MADE FOR YOU By Melissa Marr

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MADE FOR YOU By Melissa MarrMade for You by Melissa Marr
Published by HarperCollins on 1/5/16
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep their friends—and each other—from falling into the hands of a killer.

Short and Sweet

Made For You is about Eva who survived an attempt at her life, and the killer who was responsible for it and is still after her. After the attempt at her life, Eva and her friends find themselves in danger. Eva tries to find the killer before he attacks again.

My Thoughts

~ Made for You is told in a dual narrative, one POV is Eva and the other is of the actual killer.

~ I liked reading from the killer’s chapters, we get to see what’s going on in their head, but we don’t know their identity.

~ There is a paranormal aspect because Eva can now see how people die.

~ Eva was realistic and lovable, she wanted to know what was happening and she cares enough  about her friends to she help them even if it put her in danger.

~ I  liked Nate he was sweet and genuinely cared for Eva. I loved that this two childhood friends reunited.

~ I couldn’t put it down it was a thriller that was believable.

~ The mystery was well done and I didn’t have a clue about who the killer was until I got closer to the end.

Overall

The story line was realistic and things play out in a realistic way. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! I enjoyed it and would recommend it if you like mysteries, thrillers, that have a paranormal aspect.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

ONE WAS LOST By Natalie D. Richards

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ONE WAS LOST By Natalie D. RichardsOne Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 10/4/16
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Damaged, Deceptive, Dangerous, Darling. When a group of teens wake up in the woods, these words are inked onto their skin. Are they labels? A warning? They must find the truth before a killer finds them.

While on a mandatory senior field trip, a flash flood cuts off Sera and three classmates from their group with no way to call for help. But they're not as alone as they thought...

Short and Sweet

Six students and two teachers go on a senior camping trip. Soon a storm separates four students and a teacher from the other two students and teacher. Separated by a river the two groups decide to set up camp and reunite the next day. Everything should be fine until the group wakes up the next afternoon, to find their stuff missing and words written on there wrist. The only way they’re going to survive is to find out who’s behind this and work together.

My Thoughts

~Sera, was our main character and she was in the group with four students. Overall I thought Sera was an okay character, we didn’t find out much about her.

~I liked the other students too, but it was hard to know who to trust because the culprit could be anyone.

~The words written on their wrist was interesting: damaged, deceptive, dangerous, and darling. It changed the way the students looked at each other and made them suspect each other and it had me wondering why those specific words were chosen for each person.

~Everything that happened kept me guessing at who could be behind this, there were so many twist and different outcomes I was thinking about.

~I didn’t think the romance was necessary. It wasn’t working for me. Sera was indecisive about liking Lucas or not liking him.

Overall

The ending was okay. I didn’t guess who the killer was. I still don’t understand the motive behind all of this, but I guess being crazy is motive enough. I liked the book and would recommend it if you like mysteries and thrillers, its also a fast read.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

HOW TO DISAPPEAR By Ann Redisch Stampler

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HOW TO DISAPPEAR By Ann Redisch StamplerHow To Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler
Published by Simon Pulse on 6/14/16
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she’s pretty sure she can get away with anything...until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette’s house. Which is why she has to disappear.

Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight A’s and athletic trophies can’t make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price.

As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions—and attractions—run high. Told in alternating voices, this tightly plotted mystery and tense love story challenges our assumptions about right and wrong, guilt and innocence, truth and lies.

Short and Sweet

After finding a dead body near her houses, Nicolette feels she has no choice but to leave her home in Ohio and go on the run and into hiding. Jack is the son of a hitman, and he’s been sent on a mission by his brother; to find Nicolette and kill her.

Characters

Nicolette: The girl that everyone loves, who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. She has no experience in disappearing.

Jack: The son of a notorious criminal, who tries to stay on the right side of the law until he’s pulled into the family business. With no experience with murder, Jack has to outsmart Nicolette in order to find her.

My Thoughts

~This is literally a game of cat and mouse with Nicolette and Jack trying to outsmart each other. One is on the hunt and the other is on the run.

~The chapters alternate between Nicolette and Jack. They both have their own voices and values. I really liked reading both of their POVs mainly because we can get inside their heads. To see Nicolette’s ideas and where she’s going to hide and to find out how Jack plans on finding Nicolette where she’s hiding was so interesting!

~The romance I loved it. I ship the two of them so hard after reading this book. I loved it so much, I can’t stop thinking about the two of them. I think I like the romance so much, because they’re not meant to be together; he was sent to kill her!

love reaction sailor moon heart eyes

Overall

I loved this book so much, I read it in one sitting! I feel like I can read it again and again which is rare for me. It’s so good the plot and the characters were amazing! I was hooked from the beginning and couldn’t put it down. This is a must read I think everyone should go out and buy it and read it especially if you’re a fan of thrillers and mysteries!!!

thevoice  excited yes christina aguilera the voice

My love for this book is pretty serious.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THICKER THAN WATER By Kelly Fiore

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
THICKER THAN WATER By Kelly FioreThicker Than Water by Kelly Fiore
Published by HarperTeen on 1/5/16
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Cecelia Price killed her brother. At least, that's what the police and the district attorney are saying. Although CeCe is now locked up and forced into treatment, she knows the story is much more complicated. Cyrus wasn't always a drug-addled monster. He used to be a successful athlete, but when an injury forced Cyrus off the soccer field and onto pain medication, his life became a blur of anger, addiction, and violence.

All CeCe could do was stand by and watch, until she realized an effective way to take away her brother's drugs while earning the money she needed for college: selling the pills. Only she never expected what happened next.

Short and Sweet

Cecelia “CeCe” Price used to be a honor roll student at school. After watching her brother Cyrus get hooked on pain medication, CeCe decides to take some of her brothers pills and sell them. When Cyrus dies, the district attorney is convinced CeCe murdered him. Now, CeCe is in a juvenile treatment facility awaiting the court case that will determine the rest of her life as she struggles to accept her roles, both active and inactive, in the events that led to her brother’s death.

My Thoughts

~ Thicker Than Water is told in alternating time periods and in this book it worked. Seeing all the events that led CeCe to where she is now, was pretty intriguing especially, because we don’t actually know how Cyrus died until we get towards the end of the book. It just added to the suspense and my interest.

~ I felt pretty bad for CeCe, she felt extremely guilty about Cyrus’ death and his drug use even though she didn’t have control over that.

~ There was some romance in the book, but not a lot. I thought that Tucker was a good love interest for CeCe, mainly because he was more like a friend, and was willing to listen to her problems even if she wasn’t ready to share them.

Overall

The message in this book is deep, Fiore does a great job portraying how drug addiction not only affects the user but the people around them. I really liked CeCe and I could understand why she felt the way she did. I really love this book and I finished it in a few days, I would definitely recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

TEN By Gretchen McNeil

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TEN By Gretchen McNeilTen by Gretchen McNeil
Published by Balzer + Bray on 9/17/13
Genres: Horror & Ghost Stories, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the BookGoodreads
ReviewedbyDani

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Short and Sweet

Ten is the story of ten teenagers who are invited to a secret house party on a secluded island over the course of a three-day weekend. Expecting to have a fun time at the party, best friends Meg and Minnie decide to go, despite Meg’s reservations. When the two arrive at the island and party house, things begin to go awry. After watching a video ending with a chilling message, “Vengeance is mine.”, the teenagers start getting picked off one by one by an unknown killer, and at this party, there’s no one you can trust.

What I Liked

~ Ten Teens on an island for three days and one killer that they have to avoid. Its so good and the suspense and having to try to avoid a killer on an island, there’s not a lot of places you can hide.

~There were some twist that I wasn’t expecting and let me tell you the killer is one smart cookie.

~Meg is a very likeable character. She’s always there for her friends, always wants to help out, and her instincts were on point. Especially when it comes to murders around her she didn’t do anything idiotic that would get her killed.

What I Didn’t Like

~This question is irrelevant when it comes to this book.

Overall

TEN is one of my favorite novels! If you want a novel with secrets and betrayals, shocking moments and terrifying conclusions, TEN is definitely the book you should buy and read!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

RELIC By Gretchen McNeil

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELIC By Gretchen McNeilRelic by Gretchen McNeil
Published by HarperCollins on 3/8/16
Genres: Horror & Ghost Stories, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the BookGoodreads
ReviewedbyDani

For Annie Kramer, the summer before college is bittersweet—both a last hurrah of freedom and the last days she'll spend with her boyfriend, Jack, before they head off to different colleges. So she and her friends plan one final adventure: a houseboating trip on Shasta Lake, complete with booze, romance . . . and an off-limits exploration of the notorious Bull Valley Mine.

The legends of mysterious lights and missing persons on Shasta Lake have been a staple of sleepovers and campouts since Annie was a kid. Full of decrepit bridges that lead to nowhere, railroad tunnels that disappear into the mountains, and terrifying stories of unexplained deaths and bodies that were never recovered, Bull Valley Mine is notorious and frightening—perfect for an epic conclusion to their high school lives.

The trip is fun and light—at first. But when a deranged stranger stumbles upon their campsite, spouting terrifying warnings and pleas for help, it's clear that everyone is in danger. And when their exploration of the mine goes horribly wrong, Annie and her friends quickly discover that the menace of Bull Valley Mine doesn't stay at Shasta Lake—it follows them home.

As one by one her friends fall victim to this mysterious and violent force, Annie must do whatever it takes to discover the ancient secrets of the mine and save her friends . . . if she's not already too late.

Short and Sweet

Annie and her friends are graduating and planning their summer of “no regrets” before leaving for college in the fall. They take a trip to the lake, where they venture into an old, deserted mine. In the mine Annie and her friends get separated. After leaving the lake and the mine Annie and her friends realize something has followed them out of the mine and is determined to kill each of them one by one.

What I liked

~ Annie, she was smart and determined to solve the mystery of what happened in the mine and what’s after them.

~ The teens were getting picked off one by one and trying to figure out who was next and if Annie would be able to save them had me on the edge.

~ It was fast paced, eerie, and also had some humor.

What I didn’t like

~Nothing!

Quotes

“I have no idea why you would bring a controlled substance for which I do not have a medical license onto government premises. I’m going to have to ask you to leave.”

~“Four tunnels,” Jack says decisively, “eight of us. We’ll split up and see where they lead.”
“Split up?” Sonya asks. “Do you think that’s a good idea?”

Overall

I love all of Gretchen McNeil’s books and this one was just as good as all of her others and its kind of like Ten. The ending was great and it really threw me because I wasn’t expecting it at all. If you like mysteries and horrors this is a great book to read and you can definitely try to find out yourselves what’s after Annie and her friends.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE By Brittany Cavallaro

A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE By Brittany CavallaroA Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
Series: Charlotte Holmes #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 3/1/16
Genres: Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.
There’s a mystery to be solved my friends! I really enjoyed reading this book I read it in one day. I love mysteries, and what’s better than a book with the greatest mystery solving duos great great grandkids? The book kid of started out slow for me especially the first chapter but chapter 2 is when it starts to pick up. Charlotte Holmes and James Watson are brought together when a fellow classmate is murdered and they’re being framed. The thing I really loved most about this mystery was the fact that the culprit was using Sherlock Holmes stories to commit the murders.
What I liked
~ Charlotte Holmes! She’s smart, strong, and her deduction skills are amazing! (If only I was a Holmes)
nice good job you rule sherlock memes
~ James Watson! I mean he’s the narrator, he’s pretty smart himself and of course very knowledgeable when it comes to recalling his great great grandfathers stories.
~ The mystery I was reading trying to figure out who was smart enough to pull this off!
~ The writing is also amazing!
What I didn’t like
James had a bit of a temper, I guess I understand some of the reasons why he got mad but others I just thought he could have been more understanding.
~ Charlotte had her secrets but it took a while to get them out of her. Just when I thought I knew her she tells us more.
Favorite Quote
~ “Access tunnels?” I said. “You really should explore more. We’ll remedy that. but not now.”
 
Overall
 I would recommend this book especially if you love mysteries. I’m ready for book 2 and too see what other mysteries this new duo solves! This book was great and had me wanting more!
yes bobs burgers yas realitytvs
SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatingsHalf

SHADE ME By Jennifer Brown

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
SHADE ME By Jennifer BrownShade Me by Jennifer Brown
Series: Nikki Kill #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 1/19/16
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Nikki Kill has always been an outsider. Born with rare synesthesia, she sees the world differently. In Nikki’s eyes, happiness is pink, sadness is a mixture of brown and green, and lies are gray.

To Nikki, Peyton Hollis, the ultrarich it-girl at school, was seemingly untouchable. That is, until Peyton is violently attacked and the only phone number the hospital finds in Peyton’s cell is Nikki’s. Suddenly Nikki is pulled into Peyton’s glittering, fast-paced world as she tries to unravel an unfolding conspiracy.

As Nikki gets closer to the dark truth—and to Peyton’s gorgeous older brother—the only thing she can be sure of is death is a deep, pulsing crimson.

Shade Me is a captivating mystery. The suspense starts from the very first page and only increases until you reach the dramatic ending. There are fights, clues, scary scenes, a whole host of suspicious characters and a fierce, independent main character who can hold her own.

I really enjoyed this mystery novel. It read like a crime show, but it had more depth and twists. Nikki Kill is dragged into a criminal investigation when she receives a mysterious phone call, which is followed by a call from the hospital asking her to come and identify a girl who has been severely beaten. It seems that Nikki is the only one who can start untangling the complicated web of deceit surrounding Peyton Hollis. But why and how is Nikki involved in all of this?

Nikki is one strong character. Brash, harsh, independent, and more. She keeps to herself, is almost failing her final year of high school, and has no idea why Peyton, daughter of a famous movie executive and queen of the school, would call her just before being left for dead. Nikki has synesthesia. She sees colors for numbers, words or letters. It makes school nearly impossible and it never helped her solve her own mother’s murder. But her ability to see more than is there, make connections others might miss is surprisingly helpful when she tries to piece together what happened to Peyton.

Nikki is a mixed-marshal arts fighter and knows how to take care of herself, so she has no trouble getting mixed up in dangerous situations. The tension runs high through most of the book, particularly picking up towards the end. And while Nikki is no dumb girl, she manages to find herself in some alarming situations. I couldn’t help but think that she should ask detective Martinez for help, tell someone what she knows or not go to meet the person who could be the culprit all by herself. But Nikki’s independence and lack of trust only works to build the suspense, and surprisingly I didn’t get annoyed with Nikki. Despite her rough edges she is a likeable character. As for romance, I would say there is less of that and more of lust. Again, this too works to develop the storyline rather than becoming one of its own and holds true to Nikki’s character.

I love that this is going to be a series. While the storyline, the mystery is solved by the end of this book. There’s not a cliffhanger but there is plenty of room for more adventures, more to follow up with this story and more uses for Nikki’s intriguing skills at piecing clues together.

I would highly recommend this book! This is now one of my favorite books. Shade Me was captivating, original, and exciting!

SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings  SmileRatings SmileRatingsHalf

THE CONSPIRACY OF US by Maggie Hall

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CONSPIRACY OF US by Maggie HallThe Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Series: The Conspiracy of Us #2
Published by G. Putnam's & Sons on 01/13/15
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Sixteen-year-old Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada at the Champs-Elysees when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. They are part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle of Twelve, and Avery is their missing heir. If they discover who she is, some of them will want to use her as a pawn. Some will want her dead.
To thwart their plans, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul and through a web of ancient legends and lies. And unless she can stay one step ahead of beautiful, volatile Stellan, who knows she’s more than she seems, and can decide whether to trust mysterious, magnetic Jack, she may be doomed after all.

Avery West is sixteen and lives on a constant moving schedule. Every few months her and her mom pack up the house and hit the road to a new location. Avery’s mom’s job makes them move a lot and Avery has come to except that she will never be able to “settle down” and make friends or memories in the places she stays. They move so often they’ve stopped unpacking everything.

Jack is the new kid. Avery thinks he is mysterious and cute, like most of the girls at her school, but knows from past experience that she can’t have feelings for anyone because eventually she’ll be on the move again. Stellan a complete stranger shows up one day and “fights” over Avery. With her in the middle of two boys she is unbelievably confused. She learns of a family she has never known and a secret society that seems only conspiracy theorists would believe. A day after her meet and greet with stranger Stellan, Avery is off on a wild chase with a single piece of paper and hopefully the right destination to continue on a treasure hunt she finds impossible.

This book was fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat. It involved a secret world order that was trying to uncover Alexander the Great and the secrets he took to his tomb. And there’s an ancient society trying to keep Alexander’s secrets. Clues with a kind of scavenger hunt. Bad guys with guns and knives. I definitely enjoyed this book and can’t wait until the sequel is released.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE THIRD TWIN by C. J. Omololu

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE THIRD TWIN by C. J. OmololuThe Third Twin by C. J. Omololu
Published by Delacorte Press on 02/24/15
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

In the YA thriller The Third Twin, identical twins Lexi and Ava invent a fictional triplet they call Alicia. Unlike Lexi's relentless pursuit of academic perfection and her sister's pursuit of a good time, 'Alicia' is beautiful, smart, confident and the girl everyone wants to date. The twin's ruse is perfect until one night when the boy 'Alicia' is dating is found brutally murdered—and all evidence points to her. As Lexi frantically tries to unravel the mystery surrounding his death, the bodies of 'Alicia's' boyfriends start to multiply and it becomes a race to outwit the police as well as find the identity of the true killer before it's too late. After witnessing the aftermath of yet another murder, Lexi can no longer deny that all signs point to her sister's guilt. Enlisting the help of her old friend Zane, Lexi formulates a plan to catch the killer and clear her name, but planning gives way to disbelief as she discovers that in so many cases, people aren't always who they seem.

The Third Twin is a murder mystery and a high-intensity thriller about identical twin sisters, Alexa and Ava, who play with fire by pretending to have a third sister, Alicia.  Alicia is fun, beautiful, fashionable and extremely popular with boys. She goes on dates, gets invited to all the hot parties and is simply the coolest sister out of the three. The only problem is, Alicia doesn’t really exist. She’s made up. It’s always Ava and Alexa pretending to be Alicia, taking turns going on dates and fooling around with boys. When Alicia’s boyfriends start dropping dead and the cops come knocking on the door, looking for the third sister who doesn’t exist, the girls find themselves in a whole lot of trouble. Someone’s out to get them, will they find out who before it’s too late?-=

This is a plot-driven story. The characters are interesting enough to keep the readers engaged and captivated, but they’re not particularly memorable. I did, however, want to find out what in the world was going on. The mystery aspect of the story was supreme and executed nicely. I couldn’t tell who the evil culprit was. I had tons of theories and I suspected everyone. Well, almost everyone, because I was honestly surprised to find out who was behind the murders. The ending was very twisty and gasp-worthy. I was so sure I had it all figured out, but was taken aback by the final reveal. Omololu did a great job keeping the suspense going and she really managed to surprise me at the end. This book was extremely entertaining: fun, fast-paced and easy to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries/thrillers.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings