooting for Stevie to finally solve the case that no one else has been able to.

Janelle: One of Stevie’s roommates. Janelle was an inventor and someone Stevie had correspondance with online before they both arrived at Ellingham Academy. Janelle was supportive of Stevie and her interest in solving the murder and I love how sweet she is to everyone she meets.

Nate: One of Stevie’s roommates. Nate was a writer and he liked to stay to himself. He was interesting in the fact that you really had to get things out him, but he was a good friend to Stevie when she needed it.

Hayes: One of Stevie’s roommates. Hayes was a youtube star and was looking for some new ideas. He didn’t mind the attention because any publicity is good publicity.

Ellie: One of Stevie’s roommates. Ellie was a second year student and she was very out there. Ellie is an artist and she wasn’t shy.

David: One of Stevie’s roommates. David was considered the jokester of the group. He was also a second year student.

Romance

Stevie and David: Opposites attract and thats what happened with these two. David got on Stevie’s nerves and to retaliate she would come up with sly remarks. I didn’t like the two of them together it just didn’t feel right.

Janelle and Vi: We don’t get to know the details of their relationship but we do see them in a few scenes and it was cute.

Quotes

~ “Games are not fun when you don’t know you’re playing.”

~ “Stevie had no fears of the dead. The living, however, sometimes gave her the creeps.”

My Thoughts

~ Truly Devious, goes back and forth between the present and when the school first opened, so we get an insight on Albert Ellingham’s life and what occurred the day his wife and child went missing. It also helps to understand more about the past to understand what Stevie sees and knows about the mystery.

~ We don’t get enough clues to solve the mystery on our own but its understandable especially if this is a trilogy and this first book is building up to something.

~ I loved the characters but Stevie, Janelle, and Nate were my favorite. Probably because those three were first year students so they could bond about that.

~ I was more invested in the Truly Devious mystery than the mystery occurring in the present mainly because there was more information on that than on the one currently taking place.

~ One aspect I loved was the police reports from the past, we also get different POVs when reading the chapters about the first mystery. In the present chapters we get Stevie’s POV only

Overall

This book was exactly what I needed to get out of my reading slump! I loved it and I need book two right now! The book just ended when things were starting to come together and left me with a major cliffhanger. I definitely recommend this book if you love mysteries and crime, you even get two mysteries for the price of one!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

SHADOW GIRL By Liana Liu

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SHADOW GIRL By Liana LiuShadow Girl by Liana Liu
Published by HarperTeen on 12/19/17
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The house on Arrow Island is full of mystery.

Yet, when Mei arrives, she can’t help feeling relieved. She’s happy to spend the summer in an actual mansion tutoring a rich man’s daughter if it means a break from her normal life—her needy mother, her delinquent brother, their tiny apartment in the city. And Ella Morison seems like an easy charge, sweet and well behaved.

What she doesn’t know is that something is very wrong in the Morison household.

Though Mei tries to focus on her duties, she becomes increasingly distracted by the family’s problems and her own complicated feelings for Ella’s brother, Henry. But most disturbing of all are the unexplained noises she hears at night—the howling and thumping and cries.

Mei is a sensible girl. She isn’t superstitious; she doesn’t believe in ghosts. Yet she can’t shake her fear that there is danger lurking in the shadows of this beautiful house, a darkness that could destroy the family inside and out...and Mei along with them.

Short and Sweet

Mei is an academic tutor and this summer she gets a job working for the Morison family at their house on Arrow Island. Mei expects this experience to go well, she gets to go stay at the family mansion on an island and get away from her life in the city. But what Mei doesn’t know is that the Morison household my be haunted and even though she doesn’t believe in ghost she can’t help but to feel that something is wrong.

Characters

Mei: Mei is our main character, and I tried really hard to like her but I just couldn’t. Mei is smart and is focused on her work. I like how she tried to relate to Ella and understand her more. What I didn’t like about Mei was how she tried to come off as a nice person but she really wasn’t. She would make mean remarks and once she realized what she said wasn’t nice she would try to pass it off as a joke and it bothered me because its not like she did this once or twice she did this a lot.

Henry: The Morison’s son. Mei made Henry seem like a snobby rich boy, but the truth is he’s actually pretty nice and you can tell how much he cares especially in scenes with Ella. I liked Henry he was pretty forgiving of Mei and even tried to teach her to swim.

Ella: Ella is the girl being tutored by Mei. Ella is shy and not really focused on her work, but she is interested and is a firm believer that there is a ghost in the mansion.

Romance

Mei and Henry: I don’t know how I feel about this relationship… actually after thinking about it I don’t like it at all. Mei would like Henry and then she wouldn’t and it was just off. You could tell that he liked her and she would push him away and say something about how he doesn’t know what it’s like to not have everything in life handed to him and I don’t know why he put up with that or how he could still have feelings for her but he did.

My Thoughts

~ Okay so lets get into this haunting mystery. So weird things happen at night and only Ella and Mei seem to notice.  We don’t get much information about the ghost or why it’s haunting the house which was really annoying because this book is being considered a mystery and it wasn’t.

~ The book alternates from the city and the island. On the island we see Mei’s life with the Morison family and her tutoring sessions with Ella and the ghost. On the city we learn more about Mei’s brother who has just returned home and is trying to turn his life around.

~I liked Andy he was really trying but Mei wouldn’t give him a chance because she didn’t think he could change.

~ There was also a point in the book when Vanessa, Ella’s mother would ask Mei to do things and Mei wouldn’t want to do them because she was an academic tutor, and yet she would still do these errands for Vanessa, but don’t get me wrong she would complain the whole time.

~ I can’t really explain to you guys why this is considered a mystery. Sure there’s a ghost haunting the house and the Jeffrey Morison is a little shady but other than that theres nothing to suggest a mystery. Mei isn’t putting on her Nancy Drew hat and investigating she’s just laughing it off and tries to tell herself its nothing.

Overall

I wanted to like this book I really did, especially because it was described as a mystery and I love mysteries. This book just didn’t do it for me. The plot was mundane the ghost was only mentioned several times and the ending was awful. I wish things were more explained but what I was left with was an ending that made me think I was missing something everything was wrapped up quickly with no explanation. I thought this was a good book but it didn’t live up to my expectations.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE HANGING GIRL By Eileen Cook

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE HANGING GIRL By Eileen CookThe Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on 10/3/17
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and now her psychic visions are helping the police find the town’s missing golden girl. It’s no challenge—her readings have always been faked, but this time she has some insider knowledge. The kidnapping was supposed to be easy—no one would get hurt and she’d get the money she needs to start a new life. But a seemingly harmless prank has turned dark, and Skye realizes the people she’s involved with are willing to kill to get what they want and she must discover their true identity before it’s too late.

Short and Sweet

Skye Thorn is known in her high school for giving tarot readings and having psychic visions, the thing is Skye has always faked these abilities. One of Skye’s classmates gets kidnapped and Skye has insider information about what’s going on. The police are trusting Skye’s “psychic visions” to help bring Paige home, but things turn ugly when this kidnapping that seemed like a prank turns serious. Now Skye must find out who’s behind what’s happening before it’s to late.

Characters

Skye: Our main character who fakes her psychic abilities. Skye takes part in this prank to kidnap Paige because when all is said and done she’s supposed to receive some of the ransom money and start a new life. I liked Skye and then again I didn’t. I’m glad she realized when she was in too deep but it was already to late at that point. We learn a lot about Skye and her troubling past and why some of the kids at school don’t trust her.

Paige: During the book we get a few chapters from Paige, it mostly shows her writing her experience. I felt bad for Paige because she was targeted for this “prank” because her father has money and she’s the most popular girl in school.

Pluto: The guy Skye is working with to pull off this prank, there’s not much we know about him except for the fact that he’s calling the shots.

My Thoughts

~ I really liked the concept of the book, Skye trying to make some money and things go wrong and now she has to figure out who’s behind everything. Is it the most original idea? No, but I still enjoyed reading this book.

~ Skye’s mom is also a psychic which I found interesting because I didn’t know if I could trust her or not because Skye would keep saying that her visions were off most of the time or she would call her mom a fake.

~ Skye also has a best friend, Drew. Drew was good supportive friend and we see how their friendship was kind of a motive for Skye to even take part in the kidnapping.

~ I felt worried for Skye while reading the book because she was lying a lot and she had to keep her story straight and I was interested to see how that worked out for her.

~ There were a few twist in the book that I enjoyed, but I did not like the ending at all it wasn’t satisfying to me. It just didn’t end right for me personally, I wanted more.

Overall

I thought this was a good book, it was short and easy to read through. At one point I was so confused at who could have been behind all of this because there were so many twists. I’ll be honest and say this isn’t my favorite book but it wasn’t bad, so if you like mysteries with a lot of twists then this may be the book for you!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

RUTHLESS By Carolyn Lee Adams

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RUTHLESS By Carolyn Lee AdamsRuthless by Carolyn Lee Adams
Published by Simon Pulse on 7/14/15
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 257
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Ruth Carver has always competed like her life depends on it. Ambitious. Tough. Maybe even mean. It’s no wonder people call her Ruthless.

When she wakes up with a concussion in the bed of a moving pickup trick, she realizes she has been entered into a contest she can’t afford to lose.

At a remote, rotting cabin deep in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Ruth’s blindfold comes off and she comes face-to-face with her captor. A man who believes his mission is to punish bad girls like Ruth. A man who has done this six times before.

The other girls were never heard from again, but Ruth won’t go down easy. She escapes into the wilderness, but her hunter is close at her heels. That’s when the real battle begins. That’s when Ruth must decide just how far she’ll go in order to survive.

Back home, they called her Ruthless. They had no idea just how right they were.

Short and Sweet Review

Ruth Carver wakes up and finds herself with a concussion and in the bed of a truck, come to find out shes been taken by a mysterious man and is now in a dangerous game of cat and mouse. Ruth’s kidnapper is a psychopath and Ruth just happened to be his type, but what he doesn’t know is that he underestimated Ruth and that shes intelligent and willing to do anything to make it out of this game alive. This was definitely a thriller Ruth is in the woods alone with no one to help her trying to get away from her kidnapper. Ruth had amazing survival skills which helped her outsmart her kidnapper. We learn the kidnappers backstory and it’s sad but explains why he is the way he is. At some points Ruth does want to give up but she remembers what shes fighting for and continues to push on. While reading this book I did become worried for Ruth she was running from a kidnapper who seemed to know what he was doing and when she did seem to get away that’s when I got nervous for her because I was just wondering when he would pop up again. The writing in this book was great and the plot had me hooked it was just so intense. This was a great book if you like thrillers I would recommend this book for you!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

WITH MALICE By Eileen Cook

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

WITH MALICE By Eileen CookWith Malice by Eileen Cook
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on 6/7/16
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron's senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

Short and Sweet

Jill’s trip to Italy was supposed to be the time of her life, but when she wakes up in the hospital with no memory of the last six weeks she’s confused to learn that she’s suspect number one in the murder of her best friend. Now Jill has to try to remember what happened during her time in Italy and prove her innocence.

Characters

Jill: Our main character who doesn’t remember anything from her trip to Italy especially the accident. Jill was an okay character, she was frustrated during most of the book because she couldn’t remember anything that would be useful to the case. The one thing that bothered me about Jill was the fact that she thought she could never intentionally hurt Simone, like how would you know?

Simone: Jill’s best friend, who also went on the trip to Italy but didn’t make it back alive. The only thing we really know about Simone was that she was friends with Jill and that her parents thought Jill was the one who always set up the plans that had these two girls up to no good.

Romance

In America Jill does not have a boyfriend from what I read in the book it seems like Jill stayed away from boys like the plague. But you know what happens in Italy stays in Italy unless the boy you were involved with also becomes a suspect in the murder investigation. In Italy Jill met Nico an Italian student who works as a guide for the program Jill is in. We don’t really learn much about this relationship because Jill can’t remember anything, but we know for sure that these two got together.

My Thoughts

~ My favorite thing about this book was getting to see the police transcripts and learning other people’s perspectives on what happened in Italy with Jill and Simone especially because Jill doesn’t remember.

~ There’s a lot of twists in this book mainly because whenever Jill does feel like she remembers something we don’t know if it actually happened or if she was being influenced by what shes reading in the news about the accident.

~ Our setting in the book is a hospital and then a rehab facility that Jill stays in while she recovers. Jill also takes some therapy classes while there and I liked reading about these sessions because Jill tries to dig a little deeper into her feelings and her life.

~ Jill meets Anna in the rehab facility and I liked her character more than Jill. Anna seemed to be a realist and thought logically while Jill seemed to think everything would be okay.

Overall

With Malice was a good book overall, I didn’t enjoy the ending that much I wish there was more I feel like it was kind of rushed. I liked that the book had me guessing as to what happened in Italy and we have to piece it together, could Jill murder her best friend or not?

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

BLACKBIRD By Anna Carey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLACKBIRD By Anna CareyBlackbird by Anna Carey
Series: Blackbird Duology #1
Published by HarperTeen on 9/16/14
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze RunnerThe Darkest Minds, and Legend.

Things I Know Are True:
  • I am in Los Angeles
  • I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
  • I am a teenage girl
  • I have long black hair
  • I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198
  • People are trying to kill me

Short and Sweet Review

A nameless girl wakes up on train tracks and has no memory of how she got there or who she is, all she knows is that she has this strange tattoo and that people are after her. Now she’s on the run and trying to figure out who she is. The main protagonist is “you” because the book is written in second person, but she tells people her name is Sunny. While trying to figure out who Sunny actually is we follow her around Los Angeles, she has a list of directions to follow and a knapsack full of things she may need. Sunny is already being looked for by police because she was on the train tracks but she then becomes wanted after being set up in an office building, after that is when things start to pick up. I enjoyed seeing how smart Sunny was and how good she was at evading those who were after her and watching her slowly get her memory back. Sunny meets Ben who becomes one of the only people she trusts and he was a romantic interest for her. The book ended on a cliffhanger which I didn’t like because I thought I would get more answers. Blackbird was interesting but I couldn’t stand the second person, I had to push myself to get through it because of this I can’t decide if I would want to read Deadfall or not. Overall it was a good book, it was short and interesting but the second person is kind of a deal breaker for me.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

TEMPESTUOUS By Kim Askew And Amy Helmes

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TEMPESTUOUS By Kim Askew And Amy HelmesTempestuous by Amy Helmes, Kim Askew
Series: Twisted Lit #1
Published by Simon Pulse on 11/18/12
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Realistic Fiction, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 226
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

After a mistake with big financial consequences topples her throne, former "it girl" Miranda Prospero is bitter: she finds herself stranded in a crazed new world, holding court among geeks and misfits at a mall Hot Dog Kabob stand. Then, she gets her chance for revenge. When the storm of the decade snows in the mall workers and last-minute shopaholics for a long winter's night, Miranda sets out to get back at the catty clique who was behind her exile. But there's a complication. She somehow gets handcuffed to sullen loner Caleb. With him (literally) bound to her side, Miranda learns more in one night about her own heart, and human nature, than she ever did as prep royalty.

Short and Sweet Review

Miranda used to be the “it girl” until a scandal brought her down. Now Miranda is working at the mall’s food court and trying to make it through being a social outcast. A snowstorm hits and leaves Miranda, her coworkers, and her former friends stuck in the mall together, Miranda thinks this is the perfect time to get revenge. There was a lot going on in this book, not only was Miranda stuck in the mall, she’s also trying to get revenge, throw a party for a coworker, and trying to figure out who in the mall is committing robberies during the snow storm. I liked that the setting was the mall I think it would be so much fun to be locked in a mall for the night. I didn’t enjoy Miranda’s character, she was so rude to people and didn’t give them a chance even if she just met them, we do get to see a change in heart from her but it was later in the book like the last 30 pages. Miranda’s coworkers were diverse and it was fun to learn what stores they worked at and getting to know more about them. We also get to see Miranda’s former friends, they’re pretty awful too, most of the book was focused on them and the revenge Miranda planned to get on them. The robbery was a minor plot in the book we hear about it once during the beginning of the book and then again at the end, it wasn’t really much of a mystery because most of the characters blew it off, they knew the person was still in the mall but they didn’t go looking for who it would be. Miranda also has a romantic interest in the book, I liked it mainly because of Caleb he didn’t let Miranda get to him, they were also handcuffed to each other during most of the book. I’ve never read The Tempest by Shakespeare so I don’t know how closely this book resembles it but overall I thought it was an okay read. The book was short and easy to read I just didn’t like Miranda’s dialogue, but I think some of the other characters make up for it.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen GleasonThe Chess Queen Enigma by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #3
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/6/15
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

In this third installment of the Stoker and Holmes series, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes have reluctantly agreed to act as social chaperones and undercover bodyguards for Princess Lurelia of Betrovia, who has arrived in London to deliver a letter that details the secret location of an ancient chess queen that's been missing for centuries. But when the letter—which will heal a centuries-old rift between England and the Betrovians—is stolen out from under Evaline and Mina's watchful eyes, the two girls are forced into a high-stakes race to ensure they find the chess queen before anyone else does.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina and Evaline are asked to be social chaperones for princess Lurelia of Betrovia, the only problem is the princess seems to be dull and boring. Not only do the two girls have to worry about watching the princess, they’re also trying to find a chess piece that has been missing for centuries before their foe the Ankh gets to it. This is my favorite book in the series so far! There was so much going on that it just held my attention and made me wonder what was going to happen next. There were a few storylines in this book, one involving the princess and the chess piece and one that involved Pix and his mysterious device which was mentioned in book two. The Ankh is also back, and I felt bad for Mina because it always seemed like the Ankh was one step ahead of her. Mina and Evaline are still growing and in this book I felt like they respected each other more, which lead them to work better as partners. We got to see more of Grayling, I enjoy scenes with him and the interactions he had with Mina. This book was my favorite and I can’t wait until book four is released! I highly recommend this series especially if you love mysteries!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi LeeThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 6/27/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Short and Sweet

Monty and his best friend Percy are going on a grand tour of Europe, and they plan on having the time of their lives. Even with his younger sister, Felicity coming along, Monty won’t let it ruin his fun. But things get crazy when the group encounters an ancient artifact, highwaymen, and pirates.

Characters

Henry “Monty” Montague: Our main character who grew a lot over the course of the book. Monty has the most engaging voice, he’s entertaining and sassy. He got the group into the mess they were in by trying to get even with someone. Monty had the problem of saying things without thinking and often came to regret it, but his friends called him out on it. He was a flawed character but that’s whats great about him because over the course of the book he learned from his mistakes.

Percy: Monty’s best friend and our voice of reason. Percy is also a person a color which I found interesting, because of course during the time that this book takes place it makes travel for the grand tour a bit harder because certain places won’t allow him to stay. Percy also struggles in this book because throughout the course of his friendship with Monty he has always supported him and now Percy has his own demons to fight and wonders if Monty can support him.

Felicity: Monty’s younger sister and the brains of the group. Felicity’s strength and knowledge saved the group from dangerous situations. I was rooting for her throughout the book she had goals and I felt bad that during that time girls her age didn’t have many choices.

Romance

Monty has liked Percy for a while, and thinks the grand tour will be the perfect time to express how he feels. But things don’t work well mainly because Percy seems more annoyed with Monty than smitten. It seemed like Monty always said or did the wrong thing that ended up pushing Percy away.

My Thoughts

~ This isn’t an ordinary grand tour of Europe, like it was expected to be. Mayhem begins when the group reaches their first stop in Paris. This leads them to places that are off of their original course.

~ In Paris, Monty steals an artifact that leads to the group being attacked by highwaymen, hiding in a small town, going to Barcelona, meeting pirates, and trying to find something on an island that is sinking.

~ My favorite part of the book was the whole mystery surrounding the artifact and what it does. The artifact was the whole reason the group had to go off course so I was eager to find out what it could do.

~ What I loved the most about this book was how fast paced it was. From the very beginning we embark on a journey with these characters.

~ In each city we meet different characters and all of them add to the story in their own way. My favorite characters were the pirates I loved learning more about them and their ultimate goal.

~ I felt like I was with the trio of characters and I was worried about their well-being, they were in some dangerous positions and on the run from some people who wanted them dead.

Overall

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must read! Everything about it is amazing, the characters, the action and adventure, the diversity, and of course the romance. The ending was great and everything was wrapped up nicely. Monty, Percy, and Felicity are a set of characters I won’t forget. This is hands down one of my favorite reads of 2017, and I encourage everyone to pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf