MADE FOR YOU By Melissa Marr

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MADE FOR YOU By Melissa MarrMade for You by Melissa Marr
Published by HarperCollins on 1/5/16
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep their friends—and each other—from falling into the hands of a killer.

Short and Sweet

Made For You is about Eva who survived an attempt at her life, and the killer who was responsible for it and is still after her. After the attempt at her life, Eva and her friends find themselves in danger. Eva tries to find the killer before he attacks again.

My Thoughts

~ Made for You is told in a dual narrative, one POV is Eva and the other is of the actual killer.

~ I liked reading from the killer’s chapters, we get to see what’s going on in their head, but we don’t know their identity.

~ There is a paranormal aspect because Eva can now see how people die.

~ Eva was realistic and lovable, she wanted to know what was happening and she cares enough  about her friends to she help them even if it put her in danger.

~ I  liked Nate he was sweet and genuinely cared for Eva. I loved that this two childhood friends reunited.

~ I couldn’t put it down it was a thriller that was believable.

~ The mystery was well done and I didn’t have a clue about who the killer was until I got closer to the end.

Overall

The story line was realistic and things play out in a realistic way. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! I enjoyed it and would recommend it if you like mysteries, thrillers, that have a paranormal aspect.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

RELIC By Gretchen McNeil

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELIC By Gretchen McNeilRelic by Gretchen McNeil
Published by HarperCollins on 3/8/16
Genres: Horror & Ghost Stories, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the BookGoodreads
ReviewedbyDani

For Annie Kramer, the summer before college is bittersweet—both a last hurrah of freedom and the last days she'll spend with her boyfriend, Jack, before they head off to different colleges. So she and her friends plan one final adventure: a houseboating trip on Shasta Lake, complete with booze, romance . . . and an off-limits exploration of the notorious Bull Valley Mine.

The legends of mysterious lights and missing persons on Shasta Lake have been a staple of sleepovers and campouts since Annie was a kid. Full of decrepit bridges that lead to nowhere, railroad tunnels that disappear into the mountains, and terrifying stories of unexplained deaths and bodies that were never recovered, Bull Valley Mine is notorious and frightening—perfect for an epic conclusion to their high school lives.

The trip is fun and light—at first. But when a deranged stranger stumbles upon their campsite, spouting terrifying warnings and pleas for help, it's clear that everyone is in danger. And when their exploration of the mine goes horribly wrong, Annie and her friends quickly discover that the menace of Bull Valley Mine doesn't stay at Shasta Lake—it follows them home.

As one by one her friends fall victim to this mysterious and violent force, Annie must do whatever it takes to discover the ancient secrets of the mine and save her friends . . . if she's not already too late.

Short and Sweet

Annie and her friends are graduating and planning their summer of “no regrets” before leaving for college in the fall. They take a trip to the lake, where they venture into an old, deserted mine. In the mine Annie and her friends get separated. After leaving the lake and the mine Annie and her friends realize something has followed them out of the mine and is determined to kill each of them one by one.

What I liked

~ Annie, she was smart and determined to solve the mystery of what happened in the mine and what’s after them.

~ The teens were getting picked off one by one and trying to figure out who was next and if Annie would be able to save them had me on the edge.

~ It was fast paced, eerie, and also had some humor.

What I didn’t like

~Nothing!

Quotes

“I have no idea why you would bring a controlled substance for which I do not have a medical license onto government premises. I’m going to have to ask you to leave.”

~“Four tunnels,” Jack says decisively, “eight of us. We’ll split up and see where they lead.”
“Split up?” Sonya asks. “Do you think that’s a good idea?”

Overall

I love all of Gretchen McNeil’s books and this one was just as good as all of her others and its kind of like Ten. The ending was great and it really threw me because I wasn’t expecting it at all. If you like mysteries and horrors this is a great book to read and you can definitely try to find out yourselves what’s after Annie and her friends.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren OliverBefore I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Published by HarperCollins Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

This is my first Lauren Oliver book and I loved it. Popular high school senior Sam Kingston dies in an accident on February 12th “Cupid Day”, but Sam relives her last day seven times. This book was amazing with each day you learn more about Sam and you get to see what changes she’ll make on each of the days, and with each day you get closer to unlocking the mystery of how she died that night. When I read Sam’s first day I thought the way she died was simple but with each day you learn something else and it just gets more complex. Sam was the mean girl while she was alive and while she relives her last day she tries to makeup for what she has done. I really enjoyed seeing how one of Sam’s actions can change the outcome. I would recommend this book, and I plan on checking out Lauren Oliver’s other books.

UNINVITED by Sophie Jordan

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

UNINVITED by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Published by HarperCollins on 2014-01-28
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Buy the BookGoodreads
Reviewed by Miranda

From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other

 

I had the honor of receiving an ARC of Ms. Jordan’s upcoming novel UNINVITED at Authors After Dark. I have been so busy I didn’t have the chance to read it until Christmas Eve. I finished it within 24 hours because WOW it is so fantastic! Sophie Jordan has an award winning book on her hands. UNINVITED hits shelves in January and you do not want to miss out! UNINVITED’S tagline is “They Say She’s A Killer, One Day She Will Be.” This is one great tagline. It creates the perfect amount of intrigue. While reading UNINVITED you will ask yourself a bunch of questions about how we define ourselves and how far we will go to survive?! UNINVITED is beautifully written by Ms. Jordan’s brilliant pen. UNINVITED is by far the best young adult novel I have read this year. It gave me exciting chills the likes of which I haven’t had since I read, The Hunger Games.

UNINVITED gives the reader a feast filled with heady topics, chilling suspense and a one-of-a-kind romance. I fully expect the characters, Davina “Davy” Hamilton and Sean O’Rourke to become the next “YA It Couple!” One of the many things that make this a wonderful novel is the fact that there is no angst-ridden love triangle like most YA novels. Davy Hamilton is one smart and savvy teenager. Unfortunately, her world gets turned upside down in an instant and she is forced to learn a new way of living. Sean O’Rourke is a no-nonsense type of guy who has worked for everything he has. Sparks fly when these two are on the page together. I absolutely love them! I’m actually thinking about reading it again because it went by too fast! UNINVITED took my breath away with its invigorating five-star romance! Sophie Jordan rocked my world with UNINVITED! I cannot wait to find out what happens next!!

 

Xoxo,

Miranda