THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi LeeThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 6/27/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Short and Sweet

Monty and his best friend Percy are going on a grand tour of Europe, and they plan on having the time of their lives. Even with his younger sister, Felicity coming along, Monty won’t let it ruin his fun. But things get crazy when the group encounters an ancient artifact, highwaymen, and pirates.

Characters

Henry “Monty” Montague: Our main character who grew a lot over the course of the book. Monty has the most engaging voice, he’s entertaining and sassy. He got the group into the mess they were in by trying to get even with someone. Monty had the problem of saying things without thinking and often came to regret it, but his friends called him out on it. He was a flawed character but that’s whats great about him because over the course of the book he learned from his mistakes.

Percy: Monty’s best friend and our voice of reason. Percy is also a person a color which I found interesting, because of course during the time that this book takes place it makes travel for the grand tour a bit harder because certain places won’t allow him to stay. Percy also struggles in this book because throughout the course of his friendship with Monty he has always supported him and now Percy has his own demons to fight and wonders if Monty can support him.

Felicity: Monty’s younger sister and the brains of the group. Felicity’s strength and knowledge saved the group from dangerous situations. I was rooting for her throughout the book she had goals and I felt bad that during that time girls her age didn’t have many choices.

Romance

Monty has liked Percy for a while, and thinks the grand tour will be the perfect time to express how he feels. But things don’t work well mainly because Percy seems more annoyed with Monty than smitten. It seemed like Monty always said or did the wrong thing that ended up pushing Percy away.

My Thoughts

~ This isn’t an ordinary grand tour of Europe, like it was expected to be. Mayhem begins when the group reaches their first stop in Paris. This leads them to places that are off of their original course.

~ In Paris, Monty steals an artifact that leads to the group being attacked by highwaymen, hiding in a small town, going to Barcelona, meeting pirates, and trying to find something on an island that is sinking.

~ My favorite part of the book was the whole mystery surrounding the artifact and what it does. The artifact was the whole reason the group had to go off course so I was eager to find out what it could do.

~ What I loved the most about this book was how fast paced it was. From the very beginning we embark on a journey with these characters.

~ In each city we meet different characters and all of them add to the story in their own way. My favorite characters were the pirates I loved learning more about them and their ultimate goal.

~ I felt like I was with the trio of characters and I was worried about their well-being, they were in some dangerous positions and on the run from some people who wanted them dead.

Overall

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must read! Everything about it is amazing, the characters, the action and adventure, the diversity, and of course the romance. The ending was great and everything was wrapped up nicely. Monty, Percy, and Felicity are a set of characters I won’t forget. This is hands down one of my favorite reads of 2017, and I encourage everyone to pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

UNRIVALED By Alyson Noel

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

UNRIVALED By Alyson NoelUnrivaled by Alyson Noel
Series: Beautiful Idols #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 5/10/16
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Everyone wants to be someone. Layla Harrison wants to be a reporter. Aster Amirpour wants to be an actress. Tommy Phillips wants to be a guitar hero.

But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her own a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and lured into a competition where Madison Brooks is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing. . . . And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.

Short and Sweet

We follow Aster, Layla, and Tommy as they work as promoters for Hollywood’s hottest night clubs. Only one will win the competition, each of them thinks this will help kick start their careers.

Characters

Layla: A wannabe reporter trying to make it to a journalism school in New York, she also had a blog where she wrote about celebrities.

Aster: Aster wants to be an actress and this not follow her parents dreams of her either being a doctor or a lawyer. Aster thinks this competition will bring her stardom.

Tommy: A boy from a small town in Oklahoma who moved to LA to start his music career.

Madison: Hollywood’s “It girl” who has a mysterious past.

Ira Redman: Owner of the clubs.

Romance

Okay so first I’ll start with actual relationships and then move to hookups.

Layla and Mateo: They were in a relationship before the Layla joined the competition, but their relationship becomes strained the more Layla focuses on the competition and not Mateo.

Madison and Ryan: So both of these characters are celebrities. This relationship was set up by their agents hoping to get both of them some more publicity. You can tell from the beginning that this relationship isn’t working, they’re both basically using each other, not the kind of relationship where you would look at them and say, “aw they’re so in love!”

Aster and Ryan: I don’t even know where to start with this. This was one of those things where the girl knows that the guy has a boyfriend but the guy was like no no I don’t really like the person i’m in a relationship with. So basically these two hooked up and it was front page news.

Layla and Tommy: These two just shared a drunken kiss on the dance floor.

Quotes

~ “I came here to win, same as you. And that’s exactly what I intend to do.”

My Thoughts

~ There are four POVs and I feel like once you read through all of them in the first couple of chapters, it’s not hard to keep up with which one you’re reading. There wasn’t a particular person I liked reading more than the other mainly because each of them was exciting and held my interest. each character had something going on in their lives outside of the competition.

~ The competition was changing everyone’s life and we get to see how far they’ll really go just to win. You can even see some of the characters losing themselves and even though they knew right from wrong they were in it to win it.

~ Each character was unique and different in their own ways they each came from a different walk of life. I feel that Aster and Layla went through more character development than Tommy did.

~ So the mystery aspect of the book didn’t take part until the 65% point. And this isn’t a spoiler but I feel like there is still so much that was unanswered and I hope most of those questions are answered in the next book, Blacklist.

~ Madison was an interesting character, she’s mysterious and I want to know more about her. I’m sure everyone in the book wants to know more about her. Madison’s past is a mystery in and of itself and what she’s hiding must be big.

~ I thought the competition aspect was okay. There were three nightclubs and each main character worked in one and they had teams. At the end of the week someone would go home.

Overall

This was a really solid book I loved it and it was exactly what I needed to get me out of my slump. It’s fast paced and full of secrets, lies, blackmailing, and mystery. This book held my attention from the very beginning to the end. Definitely recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

#FAMOUS By Jilly Gagnon

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

#FAMOUS By Jilly Gagnon#famous by Jilly Gagnon
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2/14/17
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

In this modern day love story: Girl likes boy. Girl snaps photo and posts it online. Boy becomes insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent photo turns into a whirlwind adventure that forces them both to question whether fame—and love—are worth the price…and changes both of their lives forever.

Short and Sweet Review

One faithful day at the mall Rachel takes a picture of Kyle and she post the picture on Flit a social media website and it ends up going viral. Kyle becomes a sensation and people want to meet him and take pictures and he even ends up on a talk show. Rachel on the other hand got a lot of backlash people were vicious. I enjoyed the storyline, it was cute and light. We have to see how these two navigate whats happening to them, Rachel with dealing with mean comments and Kyle with the stardom. We also get to see Kyle and Rachel be put together because of the talk show that Kyle goes on. I think they were both okay characters we don’t see much growth from them but we see how they deal with their struggles, Rachel with trying to accept herself while others are putting her down and Kyle with not losing himself and his current reality with everything that is happening. The ending was great and things were wrapped up nicely. This book was cute, light, and a fast read it would be a good read for the summer, just two teens dealing with stardom.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

DARE YOU By Jennifer Brown

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
DARE YOU By Jennifer BrownDare You by Jennifer Brown
Series: Nikki Kill #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2/14/17
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis—and only her synesthesia can help her unravel the dark truth.

Nikki Kill didn't realize that trying to find out who killed Peyton Hollis would tangle her in a web of dangerous family secrets that would rock her identity to the core. But now that Nikki knows the truth, the all-powerful Hollises want to frame her for Peyton's murder.

And now Nikki's only chance at escaping the cold black bars of prison or the crimson grip of death is teaming up with the enigmatic Detective Martinez and relying on an ever-shifting kaleidoscope of clues...

Short and Sweet

After what happened in Shade Me, Nikki learns that the Hollis family is trying to frame her for Peyton’s murder. Now Nikki has to team up with detective Martinez to try to clear her name.

Characters

Nikki: Our main character who uses her synesthesia to try to find clues to help clear her name. Nikki has changed a little since we’ve seen her in Shade Me, she’s a little more paranoid as she should be since what she went through.

Detective Martinez: The detective from Shade Me who is now trying to help Nikki find clues about who is framing her for Peyton’s Murder.

Romance

I felt a connection between Nikki and Martinez but Martinez was dating someone and I just want that relationship to happen but time will tell.

My Thoughts

~Dare You picks up right where Shade Me left off. Nikki is graduating and trying to move on from what happened with the Hollis family but it’s hard when strange things start happening and Nikki learns that the Hollis family is trying to blame her for Peyton’s murder.

~ I love seeing Nikki and Detective Martinez team up again their dynamic is so amazing especially because there’s a connection there.

~ I don’t think there’s any books like this one. How many YA characters do you know with synesthesia? It’s such an interesting condition to learn more about and I like seeing how Nikki sees the world differently because of it.

~ There’s so much that goes on in this book, trying get the evidence to actually prove that Nikki is innocent, we learn more about Nikki’s mom, and we meet some new characters good and bad.

~ At some points I was worried about Nikki I mean people were coming for her and Luna Fairchild is crazy. I mean I was worried about Luna Fairchild coming for me.

Overall

This is one of my FAVORITE series hands down! I love mysteries and if you do too pick up this book! This series needs to be read in order for the plot and everything to make sense. The ending isn’t much of a cliffhanger but there are still answers we need questions to. I need book three!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

THE LAST OF AUGUST By Brittany Cavallaro

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE LAST OF AUGUST By Brittany CavallaroThe Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro
Series: Charlotte Holmes #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2/14/17
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Jamie and Charlotte are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved Uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers.

So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

Short and Sweet

In this sequel to A Study in Charlotte we’re in England with Watson and Holmes for winter break! But just because they’ve left the States doesn’t mean they’ve left the mysteries behind. This mystery hits close to home as Holmes’ uncle Leander goes missing and her mother is poisoned, and there’s art forgeries involved.

Characters

Jaime Watson: One of our main characters. Jaime is a descendant of James Watson in case his name didn’t tip you off. James is our narrarator during the first 3/4’s of the book. He had a more prominent role in this book I think, he tried to solve it on his own and he put some clues together.

Charlotte Holmes: Our other main character and descendant of Sherlock Holmes. She definitely has qualities that Sherlock has. She’s a very interesting character in that she has great deductive skills but isn’t great at sharing her feelings with others so you kind of have to guess what she’s up to.

August Moriarty: In this book we get to meet Holmes’ old tutor. He was a decent character he was mainly there to help them solve their case. But he’s still a moriarty so can we really trust him?

Romance

Charlotte Holmes and Jaime Watson have the most… I don’t even know how to describe their relationship. I mean they work well as partners and there’s feelings there but its complicated to describe. Their whole relationship is the definition of Facebook’s its complicated status.

My Thoughts

~ I thought the beginning was a little slow, I think it’s because we had to meet a few more characters and learn about their backstory but after that the story took off.

~ We see more traveling in this book which I loved.

~ Jaime took off on his own and tried to follow leads which was really interesting to see what he would do without Charlotte.

~ Charlotte is still the same Charlotte we met in the first book, you just learn to love her even though she’s closed off.

~ This was an interesting mystery, because Leander was trying to solve one so when he went missing Holmes and Watson and to figure out what he was trying to solve and solve the mystery of his disappearance.

~ My favorite part of this book was meeting Elmira Davenport she’s quite the character.

~ The ending killed me I don’t even know what to think it happened so fast. I need the next book to see what happens next!

Overall

If you haven’t read A Study in Charlotte you should, and then pick up this book! I love the dynamic between Holmes and Watson and seeing them solve mysteries together is great! We meet new characters we travel and we’re solving mysteries whats not to love? Pick up this book I recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

SILVER STARS By Michael Grant

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SILVER STARS By Michael GrantSilver Stars by Michael Grant
Series: Soldier Girl #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 1/31/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The summer of 1943, World War II. With heavy memories of combat, Frangie, Rainy, Rio and the rest of the American army are moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily.

The women won’t conquer Italy alone. They are not heroes for fighting alongside their brothers—they are soldiers. But Frangie, Rainy, Rio, and the millions of brave females fighting for their country have become a symbol in the fight for equality. They will brave terrible conditions in an endless siege; they will fight to find themselves on the front lines of WWII; and they will come face-to-face with the brutality of war until they win or die.

Short and Sweet

Frangie, Rainy, and Rio are back, this statement just makes me happy. These soldiers are on to their next target, Italy, and back to the front lines to sacrifice their lives for their country.

Characters

Rainy: Is given a mission that will in the end help the US Army, which she’s all for because she follows orders, but while she’s on the mission she begins to question if she should have taken the mission in the first place.

Rio: Is on the front lines in battle and has a more prominent role in this book because she’s looked at by everyone on camp as someone who was meant to be a soldier.

Frangie: Is still a medic just trying to do her job trying to save the lives of injured G.I’s if she can and just going where she’s needed.

Romance

There’s not really that much romance in this book. Rio still has her hometown sweetheart, Strand that she talks to via letters, and they do get to meet up at one point in the book. I thought Rainy would have a romantic interest in this book, but boy was I wrong, I was really wrong. I don’t want to spoil anything… While writing this I realized that Rainy was talking to another boy and now I’m questioning myself and if they could have a romantic relationship. Halev are you the one for Rainy? Because C definitely wasn’t.

My Thoughts

~ I loved this book just as much as the first one (Front Lines).

~ Rio, had a lot more page time than the other girls which I didn’t really mind because she had more action going on in her story line.

~ Okay so Rainy has a mission that she goes on in this book which we follow her through the motions. Her story line was interesting but it gets better towards the end of the book. Rainy is intelligent and her knowledge of multiple languages is impressive. By the way after finishing the book I did some research on what Rainy would have went through and its awful.

~ Frangie, I love her so much. She’s caring and she picked a job that suits her strengths. I would say that Frangie’s story line is kind of like Rainy’s it’s interesting but gets better towards the end. I’m glad she got to meet up with a loved one to brighten her mood.

~ I will say that the war has changed these three girls. You can tell it changed Rio in the first book and you get more of that change in this book, shes a little more excited to kill than she was before she killed her first Kraut. I didn’t feel like there was much change with Frangie but she does learn a few things about her family that surprises her. Rainy didn’t have a change until the end of this book which was understandable especially with what she had to endure.

~ Rio is really the only one in this series who has a best friend with her in the war, Jenou. I like that she has a friend with her but I was upset by the strain that their friendship was going through.

~ My favorite thing about these books is when the girls meet and have interactions. It happened in Front Lines and it happened in this book too. I love how they remember each other and are friendly.

~ Michael Grant does a GREAT job writing this series. He definitely does his research and makes this series so true to the time it’s placed in. When reading this book it feels like you’re transported to the front lines with these girls and seeing what they see and feeling how they feel.

Overall

I love love love this series its one of my favorites! I want the third book now, just to see the next mission these girls will have to tackle. If you haven’t read Front Lines you should, and then pick up Silver Stars, because these books do not disappoint! I would recommend this series in a heartbeat, so if you like action and historical fiction with details that make you feel like you’re there then this series is for you!!!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE By Stacey Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE By Stacey LeeThe Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 12/27/16
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

Short and Sweet

Mimosa is an aromateur, who makes love elixirs and does matchmaking with her mother at their family business. When Mim accidentally gives a love elixir to the wrong person, she has to hurry and try to fix her mistake by making a new elixir that will cancel out the effects of the first.

My Thoughts

~ Mim was what made the story for me. I loved her character. She was real, made mistakes and was determined to fix them. What I loved about her the most was how much she cared about her family and friends they were always on her mind when she did things.

~ So what is an aromateur you ask? It’s a type of witch and aromateurs have a nose like no one else. They can smell what people are feeling and the various types of plants around them and in other parts of the world. I liked the aspect of aromateurs it made this book unique and different I don’t think that there are other books with aromateurs.

~ The plot was great. I loved seeing Mim try to save the day and fix what she got wrong. It was also interesting to see her and her romantic interest because “Love witches can’t love.”

~ I liked Court he was sweet and he was willing to help Mim even though this was all new to him. He definitely loved his family and was looking out for their best interest.

~ Kali, aunt Bryony, and Mim’s mom were my favorite, they all loved Mim and were supportive and tried to help her.

~ Learning about aromateur history was interesting especially about the “curse” and the reason aromateurs can’t fall in love.

~ I don’t want to spoil anything, but I was freaking out with Mim when something happened.

~ The romance was the best, the chemistry between Court and Mim was sweet.

South Park eric cartman omg oh my god so cute

Overall

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a cute book with a little magic. I liked how things were tied up in the end, this is the first book I’ve read by Stacey Lee and I plan on reading her other books!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

EVEN IF THE SKY FALLS By Mia Garcia

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

EVEN IF THE SKY FALLS By Mia GarciaEven if the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 5/10/16
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Volunteering in New Orleans was supposed to be a change, an escape from the total mess Julie left at home and from her brother’s losing battle with PTSD. But building houses surrounded by her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions has Julie feeling more trapped than ever. And she’s had enough.

In a moment of daring, Julie runs away, straight into the glitter, costumes, and chaos of the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras parade—and instantly connects with Miles, an utterly irresistible musician with a captivating smile and a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. Together Julie and Miles decide to forget their problems and live this one night in the here and now. Wandering the night, they dance on roofs, indulge in beignets, share secrets and ghost stories under the stars, and fall in love. But when a Category Two hurricane changes course and heads straight for NOLA, their adventure takes an unexpected turn. And, suddenly, pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.

Short and Sweet

Needing a change, Julie goes to New Orleans with her youth group to rebuild homes. After feeling trapped by her clingy group leader, Julie leaves the group for the day and heads to the center of New Orleans during Mardi Gras. While there Julie meets Miles, the two connect and they go on an adventure to see New Orleans. Things get dangerous when a hurricane switches course and is now headed straight for them.

My Thoughts

~ First off, I loved the setting! New Orleans is my favorite city to visit. This was the main reason I picked up the book to be reminded of my favorite city and this book did not disappoint.

~ Julie leaving home was a bit of a mystery, but the book had flashbacks which allowed us to see Julie’s life at home and how everything unraveled.

~ I liked the moments between Julie and Miles. They both just needed a night to live and forget their troubles.

~ Julie was a character I felt I could connect with but some of her decisions weren’t the best.

Overall

Even if the Sky Falls, was a cute contemporary read that did deal with some PTSD, family, and adventure themes. The plot was fast paced and fun, and it definitely reminded me of New Orleans, so yall should check it out!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE By Brittany Cavallaro

A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE By Brittany CavallaroA Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
Series: Charlotte Holmes #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 3/1/16
Genres: Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.
There’s a mystery to be solved my friends! I really enjoyed reading this book I read it in one day. I love mysteries, and what’s better than a book with the greatest mystery solving duos great great grandkids? The book kid of started out slow for me especially the first chapter but chapter 2 is when it starts to pick up. Charlotte Holmes and James Watson are brought together when a fellow classmate is murdered and they’re being framed. The thing I really loved most about this mystery was the fact that the culprit was using Sherlock Holmes stories to commit the murders.
What I liked
~ Charlotte Holmes! She’s smart, strong, and her deduction skills are amazing! (If only I was a Holmes)
nice good job you rule sherlock memes
~ James Watson! I mean he’s the narrator, he’s pretty smart himself and of course very knowledgeable when it comes to recalling his great great grandfathers stories.
~ The mystery I was reading trying to figure out who was smart enough to pull this off!
~ The writing is also amazing!
What I didn’t like
James had a bit of a temper, I guess I understand some of the reasons why he got mad but others I just thought he could have been more understanding.
~ Charlotte had her secrets but it took a while to get them out of her. Just when I thought I knew her she tells us more.
Favorite Quote
~ “Access tunnels?” I said. “You really should explore more. We’ll remedy that. but not now.”
 
Overall
 I would recommend this book especially if you love mysteries. I’m ready for book 2 and too see what other mysteries this new duo solves! This book was great and had me wanting more!
yes bobs burgers yas realitytvs
SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatingsHalf

FRONT LINES By Michael Grant

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

FRONT LINES By Michael GrantFront Lines by Michael Grant
Series: Soldier Girl #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 1/26/16
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Michael Grant’s first Soldier Girl novel Front Lines is a war story that packs a lot of punch, combining historical fact with an alternate version of history in which a court decision makes American women subject to the draft and eligible to fight on the front lines. Not only has Grant imagined army life and conditions from the POV of three different female soldiers, but he also factors in race and the effect this would have had in the early 1940s. Rio Richlin is a white female from small town California, Frangie Marr is an African-American from Oklahoma, and Rainy Schulterman is a Jewish girl from New York City. It’s actually rare that someone remembers that the story of gender injustice and sexism is not the same across all women. The characters themselves are sympathetic, realistic and flawed. Each has a distinct personality, her own ambition, and her own reason for being there. As with male soldiers, some of these female soldiers were eager to fight and prove themselves, others were desperate for an army paycheck. Grant also pays attention to his secondary characters, creating people who bring humor, distaste and flirtations to the mix. The alternate history is fascinating enough, but it’s the characters that truly suck the reader in. They are so real. They are so perfectly written, so true to the past, while also feeling relevant. The pacing of the book was wonderful, and I was hooked from the very beginning. There’s lots of action with a side of romance and plenty of character growth. I also really liked the authenticity of the history and the nostalgic feel of the time period. Grant tells the story in three alternating points of view, and they really contribute and round out the story. The story is ultimately told from one person writing out the events and ruminating and guessing in areas; it lends a bit of mystery to the story. I really want to know who’s actually telling the story. This book does eventually focus on war and the front lines, and I think this has to be my favorite part of the novel. In this second half of the novel we really see the main characters change their perspectives on life and humanity. It’s utterly fascinating and so well written. It’s a bit sad but completely absorbing at the same time. Front Lines has left me wanting more and now I’m counting down the days until book two comes out!

Captivating and Epic Front Lines Gets six Wonderland Hearts!

SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings