SHADOW GIRL By Liana Liu

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SHADOW GIRL By Liana LiuShadow Girl by Liana Liu
Published by HarperTeen on 12/19/17
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The house on Arrow Island is full of mystery.

Yet, when Mei arrives, she can’t help feeling relieved. She’s happy to spend the summer in an actual mansion tutoring a rich man’s daughter if it means a break from her normal life—her needy mother, her delinquent brother, their tiny apartment in the city. And Ella Morison seems like an easy charge, sweet and well behaved.

What she doesn’t know is that something is very wrong in the Morison household.

Though Mei tries to focus on her duties, she becomes increasingly distracted by the family’s problems and her own complicated feelings for Ella’s brother, Henry. But most disturbing of all are the unexplained noises she hears at night—the howling and thumping and cries.

Mei is a sensible girl. She isn’t superstitious; she doesn’t believe in ghosts. Yet she can’t shake her fear that there is danger lurking in the shadows of this beautiful house, a darkness that could destroy the family inside and out...and Mei along with them.

Short and Sweet

Mei is an academic tutor and this summer she gets a job working for the Morison family at their house on Arrow Island. Mei expects this experience to go well, she gets to go stay at the family mansion on an island and get away from her life in the city. But what Mei doesn’t know is that the Morison household my be haunted and even though she doesn’t believe in ghost she can’t help but to feel that something is wrong.

Characters

Mei: Mei is our main character, and I tried really hard to like her but I just couldn’t. Mei is smart and is focused on her work. I like how she tried to relate to Ella and understand her more. What I didn’t like about Mei was how she tried to come off as a nice person but she really wasn’t. She would make mean remarks and once she realized what she said wasn’t nice she would try to pass it off as a joke and it bothered me because its not like she did this once or twice she did this a lot.

Henry: The Morison’s son. Mei made Henry seem like a snobby rich boy, but the truth is he’s actually pretty nice and you can tell how much he cares especially in scenes with Ella. I liked Henry he was pretty forgiving of Mei and even tried to teach her to swim.

Ella: Ella is the girl being tutored by Mei. Ella is shy and not really focused on her work, but she is interested and is a firm believer that there is a ghost in the mansion.

Romance

Mei and Henry: I don’t know how I feel about this relationship… actually after thinking about it I don’t like it at all. Mei would like Henry and then she wouldn’t and it was just off. You could tell that he liked her and she would push him away and say something about how he doesn’t know what it’s like to not have everything in life handed to him and I don’t know why he put up with that or how he could still have feelings for her but he did.

My Thoughts

~ Okay so lets get into this haunting mystery. So weird things happen at night and only Ella and Mei seem to notice.  We don’t get much information about the ghost or why it’s haunting the house which was really annoying because this book is being considered a mystery and it wasn’t.

~ The book alternates from the city and the island. On the island we see Mei’s life with the Morison family and her tutoring sessions with Ella and the ghost. On the city we learn more about Mei’s brother who has just returned home and is trying to turn his life around.

~I liked Andy he was really trying but Mei wouldn’t give him a chance because she didn’t think he could change.

~ There was also a point in the book when Vanessa, Ella’s mother would ask Mei to do things and Mei wouldn’t want to do them because she was an academic tutor, and yet she would still do these errands for Vanessa, but don’t get me wrong she would complain the whole time.

~ I can’t really explain to you guys why this is considered a mystery. Sure there’s a ghost haunting the house and the Jeffrey Morison is a little shady but other than that theres nothing to suggest a mystery. Mei isn’t putting on her Nancy Drew hat and investigating she’s just laughing it off and tries to tell herself its nothing.

Overall

I wanted to like this book I really did, especially because it was described as a mystery and I love mysteries. This book just didn’t do it for me. The plot was mundane the ghost was only mentioned several times and the ending was awful. I wish things were more explained but what I was left with was an ending that made me think I was missing something everything was wrapped up quickly with no explanation. I thought this was a good book but it didn’t live up to my expectations.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE BEAUTIFUL AND THE CURSED By Page Morgan

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE BEAUTIFUL AND THE CURSED By Page MorganThe Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan
Series: The Dispossessed #1
Published by Delacorte Press on 5/14/13
Genres: Historical, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.
In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties for Ingrid, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother, Grayson, was sent ahead to secure for the family isn't a house at all. It's an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.
And Grayson is missing.
Yet no one seems worried about his whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.
Ingrid is sure her twin isn't dead--she can feel it deep in her soul--but she knows he's in grave danger, and that it's up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.
The path to Grayson will be twisted, leading Ingrid to discover dark secrets and otherworldly truths that, once uncovered, can never again be buried.

Short and Sweet

After a weird accident Ingrid Waverly, her mother, and younger sister leave London and move to Paris. When they arrive they discover that Grayson, Ingrid’s twin brother who was to have arrived earlier has gone missing. Ingrid and Gabby vow to find their brother before its too late.

Characters

Ingrid: Our main character who discovers that her brother is missing and that there may be more to the accident that happened in London than she thought. Ingrid was a good main character she cared about those closest to her. The things she learns about in Paris are interesting it makes her think about things from all angles.

Gabby: Gabby is Ingrid and Grayson’s younger sister. Gabby as the younger sibling is impulsive, but she does mean well.

Romance

Ingrid and Luc: I loved these two Luc clearly cares a lot about Ingrid more than he has for anyone before and I think that these feelings have him confused as to why he feels this way mainly because gargoyles only protect their charges because its their job, but there’s something different about the way he feels when it comes to Ingrid.

Gabby and Nolan: I don’t know which couple I liked more Gabby and Nolan or Ingrid and Luc. There was romantic tension between Gabby and Nolan and I just wanted them to be together so bad! Nolan kept pushing Gabby away and she had feelings for him and this made me ship them.

My Thoughts

~ I’ve read a lot of paranormal books and this is the first one I’ve read that had gargoyles in it. I loved it, this book was so different and I loved the setting of 1899 Paris.

~ Each of the characters were enjoyable and I also liked their interactions with each other and how they all came together, because of Graysons disappearance.

~ The mystery surrounding Grayson’s disappearance was so intriguing to me, we do get some chapters in his point of view but we don’t know who took him and why.

~ I liked that there were two different groups the gargoyles and the alliance. They don’t like each other but they try to stay on good terms with each other in case they need each others help.

~ There’s also demons coming from the underworld trying to get to the sisters, because the same thing that took Grayson is looking for his sisters next.

~ One thing that really surprised me was when one of the characters turns out to be one we can’t trust.

Overall

This was an amazing read, I’m excited to read the sequel, which is on my shelf. The ending was great and left me wanting more and to see what these siblings will have to endure next. I think this is a great book for people who like paranormal books with a little bit of a mystery.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen GleasonThe Chess Queen Enigma by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #3
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/6/15
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

In this third installment of the Stoker and Holmes series, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes have reluctantly agreed to act as social chaperones and undercover bodyguards for Princess Lurelia of Betrovia, who has arrived in London to deliver a letter that details the secret location of an ancient chess queen that's been missing for centuries. But when the letter—which will heal a centuries-old rift between England and the Betrovians—is stolen out from under Evaline and Mina's watchful eyes, the two girls are forced into a high-stakes race to ensure they find the chess queen before anyone else does.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina and Evaline are asked to be social chaperones for princess Lurelia of Betrovia, the only problem is the princess seems to be dull and boring. Not only do the two girls have to worry about watching the princess, they’re also trying to find a chess piece that has been missing for centuries before their foe the Ankh gets to it. This is my favorite book in the series so far! There was so much going on that it just held my attention and made me wonder what was going to happen next. There were a few storylines in this book, one involving the princess and the chess piece and one that involved Pix and his mysterious device which was mentioned in book two. The Ankh is also back, and I felt bad for Mina because it always seemed like the Ankh was one step ahead of her. Mina and Evaline are still growing and in this book I felt like they respected each other more, which lead them to work better as partners. We got to see more of Grayling, I enjoy scenes with him and the interactions he had with Mina. This book was my favorite and I can’t wait until book four is released! I highly recommend this series especially if you love mysteries!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary LindseyAshes on the Waves by Mary Lindsey
Published by Philomel Books on 6/27/13
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Gothic, Paranormal, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Author
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Liam MacGregor is cursed. Haunted by the wails of fantastical Bean Sidhes and labeled a demon by the villagers of Dòchas, Liam has accepted that things will never get better for him--until a wealthy heiress named Annabel Leighton arrives on the island and Liam's fate is changed forever.
With Anna, Liam finally finds the happiness he has always been denied, but the violent, mythical Otherworlders, who inhabit the island and the sea around it, have other plans. They make a wager on the couple's love, testing its strength through a series of cruel obstacles. But the tragedies draw Liam and Anna even closer. Frustrated, the creatures put the couple through one last trial--and this time it's not only their love that's in danger of being destroyed

Short and Sweet Review

Ashes on the Waves is the retelling of Edgar Allen Poe’s Annabel Lee poem. Liam is crippled and only has the use of one of his arms. This has him and the townspeople believing that his is possessed by a demon. Because of this Liam is lonely and lost, as he believes what everyone is saying about him being a demon. He doesn’t have much contact with other people on the island so when his childhood crush Anna comes back to the island he becomes filled with emotions. Ashes on the Waves is your classic love story. But what we really need to know is if Liam and Anna’s love is strong enough to overcome the paranormal things that happen on this island. I loved the island it made the story. It’s creepy, isolated, and dark. The book starts of slow but it starts to take off. There’s a bit of a mystery in this book especially surrounding whats going on in this town. This book is beautiful, dark, and heart wrenching. I love all of Mary Lindsey’s books and this one is no exception. This is actually the first book I’ve read of hers and I definitely recommend this to all of my friends!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

FRAGILE SPIRITS By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

FRAGILE SPIRITS By Mary LindseyFragile Spirits by Mary Lindsey
Series: Souls #2
Published by Philomel Books on 1/23/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Paul has always known he was a Protector, fated to serve a Speaker who could hear the voices of spirits lingering after death and help those souls find peace.

Vivienne ignores the voices of the dead.
Paul has always followed the Protector's rule book, preparing diligently for the day when he'd be matched with his Speaker and fulfill his destiny.
 Vivienne never does what she's told.
So when Paul is matched with Vivienne, they both find the pairing less than satisfactory. But a kidnapping, a malevolent spirit and a power stronger than both of them may just prove that they are two halves of the same whole.

Short and Sweet Reviews

When Paul finally gets to meet his speaker Vivienne, she’s not what he expected at all. Paul follows the rules right out of the book and Vivienne she just like to go to the beat of her own drum. When the two get together to start helping souls find peace it’s a pretty rocky start, but as soon as they get to know each other things start going smoothly. This book is the sister novel to Shattered Souls. Most of the characters from the first book are in this one. The relationship between Paul and Vivienne really makes the book, (opposites attract). I love how this book involves characters from the last book. The ending was really good I loved it I especially loved it how everyone works as a team. If there is another book in this series I would buy it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal, and Romance.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

SHATTERED SOULS By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SHATTERED SOULS By Mary LindseyShattered Souls by Mary Lindsey
Series: Souls #1
Published by Speak on 12/6/12
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Lenzi hears voices and has visions - gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can't help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she's a reincarnated Speaker - someone who can talk to and help lost souls - and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn't make a decision soon.

Short and Sweet Review

Lenzi’s dad recently died he committed suicide, because he couldn’t get rid of the voices in his head. Now, Lenzi is starting to hear things and see things too. One night in the graveyard Lenzi meets a stranger named Alden,who tells Lenzi that she is a Speaker, she has the ability to speak to lost souls and help them to find rest in death by freeing them from the problems that keep them bound to Earth. Alden is her Protector, he protects her from Malevolents, violent spirits who don’t want to be helped, but who could potentially possess Lenzi’s body, using it to take out their rage or revenge. The problem is there is a malevolent spirit who wants revenge on Lenzi and she doesn’t know why. I loved this book it was like Ghost Whisperer in book form. I liked seeing how Lenzi had to adjust to this new life of being a speaker and learning how to do things again. This book had so many elements I liked, my favorite thing would have to be learning about Lenzi’s past lives as a speaker. It was interesting and it also helps us find out what this malevolent spirit wants from her. Alden is sweet and charming although he does have his moments where he can be awkward. The plot is great and had me hooked the book is creepy and has a bit of a mysterious vibe to it. Definitely pick this one up if you like books about ghost or want a book with Ghost Whisperer vibes!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AVOW By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVOW By Chelsea FineAvow by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #3
Published by Firefall Publishing on 12/15/2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 388
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Scarlet remembers. Everything. Her past lives, Tristan, Gabriel, Nate: she remembers it all--including how to get to the Fountain of Youth. But time is running out. Heather and Gabriel have been kidnapped by Raven, while the curse that has plagued Scarlet and Tristan for centuries has shifted, putting the star-crossed lovers in more danger than ever before. Water from the Fountain of Youth is the only thing that can save Scarlet and her loved ones. But the water comes at a price. With lives--and hearts--at stake, Scarlet leads her friends on a dangerous journey to the Fountain of Youth. Where eternal life is possible, but death is certain.

Short and Sweet Review

Avow is the third and final book in The Archers of Avalon series. In this book Scarlet remembers everything. Now it’s Scarlet to find the Fountain of Youth and break the curse, and save Heather and Gabriel from Raven. I seriously loved this series when I finished the second book I bought this one right away and finished it in one day. This book was a page turner and I’m so glad that Scarlet remembers everything, and which Archer Brother she should really be with. Their journey to the Fountain of Youth had me worrying about their safety, I’ve come to love these characters so much. The plot is amazing and I enjoyed how this book held my attention the whole time. I don’t want to spoil anything because this is the last book but questions were answered and there were some twist. I love the romance in this book Scarlet and Tristan I ship it. I think everyone should give this trilogy a chance it’s one of my favorites!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AWRY By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AWRY By Chelsea FineAwry by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #2
Published by Firefall Publishing on 6/12/2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 512
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Seventeen-year-old Scarlet has just died. Only, dying isn't unusual for a girl under a centuries old curse that left her semi-immortal. This time, though, she comes back to her current life instead of awaking in a new one, and she realizes her curse is changing. With the help of the immortal Archer brothers, Scarlet tries to piece together her life and break the curse before her impending death comes again.

Short and Sweet Review 

In the sequel to Anew, Scarlet comes back to her current life instead of starting a new one. In this book there is a lot of flashbacks to Scarlet’s first life that answers a lot of questions about the curse on her and the Archer brothers. Awry switches back and forth between flashbacks of Tristan, Gabriel and Scarlet way back in the 1500s when they all first met and modern day when their lives are on the line. With a map to the fountain of youth they can’t read, an enemy that seems to know them way too well, and indestructible Ash Men pillaging their homes, this group is running out of time. If the motley crew of Nate the nerd, Heather the best friend, the two Archer brothers and Scarlet can’t find the fountain of youth in time, they might lose, not just one, but TWO of their members. But they aren’t the only ones looking for the fountain. Someone close to them is hunting it down as well, and will not hesitate to take a few lives if they stand in the way. I absolutely loved this book especially because Scarlet and Tristan’s bond is becoming a lot closer, even though he tries to push her away. This book does end with a cliffhanger but that doesn’t make it any less of a great book.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

ANEW By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ANEW By Chelsea FineAnew by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #1
Published by Firefall Publishing on 12/07/2011
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 330
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Two years ago, Scarlet awoke in the forest alone, afraid, and unable to remember anything. Lost and confused, her life was a mystery...until she met a boy with a familiar voice.

Gabriel Archer has a voice from her past, and Scarlet's determined to remember why. She immerses herself in his life only to discover he has a brother he's kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer.

Upon meeting Tristan, Scarlet's world becomes even more muddled. While she's instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she's impossibly drawn to Tristan--and confused out of her mind. As she tries to piece together her history Scarlet realizes her past...might just be the death of her.

Short and Sweet Review

Scarlet is seventeen, and two years ago she woke up in the woods of Avalon Georgia with no memory of who or where she came from. The only thing Scarlet does remember is her name, her age, and this image which she draws all the time. Laura, a high class business women, becomes her loving guardian and brings Scarlet into her home. Heather becomes Scarlet’s best friend and Laura and Heather are trying to help give Scarlet a new, meaningful life. Scarlet loves these two, but she still feels lost, until this very hot, gorgeous new guy in town talks to her, and his voice sounds familiar to her. Gabriel’s voice is a voice that makes Scarlet feel safe, normal, and a voice she can trust. But she just doesn’t know why. She feels this way with Gabriel, but when Scarlet meets Gabriel’s mysterious brother, Tristan, her world becomes a whole lot stranger when she hears Tristan voice. It definitely makes her feel things. With the Archers brothers, Scarlet is in for one cursed awakening. I personally like Tristan more, just can’t resist that dark bad-boy image. Gabriel and Tristan’s love for Scarlet had me swooning. I also love Heather. She’s the comic relief in this story, and she is what a best friend should be. Heather is not going to let anyone hurt her best friend, not even if Gabriel is one beautiful body that makes a pair of jeans look hot. Heather and Gabriel had me laughing my butt off, especially with them in the classroom. I loved this book and right after I read it I bought the sequel, Awry. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Fantasies and Romance.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings