RUN AWAY WITH ME By Mila Gray

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RUN AWAY WITH ME By Mila GrayRun Away With Me by Mila Gray
Series: Come Back to Me #3
Published by Simon Pulse on 11/28/17
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emerson Lowe and popular ice-hockey player Jake McCallister have been best friends since third grade but as their friendship starts to morph into something more a terrible event occurs that heralds the end of innocence for both of them.

Within a week, Jake’s living on the other side of the country and Emerson is left alone to pick up the pieces of her life in a small town determined to paint her as a liar.

Seven years later, Emerson is still living on the beautiful Pacific West island of Bainbridge, helping run her family’s business. The last thing she needs is Jake turning up, bringing with him old memories and opening up old wounds. But Jake—even better looking than Emerson remembers—seems determined to revive their friendship no matter how much Emerson tries to push him away.

Forced to work alongside him for the summer Emerson can’t help but fall for Jake, and soon they’re in the midst of a passionate romance that neither of them wants to end.

But both Emerson and Jake know that if they’re to have any kind of future they must first confront the past—a past that most people want to stay buried.

Short and Sweet

Emerson and Jake used to be best friends until he ends up moving away suddenly. After not seeing each other for seven years Jake is back and wants to try to be friends again and Em just wants to push him away because she knows that if she lets him in she’ll have to relive old memories that she’s been trying to move on from since he left.

Characters

Emerson: Em is such a strong main character I loved her. I liked that she continued to be strong even when she didn’t want to. She has her guard up which is understandable especially after what happened to her which I’ll get more into later.

Jake: I loved Jake too. All he wanted to do was come back to Bainbridge and see Em and try to make things right. He was sweet and he tried his hardest to get close to her without overstepping her boundaries.

Romance

So Jake and Em do have a history they shared their first kiss together when they were 13 and 14. Now fast forwarding to the present Em has her walls up especially when she sees that Jake has returned to the island. When Jake tries to rekindle their friendship he’s met with an Em who just wants to push him away. But Jake didn’t stop and I’m so happy he didn’t because when they finally got together everything felt right. They were meant to be together, they were best friends and they know so much about each other which made it even better. Even though they have a relationship they still have to work on talking about what happened in the past which is still a little difficult. But I’m glad they ended up together they just mesh together so well and they truly love each other.

My Thoughts

~ So when Em was in high school she was sexually assaulted by her ice hockey coach which also happens to be Jake’s uncle. That was the day when Em’s life shattered. No one believed her except her parents and she was ridiculed in school by her peers and called a liar.

~ We also get to see into Em’s personal life which doesn’t seem much better she works at her family business which isn’t doing the best and in the past year her father was diagnosed with MS. Em has to manage all these things in her life and it isn’t easy for her.

~ When Jake finally comes back after seven years Em just wants to know what he’s doing back but she doesn’t want to be his friend again.

~ Jake returning was interesting, we learn about why he left and we get to learn why he returned later in the book. Jake coming back changed things on the island mainly because he’s kind of famous. He still plays hockey and is the #1 draft pick so he’s well known. When he comes back he decides to take a job at Em’s family business to try to get close to her but it also helps pick up business too.

~ I liked Toby’s character. He’s one of Em’s friends and also works at the family business. He has good intentions and he helps Em out a lot.

~ Shay is also one of Em’s friends we don’t see much of her because she’s in another state during most of the book but she’s always supportive of Em and trying to give her the best advice she can.

~ We also get to see some of the towns people like the Walsh brothers who have history with Em and Jake they’re not the best people but they do play a big part in the book towards the end.

Overall

I loved this book! I usually don’t read a lot of new adult but this is now one of my favorites! The progression of the relationship between Jake and Em was perfect. I also liked how Gray touched on the subject of sexually assault and showed how it affected Em’s life. This is such an amazing book and I recommend that everyone picks it up, I plan on reading some of Gray’s other books!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL By Jessica Brody

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL By Jessica BrodyThe Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody
Published by Simon Pulse on 11/28/17
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.

Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.

But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.

And his name is Xander.

When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

Ryn can’t move on.

But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

Short and Sweet

All Ryn wants to do is make it back home before New Years, but after a snow storm hits Denver she realizes that she’ll have to stay in the airport overnight. While at the airport Ryn meets some new companions and confronts the past that she’s been avoiding for over a year.

Characters

Ryn: Our main character. I didn’t mind her she was a good main character. There was a lot she was dealing with especially since it was so close to the anniversary of her best friends death. All Ryn wants to do is go home before she even has to think of Lottie’s death. You can tell that Ryn has PTSD and is still trying to figure out how to cope with it.

Lottie: Ryn’s dead best friend. Lottie shows up as kind of a conscience in Ryn’s mind or sometimes a figment in her imagination. You can tell that during the flashbacks and just by the way Ryn talks about Lottie that she was the wild one in their friendship the one that took risks. I liked Lottie she usually popped up when Ryn was making decisions or needed a little push to have some fun.

Xander: A boy Ryn meets at the airport and her love interest. Xander was all about having some fun while being stuck in the airport. He’s also just trying to make it back home while avoiding something that recently happened to him.

Romance

Ryn and Xander: Love at first sight? No. They’re first interaction occurred because Ryn wasn’t paying attention and bumped into him and they ended up trading phones, because what do you know they both have the same phone case. At this point Ryn just wants her phone back and wants to avoid Xander because she still has hope that she can get home on time. When it finally hits Ryn that she’ll be stuck in the airport, Lottie shows up and gives her a push to go hangout with Xander in the meantime. Xander wants to have some fun and during the course of the day he does get Ryn to loosen up a little. These two have their guards up and are trying to avoid talking about certain things which does at some points strain their relationship. Over the course of the book both of them realize that they need to face their past but on their own terms.

My Thoughts

~ This book was so much fun! I actually live in Denver and I’m very familiar with DIA and I think Brody was spot on when writing about the airport. I would love to be able to stay in the airport overnight and do some of the things Ryn and Xander did like surfing on the train or going to a party in the hotel.

~ Xander isn’t the only person Ryn meets in the airport she also meets Siri and Jimmy both of them work at a burger place in the airport and Ryn also meets Troy who she somehow becomes responsible for. These minor characters were quirky and fun in their own way and they also brought out Ryn’s fun side.

~ I loved the flashbacks not only do we get to really see Lottie through Ryn’s eyes but we also get to see what happened on the day that Lottie died.

~ Ryn uses Google as a coping method, she googles things she wants the answers to so that things don’t seem unknown to her. I thought it was interesting to see some of the things she would google like, “how do revolving doors work?”

~ We also have the mystery of what was said in the final text that Lottie sent to Ryn. Ryn believes that if she doesn’t open the text that she’ll be keeping a piece of Lottie alive. Brody’s writing just shows how lonely Ryn became when Lottie died and its heartbreaking.

Overall

The Chaos of Standing Still is heartbreaking, hilarious, hopeful, and shows us that moving on may not be so bad after all. The plot was amazing and the cast of characters is one you don’t want to stop reading about I loved how things were wrapped up in the end. This is a book that I won’t stop thinking about anytime soon!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

The Afterlife of Holly Chase

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Afterlife of Holly ChaseThe Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand
Published by HarperTeen on 10/24/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died.

Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge—as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…

Short and Sweet

Every year Project Scrooge picks a new Scrooge to help reform. Holly Chase our main character learned the hard way that not changing her scrooge ways would result in an afterlife she wasn’t expecting. Now as the Ghost of Christmas Past, Holly is tasked with helping other scrooges change their ways, but this years scrooge is different from the ones before.

Characters

Holly: Holly is an interesting character, I didn’t think she was the best main character she came across as if she thought she was better than everyone else and I just couldn’t relate to her. I thought she was an interesting character because she was a failed scrooge and is now working at project scrooge to help other scrooges change their ways before its too late, but even though you would think that because she got the job of Ghost of Christmas Past maybe she would be nicer or something… shes not. I think that’s what disappointed me the most about her character was the lack of character development throughout the story.

Ethan: This years scrooge and Holly’s love interest. Ethan is wealthy and like Holly thinks he’s better than other people he was also just mean. There’s not much else to say about Ethan he was shown in a good light probably because the book was in Holly’s POV and she thought that they were a match made in heaven.

Stephanie: Stephanie is an intern at project scrooge for the year and becomes Holly’s assistant. I loved Stephanie she was optimistic and happy, but I felt bad because Holly did not treat her well.

Boz: Holly’s boss and the man who runs project scrooge.

Romance

Holly and Ethan: This relationship was built upon lies. So people that work for project scrooge aren’t supposed to meet the scrooges until Christmas morning when the project takes place. Holly decides to break the rules and meet with Ethan even though she knows she shouldn’t, so she takes it upon herself to enlist her Stephanie’s help and find Ethan’s daily schedule and find out when he’s being watched and where he goes during the day. When Holly finally meets Ethan she goes by Victoria. Let me just say Holly isn’t the only one telling lies in this relationship, Ethan lies about his family and its just so hard to read because you’re basically just reading about two people who “really like” each other but are lying to each others faces. This relationship was meant to crumble from the very beginning.

Quotes

~ “He came from a good family, and by good I mean rich.” Is this quote not ridiculous to anyone else? Literally! Like he came from a good family because they’re rich?! At the very moment I read this from the book I had to put it down. This is how I knew Holly Chase did not change ONE BIT.

My Thoughts

~ Let me just say that I love the idea of this book, to have a project scrooge and to help scrooges find the good in themselves. I just don’t understand why they would hire Holly when she herself hasn’t changed (I mean I find out in the end).

~ I didn’t like the romance, like I said earlier the two may have liked each other but it was all lies, well maybe not for Holly because she actually liked him but still she was lying about who she was.

~ I did like the other characters that we meet in the book like Grant and Marty from Holly’s team.

~ It was interesting to see how things progressed in the book and how the members of project scrooge found out information about the scrooges life.

~ I will say I did like the ending it surprised me and I wasn’t expecting it.

Overall

I think this would be a good book for the holiday season for some, but unfortunately I wasn’t a big fan. I really wanted to like this book but some of the things that happened just put me off. What I would have liked was more character development from Holly, because she honestly didn’t change and I felt like I was seeing her be a during most of the book. Overall it was an okay book, it’s not one I would read again though.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

THE HANGING GIRL By Eileen Cook

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE HANGING GIRL By Eileen CookThe Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on 10/3/17
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and now her psychic visions are helping the police find the town’s missing golden girl. It’s no challenge—her readings have always been faked, but this time she has some insider knowledge. The kidnapping was supposed to be easy—no one would get hurt and she’d get the money she needs to start a new life. But a seemingly harmless prank has turned dark, and Skye realizes the people she’s involved with are willing to kill to get what they want and she must discover their true identity before it’s too late.

Short and Sweet

Skye Thorn is known in her high school for giving tarot readings and having psychic visions, the thing is Skye has always faked these abilities. One of Skye’s classmates gets kidnapped and Skye has insider information about what’s going on. The police are trusting Skye’s “psychic visions” to help bring Paige home, but things turn ugly when this kidnapping that seemed like a prank turns serious. Now Skye must find out who’s behind what’s happening before it’s to late.

Characters

Skye: Our main character who fakes her psychic abilities. Skye takes part in this prank to kidnap Paige because when all is said and done she’s supposed to receive some of the ransom money and start a new life. I liked Skye and then again I didn’t. I’m glad she realized when she was in too deep but it was already to late at that point. We learn a lot about Skye and her troubling past and why some of the kids at school don’t trust her.

Paige: During the book we get a few chapters from Paige, it mostly shows her writing her experience. I felt bad for Paige because she was targeted for this “prank” because her father has money and she’s the most popular girl in school.

Pluto: The guy Skye is working with to pull off this prank, there’s not much we know about him except for the fact that he’s calling the shots.

My Thoughts

~ I really liked the concept of the book, Skye trying to make some money and things go wrong and now she has to figure out who’s behind everything. Is it the most original idea? No, but I still enjoyed reading this book.

~ Skye’s mom is also a psychic which I found interesting because I didn’t know if I could trust her or not because Skye would keep saying that her visions were off most of the time or she would call her mom a fake.

~ Skye also has a best friend, Drew. Drew was good supportive friend and we see how their friendship was kind of a motive for Skye to even take part in the kidnapping.

~ I felt worried for Skye while reading the book because she was lying a lot and she had to keep her story straight and I was interested to see how that worked out for her.

~ There were a few twist in the book that I enjoyed, but I did not like the ending at all it wasn’t satisfying to me. It just didn’t end right for me personally, I wanted more.

Overall

I thought this was a good book, it was short and easy to read through. At one point I was so confused at who could have been behind all of this because there were so many twists. I’ll be honest and say this isn’t my favorite book but it wasn’t bad, so if you like mysteries with a lot of twists then this may be the book for you!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

ONE DARK THRONE By Kendare Blake

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ONE DARK THRONE By Kendare BlakeOne Dark Throne by Kendare Blake
Series: Three Dark Crowns #2
Published by HarperTeen on 9/19/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

With the unforgettable events of the Quickening behind them and the Ascension Year underway, all bets are off. Katharine, once the weak and feeble sister, is stronger than ever before. Arsinoe, after discovering the truth about her powers, must figure out how to make her secret talent work in her favor without anyone finding out. And Mirabella, once thought to be the strongest sister of all and the certain Queen Crowned, faces attacks like never before—ones that put those around her in danger she can’t seem to prevent.

Short and Sweet

After the events that took place during the Quickening the Ascension year is in progress and things have changed. Katharine is different after returning to the manor, Mirabella doesn’t seem to be the front runner anymore, and Arsinoe is trying to figure out what to do with her new found skill. The question is which sister will prevail and take the crown and the throne?

Characters

Mirabella: The elemental queen, in the last book she was thought to be the strongest of the sisters but now that seems to be uncertain. Mirabella tries to see the good in her sisters and likes to think about memories from when they were younger, but this makes her apprehensive about the fact that she has to kill them.

Arsinoe: Our naturalist queen, we find out in the last book that she’s actually a poisoner which makes sense as to why her naturalist gift never seemed to show. Now Arsinoe is trying to figure out how this new skill works and how to use it in her advantage.

Katharine: The poisoner queen, oh how things have changed with Katharine. Katharine was one of the weaker queens but after climbing her way out of The Breccia Domain she’s back with a vengeance and the people on the island now call her, ‘the undead queen’.

Romance

Arsinoe and Billy: I love these two so much! Arsinoe still won’t admit how she feels about him to his face but Billy doesn’t give up easily. He was sent away to Rolanth to be Mirabella’s taster but he was always thinking about Arsinoe. These two cared about each other and it was my favorite romance of the book.

Katharine and Nicolas: Nicolas was one of Katharine’s suitors and one she liked. I honestly think Katharine only got with Nicolas to get back at Pietyr.

Jules and Joseph: After the events of the last book Jules is still trying to find a way to forgive Joseph. Does she trust him? No. Does he still try to make an effort? Yes. Did I think these two should be together? No. Maybe in the first book, but after what he did she just couldn’t trust him I like the fact that she tried though. “So you trust me?” She turns and looks squarely into his handsome, storm-blue eyes. “Not one bit.”

Quotes

~ “This is how it is,” Arsinoe whispers. “Someone’s going to die.”

~ “I am only afraid of what I must do.”

~ “Neither of my sisters will be returning to the island. The crown and the throne are mine.”

My Thoughts

~ Arsinoe, may have a new skill as a poisoner but she knows that she has to keep this a secret and use it to her advantage at some point. For now she still uses low magic to make a bond with her bear familiar.

~ Jules is one of my favorite characters that isn’t one of the queens. She’s the best and I like her better than Bree and Elizabeth. Jules will go to the end of the Earth to try to keep Arsinoe safe. She considers herself to be Arsinoe’s guardian and its like its her full time job. I love how she looks after Arsinoe and doesn’t treat it like a ob she does it because she genuinely loves her.

~ Jules also learns that she has a second gift, she’s legion cursed which occurs when you have two gifts, shes a naturalist of course and she has the war gift. She’s just learning how to use the war gift and is determined to use it to keep the ones she loves safe.

~ Mirabella is trying to wrap her head around the things that occurred during the quickening. She knows that she has to kill her sisters before they kill her. She plans on starting with Arsinoe for sending her bear after her and then Katharine.

~ Katharine is very determined to kill her sisters. A lot has changed with her but I guess thats what happens when you ‘come back from the dead.’ She was eating a lot of poison so much so that she ends up becoming poison.

~ The events of the quickening set a lot of events into motion in this book.

~ I loved Mirabella and Arsinoe in this book. Mirabella doesn’t want to kill her sisters and Arsinoe knows that she may not stand a chance. I liked Katharine in the last book because she seemed sweet but she was blood thirsty and it was a little overwhelming.

Overall

Can the sequel be better than the first book? Yes and this series is the proof! It only seems to get better and I can’t wait until the third book is released. What’ll happen next with these girls, is what I need to know! So much happened in this book and I’m ready to find out whats going to happen. Love this series and I think its a MUST READ pick up the first two books now!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi Lee

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE By Mackenzi LeeThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 6/27/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, LGBT, Mystery & Detective, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Short and Sweet

Monty and his best friend Percy are going on a grand tour of Europe, and they plan on having the time of their lives. Even with his younger sister, Felicity coming along, Monty won’t let it ruin his fun. But things get crazy when the group encounters an ancient artifact, highwaymen, and pirates.

Characters

Henry “Monty” Montague: Our main character who grew a lot over the course of the book. Monty has the most engaging voice, he’s entertaining and sassy. He got the group into the mess they were in by trying to get even with someone. Monty had the problem of saying things without thinking and often came to regret it, but his friends called him out on it. He was a flawed character but that’s whats great about him because over the course of the book he learned from his mistakes.

Percy: Monty’s best friend and our voice of reason. Percy is also a person a color which I found interesting, because of course during the time that this book takes place it makes travel for the grand tour a bit harder because certain places won’t allow him to stay. Percy also struggles in this book because throughout the course of his friendship with Monty he has always supported him and now Percy has his own demons to fight and wonders if Monty can support him.

Felicity: Monty’s younger sister and the brains of the group. Felicity’s strength and knowledge saved the group from dangerous situations. I was rooting for her throughout the book she had goals and I felt bad that during that time girls her age didn’t have many choices.

Romance

Monty has liked Percy for a while, and thinks the grand tour will be the perfect time to express how he feels. But things don’t work well mainly because Percy seems more annoyed with Monty than smitten. It seemed like Monty always said or did the wrong thing that ended up pushing Percy away.

My Thoughts

~ This isn’t an ordinary grand tour of Europe, like it was expected to be. Mayhem begins when the group reaches their first stop in Paris. This leads them to places that are off of their original course.

~ In Paris, Monty steals an artifact that leads to the group being attacked by highwaymen, hiding in a small town, going to Barcelona, meeting pirates, and trying to find something on an island that is sinking.

~ My favorite part of the book was the whole mystery surrounding the artifact and what it does. The artifact was the whole reason the group had to go off course so I was eager to find out what it could do.

~ What I loved the most about this book was how fast paced it was. From the very beginning we embark on a journey with these characters.

~ In each city we meet different characters and all of them add to the story in their own way. My favorite characters were the pirates I loved learning more about them and their ultimate goal.

~ I felt like I was with the trio of characters and I was worried about their well-being, they were in some dangerous positions and on the run from some people who wanted them dead.

Overall

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must read! Everything about it is amazing, the characters, the action and adventure, the diversity, and of course the romance. The ending was great and everything was wrapped up nicely. Monty, Percy, and Felicity are a set of characters I won’t forget. This is hands down one of my favorite reads of 2017, and I encourage everyone to pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

GRIT By Gillian French

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
GRIT By Gillian FrenchGrit by Gillian French
Published by HarperTeen on 5/16/17
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Seventeen-year-old Darcy Prentiss has long held the title of “town slut.” She knows how to have a good time, sure, but she isn’t doing anything all the guys haven’t done. But when you’re a girl with a reputation, every little thing that happens seems to keep people whispering—especially when your ex-best friend goes missing.

But if anyone were to look closer at Darcy, they’d realize there’s a lot more going on beneath the surface. Staying out late, hooking up, and telling lies is what Darcy does to forget. Forget about the mysterious disappearance of her friend. Forget about the dark secret she and her cousin Nell share. Forget about that hazy Fourth of July night. So when someone in town anonymously nominates Darcy to be in the running for Bay Festival Princess—a cruel act only someone with a score to settle would make—all of the things that Darcy wants to keep hidden threaten to erupt in ways she wasn’t prepared to handle…and isn’t sure if she can.

Short and Sweet

Darcy Prentiss lives in a small town and has the reputation of “town slut.” During the summer Darcy works picking blueberries with her cousin and her sister. Things are going fine until talk starts about Darcy’s ex-best friend Rhiannon who went missing the last summer, now people are trying to figure out what happened and if Darcy knows more than shes saying.

Characters

Darcy: Our main character who is unfairly judged. I think she’s gone through a lot she’s lost her dad and her reputation has people judging her before they even know who she really is.

Nell: Darcy’s cousin. Nell is a bit slower which makes Darcy feel like she has to protect Nell all the time, but Nell is compassionate and sweet.

Romance

There is a bit of Romance between Darcy and Jesse one of her fellow workers who picks blueberries. It was interesting to see how this relationship would develop. Darcy is known to be a good time which isn’t a secret to anyone in town but Jesse has her confused when he doesn’t seem to care about that.

My Thoughts

~ There were two storylines in Grit, one about Rhiannon who went missing the summer before and then one about Darcy’s day to day life and how she deals with family, work, and everything else that comes her way. There’s also a bit of a mystery surrounding why Darcy is so protective of Nell.

~ There’s a lot going on in this book and it’s not hard to follow at all, it made it more captivating if anything.

~ Darcy was an enjoyable character I felt bad because of how much everyone judged her, but she just owned it and I love how she felt like she didn’t have to explain anything to anyone.

~Rhiannon’s storyline is interesting. What really happened to Rhiannon? The police are now questioning everyone again because they found something of hers. The police also thinks Darcy knows more than she’s telling. I liked seeing this unfold because we slowly learn what actually happened that night and what Darcy knows.

~ Nell’s storyline is also interesting. Her and Darcy and they both knew if their secret got out everything in their lives would unravel.

~ I liked seeing Darcy’s day to day life shes headstrong and smart she knew what she wanted. She definitely didn’t let people walk all over her.

~ I loved Mags, Darcy’s older sister. She was like another mother to Darcy she was caring and protective and was always there for Darcy.

~This book was hard to put down I wanted to know what happened and how each character had something to do with what was going on in the present day based on what they did in the past.

Overall

Grit was raw and memorable. I couldn’t put this book down there were so many twists that just had me wanting to know what was going to happen next. I recommend this book, it would be a perfect read for the summer!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AVENGED By Amy Tintera

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVENGED By Amy TinteraAvenged by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #2
Published by HarperTeen on 5/2/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister, Olivia, from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its former glory.

But their fight has only begun. Olivia is determined to destroy everyone who acts against Ruina. Em isn’t as sure. Ever since Em posed as Prince Casimir’s betrothed in Lera, she’s started to see another side to this war. And now that Cas has taken the throne, Em believes a truce is within reach. But Olivia suspects that Em’s romantic feelings for Cas are just coloring her judgement.

Em is determined to bring peace to her home. But when winning the war could mean betraying her family, Em faces an impossible choice between loyalty and love. Em must stay one step ahead of her enemies—and her blood—before she’s the next victim in this battle for sovereignty.

Short and Sweet

Emelina and Olivia Flores go back to their kingdom of Ruina and vow to rebuild it to its former glory. But alliances are shifting and figuring out what to do and who to trust is just the beginning.

Characters

Emelina: One of the queens of Ruina who is willing to do what is best for her people. Emelina is way more level headed than Olivia, which I’ll get into a little later.

Olivia: The other queen of Ruina who is also willing to do what is best for her people but in a very different way than her sister. Olivia is back with a vengeance, she is not happy which is understandable she was kept prisoner but she will kill anyone who gets in her way. “You’re weak!” she screamed again.

Cas: Prince of Lera who is fighting for his throne, because his cousin Jovita and some of his people have turned against him.

Aren: The second strongest Ruined who is Emelina and Olivia’s friend. Aren struggles in this book with being angry and killing with Olivia, because he understands her anger or with being level headed with Emelina and showing compassion towards people.

*We get to read from all of these characters POVs.

Romance

There is two romances in this book that I feel are worth mentioning.

Emelina and Cas: They developed a bond in the first book Ruined and they still have feelings for each other even though their people don’t like the match. I love these two together I think it would work, I mean she did pretend to be someone else but all the feelings they have for each other are genuine. “I’m very reasonable. Em says it’s one of my best qualities.”

Aren and Iria: Iria is a warrior from the Olso army. Okay this is a match I didn’t see coming but the more I read the more I liked it. Aren needed someone who wasn’t a ruined who could understand what he was going through and show him compassion and Iria was the right person. She risked it all for him and his feelings for her changed over the course of the book and he showed his feelings more and I loved it!

Quotes

~ “We take. We will take the throne, we will take responsibility, and we will crush anyone who defies us. Got it?”

~ “It sounds like you’re about to die.”

~ “The Ruined don’t betray each other.”

My Thoughts

~ There is so much going on this book and it’s amazing, I couldn’t put this book down.

~ In Ruined Emelina aligned with the Olso kingdom to help her rescue her sister and attack the kingdom of Lera. Now that Em and Olivia are back in Ruina the warriors are back and along with them is August, the youngest prince of Olso. He proposes a marriage to Em and thats when things get complicated.

~ Em still has feelings for Cas and he still has feelings for Em. I mean they are technically married but he thought he was married to someone else and not one of the heirs of Ruina.

~ Olivia is intense! She will literally kill anyone who gets in her way provoked or not. I think she likes it shes like a killing machine snapping necks left and right. Olivia doesn’t like Cas and believes that Em’s love for him is causing her to make the wrong decisions.

~ I felt bad for Cas in this book. He’s trying to be with Em which is difficult because the Ruined don’t like the Lerans and she has to put her people before him, and his cousin Jovita is making things hard for him with his own people. Jovita convinces the Lerans who are staying in the fortress that Cas is going crazy and she temporarily takes over. Cas now has to figure out who is by his side and how to get his rightful place on the throne back.

~ I also liked Violet she is the governors daughter of the Southern Providence. She was also a strong female character and was loyal and willing to help Cas when most people weren’t.

~ I was worried about Olivia and Em, its like oil and water. When they got back to Ruina they proposed a diarchy. They’re so different Olivia is angry and thinks she can just take anyone out who gets in her way while Em thinks she can talk things out with people and try to make things better without so much bloodshed.

~ I loved getting to know more about Aren and seeing him struggle between what was right and what was wrong. His bond with Iria just made me smile it was cute and the relationship building was amazing.

Overall

I LOVED this book! It was amazing and it makes my want the next book so bad. I need to know whats going to happen next! I couldn’t put this book down and it didn’t end in a big cliffhanger but it still left me wanting to know what Em is going to do! Avenged was a great sequel and I definitely recommend this series its one of my favorites. You have to pick up Ruined if you haven’t and then get Avenged they don’t disappoint!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

PERFECT By Cecelia Ahern

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

PERFECT By Cecelia AhernPerfect by Cecelia Ahern
Series: Flawed #2
Published by Feiwel & Friends on 4/4/17
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine's life has completely fractured--all her freedoms gone.

Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick--the only person she can trust.

But Celestine has a secret--one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.

Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

Short and Sweet

Perfect starts off two weeks later from where Flawed ended. Celsetine is now in hiding and is considered to be an evader. Celestine has to figure out who she can trust, and how she can bring down Crevan, the flawed system, and the Guild.

Characters

Celestine: Our main character who is on the run. She’s smart but she thinks with her heart when she should be thinking with her head.

Carrick: A fellow flawed. Who is supportive of the flawed movement and is trying to help Celestine, but he also has motives of his own.

Romance

There is a bit of a love triangle in this book, between Celestine, Carrick, and Art. I didn’t like it at all. Honestly, Carrick was helping Celestine and while I did question his motives he did genuinely care about her. And we do see Art again and we get a bit of a surprise when we see him in this book. It’s not surprising that she would still have feelings for Art but I think Celestine needed to make up her mind. I find it rude that she would even question going back with one guy after the other guy has risked so much to help her.

Quotes

“I thought I was smart, but I’m not smart enough.”

“It was a bus that I lost my faith in humanity. It was on a bus that it was restored.”

My Thoughts

~Let me start off by saying I did enjoy this book a lot more than the first.

~ I loved that Celestine was on the run this time and she couldn’t really trust anyone. I liked that she was in survivor mode. In Flawed she was banking that her relationship with Crevan would get her out of her predicament.

~ We get to know more about Carrick in this book, he played a bigger part in this book. He helped Celestine get away from whistleblowers on more than one occasion.

~ We also meet a few more flawed people who are on board to help Celestine mainly because they’re ready to be treated equally in this society.

~ I liked how everything came full circle and how people tried to help Celestine and how she kind of had a plan and how she usually stayed one step ahead the people who were trying to stop her.

~A few people helped Celestine that we wouldn’t expect. Which was interesting it had me worrying about if these people would be caught.

~ One thing that bothered me was how stubborn Celestine was, like I said above she thinks with her heart most of the time and not with her head. She had me frustrated sometimes with the way she would almost ruin a plan because she was being stubborn.

Overall

Perfect is a great ending to this duology. It had me on the edge of my seat worrying about how things would turn out and if Celestine would be able to accomplish what she set out for. The ending was good it had me guessing at what scenario would happen. I would recommend this book, I definitely think this book is better than the first but to get to this book you have to read Flawed, just so everything will make sense.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE HATE U GIVE By Angie Thomas

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
THE HATE U GIVE By Angie ThomasThe Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Published by Balzer + Bray on 2/28/17
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Short and Sweet

Starr witnesses the wrongful murder of her best friend Khalil who was shot by a police officer. Starr is the only person who knows what happened and she’s left wondering if she should speak up or be quiet.

Characters

Starr: Our main character. Starr is raw and true to herself and honest. She’s the voice I needed I ended up loving her while reading this book. Starr is clearly going through a hard time after seeing Khalil die but that’s not the only friend shes lost. I loved seeing Starr make decisions about what she should do and with every decision I was proud of her I knew she was scared and didn’t feel brave but she was, she spoke out even when it scared her and that spoke volumes about who she is.

Romance

There’s not much romance, mainly because that’s not the focus of this book. Starr does have a boyfriend and the relationship was interracial which had Starr questioning things after the shooting. When Starr and Chris were together I thought they were cute he called her fresh princess based off the Fresh Prince of Bel Air.

Quotes

“A hairbrush is not a gun.”

“Because there will always be someone to fight. Maybe it’s my turn.”

“I always said that if I saw it happen to somebody, I would have the loudest voice, making sure the world knew what went down. Now I am that person, and I’m too afraid to speak.”

“Sometimes you can do everything right and things will still go wrong. The key is to never stop doing right.”

My Thoughts

~ We’re taken to the heart of Garden Heights in this book. Violence, gangs, and drug dealings are the norm here. But a shooting that is making national headlines, thats not so normal.

~ Starr has to balance her two lives, Starr from Garden Heights and the Starr that goes to Williamson a predominately white school on the other side of town.

~ I loved Starr’s family and how they were supportive of her decision to either speak out or not. Each family member has their own problems and I grew to love them and was just hoping nothing bad happened to him.

~ Things were tense and I was worried about Starr’s family and friends and their safety, there was violence, threats, and riots.

~ After what happened so much changed Starr had to figure out who was the good guy who was bad, who to trust, who is actually a friend and who’s not. I felt for Starr so many of the dynamics she knew changed after the shooting.

~ Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, The Hate U Give this book tackles important issues like race and authority in a black community.

Overall

This is the most honest and heartbreaking account of what is going on in America right now. This is an important book and I think everyone needs to pick it up. I have nothing bad to say about this book and I want to commend Angie Thomas for writing this book its amazing and it’s not a topic that has been talked about in young adult books. I found myself crying at times but then smiling in the next few pages because of the love and support that Starr was shown. The Hate U Give is indescribable and a book worth reading!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings