ONE WAS LOST By Natalie D. Richards

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ONE WAS LOST By Natalie D. RichardsOne Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 10/4/16
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Damaged, Deceptive, Dangerous, Darling. When a group of teens wake up in the woods, these words are inked onto their skin. Are they labels? A warning? They must find the truth before a killer finds them.

While on a mandatory senior field trip, a flash flood cuts off Sera and three classmates from their group with no way to call for help. But they're not as alone as they thought...

Short and Sweet

Six students and two teachers go on a senior camping trip. Soon a storm separates four students and a teacher from the other two students and teacher. Separated by a river the two groups decide to set up camp and reunite the next day. Everything should be fine until the group wakes up the next afternoon, to find their stuff missing and words written on there wrist. The only way they’re going to survive is to find out who’s behind this and work together.

My Thoughts

~Sera, was our main character and she was in the group with four students. Overall I thought Sera was an okay character, we didn’t find out much about her.

~I liked the other students too, but it was hard to know who to trust because the culprit could be anyone.

~The words written on their wrist was interesting: damaged, deceptive, dangerous, and darling. It changed the way the students looked at each other and made them suspect each other and it had me wondering why those specific words were chosen for each person.

~Everything that happened kept me guessing at who could be behind this, there were so many twist and different outcomes I was thinking about.

~I didn’t think the romance was necessary. It wasn’t working for me. Sera was indecisive about liking Lucas or not liking him.

Overall

The ending was okay. I didn’t guess who the killer was. I still don’t understand the motive behind all of this, but I guess being crazy is motive enough. I liked the book and would recommend it if you like mysteries and thrillers, its also a fast read.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

THE CABIN By Natasha Preston

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CABIN By Natasha PrestonThe Cabin by Natasha Preston
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 9/6/16
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

They think they're invincible.
They think they can do and say whatever they want.
They think there are no consequences.
They've left me no choice.
It's time for them to pay for their sins.

A weekend partying at a remote cabin is just what Mackenzie needs. She can't wait to let loose with her friends. But a crazy night of fun leaves two of them dead-murdered.

With no signs of a forced entry or struggle, suspicion turns to the five survivors. Someone isn't telling the truth. And Mackenzie's first mistake? Assuming the killing is over...

Short and Sweet

Mackenzie and her friends go away for the weekend to stay at a Josh’s parent’s remote cabin. All of the fun the teens were expecting to have ends short when two friends are found murdered. The police suspect one of the five survivors is the culprit, because they can’t find signs of forced entry. Mackenzie not believing one of her friends could commit murder decides to start an investigation of her own.

My Thoughts

~ Mackenzie was a decent main character. She tried to see the positive in things that would happen. She was also very loyal to her friends. The only problems I had with Mackenzie was that her inner monologue was dramatic and at times I felt like she wasn’t using common sense.

~ Mackenzie decides to do her own detective work, because she thinks the police have the wrong suspects. She had these thoughts for half the book and it got ridiculous because literally no one was in the cabin besides the group of teens! Anyway while doing her detective work she learns secrets about her friends, which then has her questioning if one of them could actually be a murderer.

the office eye roll stanley hudson

~ I just found Mackenzie’s friends annoying of course you’re not going to point the finger at yourself but to blame someone just because they’re new to the group bothered me.

~ During her investigation Mackenzie starts to fall for Blake, the brother of one of the victims, the relationship between these two was definitely insta-love.

~At the end we find out who the murderer is and I wasn’t expecting it to be who it was.

Overall

I did not like the ending at all! I thought things would be resolved, but that wasn’t the case. I hope there’s a sequel just so I can have some peace of mind.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

WILD SWANS By Jessica Spotswood

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

WILD SWANS By Jessica SpotswoodWild Swans by Jessica Spotswood
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 5/3/16
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

The summer before Ivy's senior year is going to be golden-all bonfires, barbeques, and spending time with her best friends. For once, she will just get to be. No summer classes, none of Granddad's intense expectations to live up to the family name. For generations, the Milbourn women have lead extraordinary lives-and died young and tragically. Granddad calls it a legacy, but Ivy considers it a curse. Why else would her mother have run off and abandoned her as a child?

But when her mother unexpectedly returns home with two young daughters in tow, all of the stories Ivy wove to protect her heart start to unravel. The very people she once trusted now speak in lies. And all of Ivy's ambition and determination cannot defend her against the secrets of the Milbourn past...

Short and Sweet

Ivy plans on having the time of her life before her senior year starts. But things don’t always go as planned. Ivy is struggling trying to find her calling in life and feeling the pressure of the Milbourn legacy in her family. Ivy’s mother left when she was young, so she was raised by her Grandad. When her mother returns, with two young children or Ivy’s half sisters, her life is turned upside down.

What I liked

~Ivy, she wasn’t perfect (who is?) but she was a strong character and stood her ground.

~Connor, he’s Ivy’s love interest and he was honestly so sweet and supportive.

~I liked how most of the issues in the story were resolved.

~Ivy’s best friend Claire she’s funny and a feminist who isn’t afraid to speak her mind. (Look at the quote below)

~Also liked getting to know the background on some of the characters like Ivy’s mom and some of the other Milbourn women.

~ It touches on gender identity and feminism and body image.

What I didn’t like

~The ending I mean it was good I just wish we got to know more. An epilogue would have been nice.

Quotes

“When it comes to the family legacy – that it’s a gift, not a curse; that the Milbourn women were extraordinary, not doomed.”

“And that better be the only wiener you put in your mouth. We do not give blow jobs so that boys will like us!” Claire roars, and Connor nearly chokes on his beer.

Overall

Wild Swans is a  feel-good book with realistic friendships, romance, and family. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys YA coming of age stories and contemporaries.

SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings SmileRatings

THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS By Marieke Nijkamp

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS By Marieke NijkampThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 1/5/16
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won't open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told from four perspectives over the span of 54 harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

This Is Where It Ends follows four characters; Sylv, Autumn, Claire, and Tomas. It’s the new semester of school at Opportunity high school and when the principal finishes her speech everyone is expecting it to be a regular day but they realize they’re locked in the auditorium and the terror begins. What I really liked about this book is getting to see the four POVs because Sylv and Autumn were in the auditorium but Claire and Tomas were outside of the school and getting to see how each character is going to deal with the situation was interesting to me. We also get to see text, tweets, and blog post from kids who were either in the auditorium or at home. I didn’t like the shooter I thought there would be more of a motive there but there wasn’t.

In the beginning I had a hard time keeping track of the characters in this book mainly because their were four of them. After I got into the book I figured out the connection between the characters. The book is short and easy to read. The ending was okay but not what I was expecting, so I was caught off guard.
SmileRatings SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

MY SECRET TO TELL by Natalie D. Richards

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MY SECRET TO TELL by Natalie D. RichardsMy Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 10/06/2015
Genres: Contemporary, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

One promise changed her life. One confession could end it.
There was blood on his hands. Where was the guilt in his eyes?
Emmie's had a crush on her best friend's brother forever. Deacon is the town bad boy who's always in trouble, but she sees his soft side when he volunteers with her at the local animal shelter. She doesn't think he's dangerous…until he shows up in her bedroom with blood on his hands. Deacon's father has been violently assaulted and Deacon is suspect number one. Emmie's smart enough to know how this looks, but she also knows Deacon's biggest secret—he's paralyzed by the sight of blood. She's sure he didn't do this. Or did he? Because even Deacon's own sister thinks he's guilty…

Well to be honest I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read this book because I didn’t enjoy Gone too Far by Natalie D. Richards but the premise of the book intrigued me so I decided to give it a shot. I can defiantly say I liked this book more than I thought I would.  It took me a while to get into it, like halfway through the book. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Emmie she was bossy, whiny, and indecisive. She just kept changing her mind, “Is Deacon guilty or not? Should I help him or not?” things like that.  If I was in this book and my friend was in this situation I would trust them because they’re my FRIEND! What are friends for right??? I liked the whole whodunit aspect because when I found out who it was I was pretty shocked.  Emmie’s parents also got on my nerves.  They were smothering her so much that even I could feel it. I think the first half of this book was pretty slow at least for me but it started picking up towards the end. What’s really funny to me is the fact that the ending was like a game of clue “I think you did it because you’re just really suspicious to me.” Anyway the other characters were sub par, I was over them. Get some better friends would be my advice haha. In the end I would say this book was good enough that I’d read Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards. I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries and if you’ve read other books by this author.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

NIGHT SKY by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie Brockmann

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

NIGHT SKY by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie BrockmannNight Sky by Melanie Brockmann, Suzanne Brockmann
Series: Night Sky #1
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 10-7-2014
Genres: Paranormal, SciFi, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyMiranda

They could be hunting you.
Hunted. Kidnapped. Bled. Someone is snatching girls and draining them for a secret that's in their blood. A hormone that makes them stronger, faster, smarter. A hormone that the makers of a new drug called Destiny will murder to get their hands on. These girls could be anyone. They could be anywhere.

They could be you.

When Skylar discovers she's a Greater-Than, a girl with terrifying power, her life will never be the same. The only way to stay alive is to join the fight against Destiny and become the ultimate weapon.

HOLY CRAP! In Night Sky the Brockmann Mother/Daughter team give readers a taste of excellent writing paired with genius storytelling! I am absolutely in L-O-V-E with Sky, Milo, Dana and Cal! I MUST know what happens next!!! I admit I’m obsessed with all things paranormal, scifi, urban fantasy and I get it all in Night Sky! There always comes a certain point in a book when you know you are falling in love with the characters, getting so attached you know eventually your heart will probably be smashed to smithereens and patched back together…eventually! I knew Night Sky was going to be one of my favorites within the first chapter, YES it’s that good!


First things first, the characters just plain rock! Skylar is the new girl living among Florida’s elite upper crust. She’s a little awkward and deep in the dark about her “greater-than” status. This means she has special abilities like telekinesis and can run superfast. However, she has no idea what is going on or how she is doing these things and more importantly she’s concerned she is going insane! Thankfully she has her new BFF Cal to keep her calm and laughing! Calvin “Cal” for short brings the humor to Night Sky! I adore Cal, his wheelchair and his ongoing game of “would you rather…” Then we have Motorcycle Girl, Dana, a greater-than with killer skills and awesome sarcastic wit. She is the perfect mentor for Sky. Milo is Dana’s brooding best friend. He is sweet, handsome and yes ladies he has a special connection to Sky that will almost certainly make you swoon! But you know how it goes the road is not smooth sailing for these two! Lastly, we have Skylar’s mom who is a bit annoying at times however I can’t help but like her and the adorable Sasha, who I want to give a big squeeze!


The main Arc of Night Sky revolves around Sasha. She is kidnapped in the middle of the night from her bedroom. Sky is heartbroken and determined to help find the little girl. This plot gives the reader a chance to learn so much about Sky and her friends and we get to go on a sensational journey with them. This fast-paced thriller keeps things moving through the climactic finish! NOW, I’m ready to devour my lovely ARC of the next book in the series WILD SKY! WooHoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Night Sky is an EPIC Read!! I give it SIX huge Wonderland Hearts!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

DANGEROUS DESTINY by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie Brockmann

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DANGEROUS DESTINY by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie BrockmannDangerous Destiny by Melanie Brockmann, Suzanne Brockmann
Series: Night Sky Novella
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 8-26-2014
Genres: Paranormal, SciFi, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 121
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyMiranda

In this pulse-pounding prequel to the Night Sky series by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann and her daughter Melanie Brockmann, Skylar has her first brush with Destiny. She's about to meet a boy who will change her life—and a girl who wants to end it.

I know her.
Know her from inside the dreams. Inside those terrible, murderous, bloody dreams. I've heard her-screaming, her voice mixing in an awful chorus with all those other girls. Little girls.
Please, God.
That's what one of the little girls keeps saying, in the dream that is not just a dream. Please, God.
But I know better. There's no escaping this fate. This is destiny.
I must kill Skylar.


Skylar Reid is the new girl at school. Her mom just moved them to Florida—aka The Land of the Living Dead where the average age of her new neighbors was seventy-five—to start over. Skylar is not a fan of the change or her total lack of friends. Until she meets Calvin, a funny, sarcastic boy who doesn't let being in a wheelchair stop him from verbally shredding their preppy classmates. Skylar's just about to decide her new school's not a total loss when an odd girl wearing an oversized trench coat in the murderous Southern heat declares, "You're one of us." And then tries to kill her.

Don't miss out on YA's most thrilling new series.

Dangerous Destiny is a prequel to the Brockmann’s first book in their young adult series, Night SkyDangerous Destiny takes us into the life of Skylar Reid.  Skylar and her mother have just moved to Coconut Key, Florida.  Sky is not happy about the move one bit but it’s obvious this tough cookie can roll with the punches.  This turns out to be a good thing since her first few days of school end in gun fire.

 

Dangerous Destiny is so exciting your heart will pound out of your chest!  I love when I become so absorbed in a book that I forget the page numbers as I plunge from one to the next so fast!  The only bad thing is the book is over way too soon! I swear I screamed “Nooooooooo” when I found myself shockingly on the final page of Dangerous Destiny!  I immediately let my fingers take me to Amazon and ordered the first book in the series, Night Sky!

 

Dangerous Destiny is almost perfect! I give it Four Wonderland Hearts!

 

Dangerous Destiny is FREE on Amazon at the time of posting!

 

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

GONE TOO FAR by Natalie D. Richards

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

GONE TOO FAR by Natalie D. RichardsGone Too Far by Natalie D. Richards
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 6, 2015
Genres: Mysteries & Detective Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 319
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
Keeping secrets ruined her life. But the truth might just kill her.


Piper Woods can't wait for the purgatory of senior year to end. She skirts the fringes of high school like a pro until the morning she finds a notebook with mutilated photographs and a list of student sins. She's sure the book is too gruesome to be true, until pretty, popular Stella dies after a sex-tape goes viral. Everyone's sure it's suicide, but Piper remembers Stella's name from the book and begins to suspect something much worse.

Drowning in secrets she doesn't want to keep, Piper's fears are confirmed when she receives an anonymous text message daring her to make things right. All she needs to do is choose a name, the name of someone who deserves to be punished...

 

ReviewedbyDaniI thought I’d be into this book based on the synopsis, but I wasn’t.  I really had to push myself to finish it. I like my mystery books and Gone Too Far sounded promising but I just couldn’t connect with the main character, Piper. Piper did things that just got on my nerves, for example she would keep telling her best friend that he needed to go to college even though she knew he would get angry, and then she would wonder why he was mad at her. Piper did this on more than one occasion. Not only did it bother her best friend Manny. To say the least I wasn’t a big fan of the characters in this book. The mystery in this book is the one thing I enjoyed. I didn’t know who owned the notebook, because each character was someone who could have a motive. I will read Natalie Richards other book Six Months Later, because I have it but I’m not sure if I’d recommend this book.

I would give this book a 2.5
SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf