THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ASHES ON THE WAVES By Mary LindseyAshes on the Waves by Mary Lindsey
Published by Philomel Books on 6/27/13
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Gothic, Paranormal, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Author
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Liam MacGregor is cursed. Haunted by the wails of fantastical Bean Sidhes and labeled a demon by the villagers of Dòchas, Liam has accepted that things will never get better for him--until a wealthy heiress named Annabel Leighton arrives on the island and Liam's fate is changed forever.
With Anna, Liam finally finds the happiness he has always been denied, but the violent, mythical Otherworlders, who inhabit the island and the sea around it, have other plans. They make a wager on the couple's love, testing its strength through a series of cruel obstacles. But the tragedies draw Liam and Anna even closer. Frustrated, the creatures put the couple through one last trial--and this time it's not only their love that's in danger of being destroyed

Short and Sweet Review

Ashes on the Waves is the retelling of Edgar Allen Poe’s Annabel Lee poem. Liam is crippled and only has the use of one of his arms. This has him and the townspeople believing that his is possessed by a demon. Because of this Liam is lonely and lost, as he believes what everyone is saying about him being a demon. He doesn’t have much contact with other people on the island so when his childhood crush Anna comes back to the island he becomes filled with emotions. Ashes on the Waves is your classic love story. But what we really need to know is if Liam and Anna’s love is strong enough to overcome the paranormal things that happen on this island. I loved the island it made the story. It’s creepy, isolated, and dark. The book starts of slow but it starts to take off. There’s a bit of a mystery in this book especially surrounding whats going on in this town. This book is beautiful, dark, and heart wrenching. I love all of Mary Lindsey’s books and this one is no exception. This is actually the first book I’ve read of hers and I definitely recommend this to all of my friends!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

FRAGILE SPIRITS By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

FRAGILE SPIRITS By Mary LindseyFragile Spirits by Mary Lindsey
Series: Souls #2
Published by Philomel Books on 1/23/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Paul has always known he was a Protector, fated to serve a Speaker who could hear the voices of spirits lingering after death and help those souls find peace.

Vivienne ignores the voices of the dead.
Paul has always followed the Protector's rule book, preparing diligently for the day when he'd be matched with his Speaker and fulfill his destiny.
 Vivienne never does what she's told.
So when Paul is matched with Vivienne, they both find the pairing less than satisfactory. But a kidnapping, a malevolent spirit and a power stronger than both of them may just prove that they are two halves of the same whole.

Short and Sweet Reviews

When Paul finally gets to meet his speaker Vivienne, she’s not what he expected at all. Paul follows the rules right out of the book and Vivienne she just like to go to the beat of her own drum. When the two get together to start helping souls find peace it’s a pretty rocky start, but as soon as they get to know each other things start going smoothly. This book is the sister novel to Shattered Souls. Most of the characters from the first book are in this one. The relationship between Paul and Vivienne really makes the book, (opposites attract). I love how this book involves characters from the last book. The ending was really good I loved it I especially loved it how everyone works as a team. If there is another book in this series I would buy it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal, and Romance.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

SHATTERED SOULS By Mary Lindsey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SHATTERED SOULS By Mary LindseyShattered Souls by Mary Lindsey
Series: Souls #1
Published by Speak on 12/6/12
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Lenzi hears voices and has visions - gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can't help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she's a reincarnated Speaker - someone who can talk to and help lost souls - and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn't make a decision soon.

Short and Sweet Review

Lenzi’s dad recently died he committed suicide, because he couldn’t get rid of the voices in his head. Now, Lenzi is starting to hear things and see things too. One night in the graveyard Lenzi meets a stranger named Alden,who tells Lenzi that she is a Speaker, she has the ability to speak to lost souls and help them to find rest in death by freeing them from the problems that keep them bound to Earth. Alden is her Protector, he protects her from Malevolents, violent spirits who don’t want to be helped, but who could potentially possess Lenzi’s body, using it to take out their rage or revenge. The problem is there is a malevolent spirit who wants revenge on Lenzi and she doesn’t know why. I loved this book it was like Ghost Whisperer in book form. I liked seeing how Lenzi had to adjust to this new life of being a speaker and learning how to do things again. This book had so many elements I liked, my favorite thing would have to be learning about Lenzi’s past lives as a speaker. It was interesting and it also helps us find out what this malevolent spirit wants from her. Alden is sweet and charming although he does have his moments where he can be awkward. The plot is great and had me hooked the book is creepy and has a bit of a mysterious vibe to it. Definitely pick this one up if you like books about ghost or want a book with Ghost Whisperer vibes!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AVOW By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVOW By Chelsea FineAvow by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #3
Published by Firefall Publishing on 12/15/2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 388
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Scarlet remembers. Everything. Her past lives, Tristan, Gabriel, Nate: she remembers it all--including how to get to the Fountain of Youth. But time is running out. Heather and Gabriel have been kidnapped by Raven, while the curse that has plagued Scarlet and Tristan for centuries has shifted, putting the star-crossed lovers in more danger than ever before. Water from the Fountain of Youth is the only thing that can save Scarlet and her loved ones. But the water comes at a price. With lives--and hearts--at stake, Scarlet leads her friends on a dangerous journey to the Fountain of Youth. Where eternal life is possible, but death is certain.

Short and Sweet Review

Avow is the third and final book in The Archers of Avalon series. In this book Scarlet remembers everything. Now it’s Scarlet to find the Fountain of Youth and break the curse, and save Heather and Gabriel from Raven. I seriously loved this series when I finished the second book I bought this one right away and finished it in one day. This book was a page turner and I’m so glad that Scarlet remembers everything, and which Archer Brother she should really be with. Their journey to the Fountain of Youth had me worrying about their safety, I’ve come to love these characters so much. The plot is amazing and I enjoyed how this book held my attention the whole time. I don’t want to spoil anything because this is the last book but questions were answered and there were some twist. I love the romance in this book Scarlet and Tristan I ship it. I think everyone should give this trilogy a chance it’s one of my favorites!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AWRY By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AWRY By Chelsea FineAwry by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #2
Published by Firefall Publishing on 6/12/2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 512
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Seventeen-year-old Scarlet has just died. Only, dying isn't unusual for a girl under a centuries old curse that left her semi-immortal. This time, though, she comes back to her current life instead of awaking in a new one, and she realizes her curse is changing. With the help of the immortal Archer brothers, Scarlet tries to piece together her life and break the curse before her impending death comes again.

Short and Sweet Review 

In the sequel to Anew, Scarlet comes back to her current life instead of starting a new one. In this book there is a lot of flashbacks to Scarlet’s first life that answers a lot of questions about the curse on her and the Archer brothers. Awry switches back and forth between flashbacks of Tristan, Gabriel and Scarlet way back in the 1500s when they all first met and modern day when their lives are on the line. With a map to the fountain of youth they can’t read, an enemy that seems to know them way too well, and indestructible Ash Men pillaging their homes, this group is running out of time. If the motley crew of Nate the nerd, Heather the best friend, the two Archer brothers and Scarlet can’t find the fountain of youth in time, they might lose, not just one, but TWO of their members. But they aren’t the only ones looking for the fountain. Someone close to them is hunting it down as well, and will not hesitate to take a few lives if they stand in the way. I absolutely loved this book especially because Scarlet and Tristan’s bond is becoming a lot closer, even though he tries to push her away. This book does end with a cliffhanger but that doesn’t make it any less of a great book.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

ANEW By Chelsea Fine

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ANEW By Chelsea FineAnew by Chelsea Fine
Series: The Archers of Avalon #1
Published by Firefall Publishing on 12/07/2011
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 330
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Two years ago, Scarlet awoke in the forest alone, afraid, and unable to remember anything. Lost and confused, her life was a mystery...until she met a boy with a familiar voice.

Gabriel Archer has a voice from her past, and Scarlet's determined to remember why. She immerses herself in his life only to discover he has a brother he's kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer.

Upon meeting Tristan, Scarlet's world becomes even more muddled. While she's instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she's impossibly drawn to Tristan--and confused out of her mind. As she tries to piece together her history Scarlet realizes her past...might just be the death of her.

Short and Sweet Review

Scarlet is seventeen, and two years ago she woke up in the woods of Avalon Georgia with no memory of who or where she came from. The only thing Scarlet does remember is her name, her age, and this image which she draws all the time. Laura, a high class business women, becomes her loving guardian and brings Scarlet into her home. Heather becomes Scarlet’s best friend and Laura and Heather are trying to help give Scarlet a new, meaningful life. Scarlet loves these two, but she still feels lost, until this very hot, gorgeous new guy in town talks to her, and his voice sounds familiar to her. Gabriel’s voice is a voice that makes Scarlet feel safe, normal, and a voice she can trust. But she just doesn’t know why. She feels this way with Gabriel, but when Scarlet meets Gabriel’s mysterious brother, Tristan, her world becomes a whole lot stranger when she hears Tristan voice. It definitely makes her feel things. With the Archers brothers, Scarlet is in for one cursed awakening. I personally like Tristan more, just can’t resist that dark bad-boy image. Gabriel and Tristan’s love for Scarlet had me swooning. I also love Heather. She’s the comic relief in this story, and she is what a best friend should be. Heather is not going to let anyone hurt her best friend, not even if Gabriel is one beautiful body that makes a pair of jeans look hot. Heather and Gabriel had me laughing my butt off, especially with them in the classroom. I loved this book and right after I read it I bought the sequel, Awry. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Fantasies and Romance.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD By Kendare Blake

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD By Kendare BlakeAnna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Series: Anna #1
Published by Tor Teen on 7/3/2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Horror & Ghost Stories, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas's life.

Short and Sweet Review

Cas’s job is to kill the dead and that’s what he’ll do no matter the danger that’s involved. His job takes Cas and his mother to Canada, and this time his job is to kill Anna Korlov. Anna dressed in blood. Anna is different than any other ghost Cas has had to kill. Anna is powerful and she knows she’s dead. Cas won’t stop until he finds out is making Anna so powerful, and in the process he falls in love with her. In the end Anna isn’t the one Cas had to worry about. Cas and Anna really make this book. Cas has this creepy job of killing the dead and has to deal with all of the danger that comes with having to do that. And Anna has two sides to her the girl she was before she died and a girl who kills anyone who walks into her house. I loved this book, I couldn’t put it down I just needed to know what was going to happen next. The ending has a huge twist which I wasn’t ready for. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes paranormal, horror, and romance. I’m definitely going to get the second book which is Girl of Nightmares.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE HANDS OF TIME By Michelle Madow

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE HANDS OF TIME By Michelle MadowThe Hands of Time by Michelle Madow
Series: Elementals #5
Published by Dreamscape Publishing on 11/2/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Mythology, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Months ago, Nicole Cassidy’s life was turned upside-down when she discovered that she was a witch descended from the Greek gods. She and the four other witches gifted with elemental powers fought all over the world—and in another dimension—to battle the supporters of the Titans and fight for the people they love.

Now the Elementals must stop Typhon—the most dangerous monster in the world—from rising, and seal the portal to the dangerous prison world of Kerberos. But they won’t be able to do that without facing their hardest decision yet… a sacrifice so great that it may be one they’re not willing to make.

Short and Sweet

Picking up right where we left off in the last book, Nicole has the chance to go back in time and fix her mistakes to save Blake’s life and Medusa’s head from being destroyed. Now her and the other Elementals have to finish their quest of stopping the Titans from rising.

My Thoughts

~ I loved this book but it was bittersweet. It’s the last book in the series, we lose a few characters, and sacrifices are made, but like all of the books they only get better and this was my favorite in the series.

~ When I started reading this book I had a few ideas about what I thought was going to happen but I was caught off guard by some of the twist. I don’t want to spoil anything but these twist were unexpected and I didn’t see anything coming.

~ The pace in this book was pretty fast. That being said I felt like some of the tasks the Elementals had to handle in the first half of the book were easy, but in the second half that’s when they had to deal with the bigger decisions that would impact their futures and lives.

~ I think the romance between characters in this book took a backseat mainly because they had bigger and better things to worry about and I didn’t really mind that.

~ This is hard for me to say but I did not like Nicole in this book. She was pretty selfish especially at the end. I mean I understand not wanting something to happen to your boyfriend but to act like someone else’s life isn’t as important just bothered me.

~ I loved Danielle, she seemed to be level-headed and always thought things through.

Overall

I loved watching these characters grow over these past five books and develop into the heroes they are now. This book was a crazy ride and left me speechless. It was a great ending to this series. I would recommend this series, these books aren’t long and you can just breeze through them. If you like mythology and witches and quest then pick this series up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

BETWEEN THE SPARK AND THE BURN By April Genevieve Tucholke

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BETWEEN THE SPARK AND THE BURN By April Genevieve TucholkeBetween the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: Between #2
Published by Speak on 8/4/15
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Gothic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

Short and Sweet

After the events from the last book Violet can’t stop thinking about River. The gang decides to leave Citizen Kane and go looking for River in different towns where strange things are happening.

My Thoughts

~ My favorite part of this book was the road trip the group is following leads to different places just to find River. The gang gets these leads from a radio show that only Neely and Violet are into listening.

~ We meet new characters in these towns where the gang visits. I feel like Violet is way too trusting of strangers. I don’t want to spoil anything but if you read the book you’ll know what I mean.

~ Violet finds Freddie’s diary and learns more about her grandmothers past and about her experiences with the “glow.”

~ I definitely enjoyed this book more than the first book. The world building was amazing. We get to go to mountains, towns near the sea, and another quint town that resembles Echo.

~ There was more character development in this book. Violet was more brave and tried to take things head on and Neely gets more of a focus in this book.

~ I didn’t like the romance in this book either. Violet was with Neely a lot in this book and I think she was just using him until she got back to River.

~ I liked Neely, we learn he has a lot of love for his family especially his brothers. Neely would use his power to counteract what his brother’s power was doing, even if it was slowly killing him.

Overall

This sequel is worth the read! The writing in this book is beautiful. The ending was a bit open ended and left you to use your imagination as to what would happen next. This book was enjoyable and entertaining. Check this duology out if you haven’t!!!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf