THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND By Kasie West

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND By Kasie WestThe Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 5/5/15
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship?

Short and Sweet Review

When Gia’s boyfriend, Bradley dumps her in the parking lot before walking into the prom Gia has to think fast and she decides to have a cute guy in the parking lot to be her boyfriend. Everything is fine until a few days later Gia realizes she can’t get him out of her head, now Gia wants to make her fill-in her actual boyfriend, but will this decision expose her lies or ruin her friendships? Bradley dumping Gia was clearly a big deal mainly because none of her friends have met Bradley and there’s a new girl in her group of her friends that seems set on bringing Gia down, after being dumped Gia worries that her friends will think she was lying about her relationship. Gia than finds Hayden and asks him to be Bradley for the sake of not looking like a liar in front of her friends. Gia finds her self falling for Hayden, which I didn’t mind at all they were cute together and had great chemistry. I liked the whole plot of this book Gia finding Hayden and pretending that he’s her boyfriend and falling for him and having to deal with feeling like her friends were being taken away from her. It was interesting seeing how Gia would handle all of the situations that were thrown her way. I found this book to be cute, I love all of Kasie West’s books! This book is perfect to read during the summer, its light cute, and full of fluff, pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

BLACKBIRD By Anna Carey

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLACKBIRD By Anna CareyBlackbird by Anna Carey
Series: Blackbird Duology #1
Published by HarperTeen on 9/16/14
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze RunnerThe Darkest Minds, and Legend.

Things I Know Are True:
  • I am in Los Angeles
  • I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
  • I am a teenage girl
  • I have long black hair
  • I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198
  • People are trying to kill me

Short and Sweet Review

A nameless girl wakes up on train tracks and has no memory of how she got there or who she is, all she knows is that she has this strange tattoo and that people are after her. Now she’s on the run and trying to figure out who she is. The main protagonist is “you” because the book is written in second person, but she tells people her name is Sunny. While trying to figure out who Sunny actually is we follow her around Los Angeles, she has a list of directions to follow and a knapsack full of things she may need. Sunny is already being looked for by police because she was on the train tracks but she then becomes wanted after being set up in an office building, after that is when things start to pick up. I enjoyed seeing how smart Sunny was and how good she was at evading those who were after her and watching her slowly get her memory back. Sunny meets Ben who becomes one of the only people she trusts and he was a romantic interest for her. The book ended on a cliffhanger which I didn’t like because I thought I would get more answers. Blackbird was interesting but I couldn’t stand the second person, I had to push myself to get through it because of this I can’t decide if I would want to read Deadfall or not. Overall it was a good book, it was short and interesting but the second person is kind of a deal breaker for me.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

EMMY & OLIVER By Robin Benway

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

EMMY & OLIVER By Robin BenwayEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen on 6/23/15
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 357
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy's soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life. . . . She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents' relentless worrying. But Emmy's parents can't seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart. . . . He'd thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who had kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing, and his thoughts swirling.

Short and Sweet Review

When Emmy’s next door neighbor and best friend Oliver is kidnapped by his father, things in her town change. Emmy’s parents become over protective, and all Emmy wants is to be free and feel like she’s in charge of her life. When Oliver returns ten years later, Emmy wonders if they can pick up their friendship where it left off. Emmy was a good character I liked how she went out of her way to make Oliver feel welcomed even though some of the other people in town made him feel like an outcast. I felt bad for Oliver, he was torn because now he has to try to get used to this new life with his mom but he still loves and misses his dad. The pacing in this book was a bit slow which was fine for me. I liked how Emmy and Oliver took the time to get to know each other again they made a sweet couple. Benway did a great job showing the struggles of this two teens, Oliver and his conflicting feelings about his dad and Emmy and hiding her secret passions from her parents like surfing and wanting to go to a college that they might not approve of. This is a great contemporary read and the writing portrays what’s happening in this book in a real light.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

HUNTED By Meagan Spooner

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HUNTED By Meagan SpoonerHunted by Meagan Spooner
Published by HarperTeen on 3/14/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Beauty knows the Beast's forest in her bones--and in her blood. 

Though Yeva grew up with the city's highest aristocrats, far from her father's old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who's ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there's no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas...or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva's father's misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he'd been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters' protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory--a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva's only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

Short and Sweet

Yeva lives in the city with her two sisters and father, but when her father makes a risky business decision that goes wrong the family is forced to move to her father’s lodge in the forest. Her father used to be a hunter and takes it up again once they arrive at the lodge, but he starts to lose his mind and goes missing in the woods. Yeva goes after him and the beast that he mentioned before he went missing.

Characters

Yeva (Beauty): Yeva is family oriented and she loves them a lot and she’s willing to make sacrifices that she thinks will help her family. Yeva is graceful and intelligent, she has a love for nature and hunting.

Beast: We get to read from the beast’s POV and we see that he’s conflicted with fighting his animal side and human side.

Romance

Yeva and Solmir: He was one of Yeva’s suitors he was rich and willing to help her family. He and Yeva built a friendship over time and Yeva tries to find feelings for him, so that she might take him up on his offer of marriage. When Yeva goes looking for her father she makes a deal with Solmir that if he looks out for her sisters when she comes back she’ll marry him.

Yeva and Beast: This was a slow building relationship. Yeva was being held captive by the Beast and their interactions were tense at first, but they soon began to understand each other and show more compassion.

Quotes

“She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.”

My Thoughts

~ Let me be completely honest, I’ve never watched Beauty and the Beast so going into this book I didn’t know much about the original story.

~ I think the book started off slow but once I got to the point where Yeva and her family moved to the lodge things started to pick up for me.

~ Yeva was always looking for something more in her life but whenever she thought about what that something was she didn’t know. The Beast was also the same way and that was what led him to being cursed.

~ I liked seeing the relationship between Beauty and the Beast develop it was slow and it took time. Beauty’s presence helped Beast regain control of his human side.

~ Beauty was intelligent and knew that the Beast couldn’t tell her about the curse so she did some inquiring of her own around his castle whenever she had the chance.

~ I loved the setting, it was somewhere in Russia and we get to go through the seasons and it felt like I was there with the characters.

Overall

The writing was beautiful and as soon as I got into the book I couldn’t put it down. I loved the characters and their different personalities and getting to see Yeva grow. This was a great introduction to Beauty and the Beast for me, and I recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

GRIT By Gillian French

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
GRIT By Gillian FrenchGrit by Gillian French
Published by HarperTeen on 5/16/17
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Seventeen-year-old Darcy Prentiss has long held the title of “town slut.” She knows how to have a good time, sure, but she isn’t doing anything all the guys haven’t done. But when you’re a girl with a reputation, every little thing that happens seems to keep people whispering—especially when your ex-best friend goes missing.

But if anyone were to look closer at Darcy, they’d realize there’s a lot more going on beneath the surface. Staying out late, hooking up, and telling lies is what Darcy does to forget. Forget about the mysterious disappearance of her friend. Forget about the dark secret she and her cousin Nell share. Forget about that hazy Fourth of July night. So when someone in town anonymously nominates Darcy to be in the running for Bay Festival Princess—a cruel act only someone with a score to settle would make—all of the things that Darcy wants to keep hidden threaten to erupt in ways she wasn’t prepared to handle…and isn’t sure if she can.

Short and Sweet

Darcy Prentiss lives in a small town and has the reputation of “town slut.” During the summer Darcy works picking blueberries with her cousin and her sister. Things are going fine until talk starts about Darcy’s ex-best friend Rhiannon who went missing the last summer, now people are trying to figure out what happened and if Darcy knows more than shes saying.

Characters

Darcy: Our main character who is unfairly judged. I think she’s gone through a lot she’s lost her dad and her reputation has people judging her before they even know who she really is.

Nell: Darcy’s cousin. Nell is a bit slower which makes Darcy feel like she has to protect Nell all the time, but Nell is compassionate and sweet.

Romance

There is a bit of Romance between Darcy and Jesse one of her fellow workers who picks blueberries. It was interesting to see how this relationship would develop. Darcy is known to be a good time which isn’t a secret to anyone in town but Jesse has her confused when he doesn’t seem to care about that.

My Thoughts

~ There were two storylines in Grit, one about Rhiannon who went missing the summer before and then one about Darcy’s day to day life and how she deals with family, work, and everything else that comes her way. There’s also a bit of a mystery surrounding why Darcy is so protective of Nell.

~ There’s a lot going on in this book and it’s not hard to follow at all, it made it more captivating if anything.

~ Darcy was an enjoyable character I felt bad because of how much everyone judged her, but she just owned it and I love how she felt like she didn’t have to explain anything to anyone.

~Rhiannon’s storyline is interesting. What really happened to Rhiannon? The police are now questioning everyone again because they found something of hers. The police also thinks Darcy knows more than she’s telling. I liked seeing this unfold because we slowly learn what actually happened that night and what Darcy knows.

~ Nell’s storyline is also interesting. Her and Darcy and they both knew if their secret got out everything in their lives would unravel.

~ I liked seeing Darcy’s day to day life shes headstrong and smart she knew what she wanted. She definitely didn’t let people walk all over her.

~ I loved Mags, Darcy’s older sister. She was like another mother to Darcy she was caring and protective and was always there for Darcy.

~This book was hard to put down I wanted to know what happened and how each character had something to do with what was going on in the present day based on what they did in the past.

Overall

Grit was raw and memorable. I couldn’t put this book down there were so many twists that just had me wanting to know what was going to happen next. I recommend this book, it would be a perfect read for the summer!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

AVENGED By Amy Tintera

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AVENGED By Amy TinteraAvenged by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #2
Published by HarperTeen on 5/2/17
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister, Olivia, from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its former glory.

But their fight has only begun. Olivia is determined to destroy everyone who acts against Ruina. Em isn’t as sure. Ever since Em posed as Prince Casimir’s betrothed in Lera, she’s started to see another side to this war. And now that Cas has taken the throne, Em believes a truce is within reach. But Olivia suspects that Em’s romantic feelings for Cas are just coloring her judgement.

Em is determined to bring peace to her home. But when winning the war could mean betraying her family, Em faces an impossible choice between loyalty and love. Em must stay one step ahead of her enemies—and her blood—before she’s the next victim in this battle for sovereignty.

Short and Sweet

Emelina and Olivia Flores go back to their kingdom of Ruina and vow to rebuild it to its former glory. But alliances are shifting and figuring out what to do and who to trust is just the beginning.

Characters

Emelina: One of the queens of Ruina who is willing to do what is best for her people. Emelina is way more level headed than Olivia, which I’ll get into a little later.

Olivia: The other queen of Ruina who is also willing to do what is best for her people but in a very different way than her sister. Olivia is back with a vengeance, she is not happy which is understandable she was kept prisoner but she will kill anyone who gets in her way. “You’re weak!” she screamed again.

Cas: Prince of Lera who is fighting for his throne, because his cousin Jovita and some of his people have turned against him.

Aren: The second strongest Ruined who is Emelina and Olivia’s friend. Aren struggles in this book with being angry and killing with Olivia, because he understands her anger or with being level headed with Emelina and showing compassion towards people.

*We get to read from all of these characters POVs.

Romance

There is two romances in this book that I feel are worth mentioning.

Emelina and Cas: They developed a bond in the first book Ruined and they still have feelings for each other even though their people don’t like the match. I love these two together I think it would work, I mean she did pretend to be someone else but all the feelings they have for each other are genuine. “I’m very reasonable. Em says it’s one of my best qualities.”

Aren and Iria: Iria is a warrior from the Olso army. Okay this is a match I didn’t see coming but the more I read the more I liked it. Aren needed someone who wasn’t a ruined who could understand what he was going through and show him compassion and Iria was the right person. She risked it all for him and his feelings for her changed over the course of the book and he showed his feelings more and I loved it!

Quotes

~ “We take. We will take the throne, we will take responsibility, and we will crush anyone who defies us. Got it?”

~ “It sounds like you’re about to die.”

~ “The Ruined don’t betray each other.”

My Thoughts

~ There is so much going on this book and it’s amazing, I couldn’t put this book down.

~ In Ruined Emelina aligned with the Olso kingdom to help her rescue her sister and attack the kingdom of Lera. Now that Em and Olivia are back in Ruina the warriors are back and along with them is August, the youngest prince of Olso. He proposes a marriage to Em and thats when things get complicated.

~ Em still has feelings for Cas and he still has feelings for Em. I mean they are technically married but he thought he was married to someone else and not one of the heirs of Ruina.

~ Olivia is intense! She will literally kill anyone who gets in her way provoked or not. I think she likes it shes like a killing machine snapping necks left and right. Olivia doesn’t like Cas and believes that Em’s love for him is causing her to make the wrong decisions.

~ I felt bad for Cas in this book. He’s trying to be with Em which is difficult because the Ruined don’t like the Lerans and she has to put her people before him, and his cousin Jovita is making things hard for him with his own people. Jovita convinces the Lerans who are staying in the fortress that Cas is going crazy and she temporarily takes over. Cas now has to figure out who is by his side and how to get his rightful place on the throne back.

~ I also liked Violet she is the governors daughter of the Southern Providence. She was also a strong female character and was loyal and willing to help Cas when most people weren’t.

~ I was worried about Olivia and Em, its like oil and water. When they got back to Ruina they proposed a diarchy. They’re so different Olivia is angry and thinks she can just take anyone out who gets in her way while Em thinks she can talk things out with people and try to make things better without so much bloodshed.

~ I loved getting to know more about Aren and seeing him struggle between what was right and what was wrong. His bond with Iria just made me smile it was cute and the relationship building was amazing.

Overall

I LOVED this book! It was amazing and it makes my want the next book so bad. I need to know whats going to happen next! I couldn’t put this book down and it didn’t end in a big cliffhanger but it still left me wanting to know what Em is going to do! Avenged was a great sequel and I definitely recommend this series its one of my favorites. You have to pick up Ruined if you haven’t and then get Avenged they don’t disappoint!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

 

 

DREAMOLOGY By Lucy Keating

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DREAMOLOGY By Lucy KeatingDreamology by Lucy Keating
Published by HarperTeen on 4/12/16
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Short and Sweet

Since Alice was little she has always had dreams with Max in them. In these dreams Alice and Max go on adventures and travel the world. Of course Max isn’t real because he’s only in Alice’s dreams, but everything changes when Alice walks into her new school and into class and sees Max. This Max is different than dream Max he’s doesn’t seem to want anything to do with Alice. Now Alice is determined to find out why they dream about each other, because things from their dreams are starting to seep into their reality.

Characters

Alice: Our main character who has dreams about Max, and is trying to fit in at a new school. She also has a few family issues, due to the fact that her mother left her at a young age and hasn’t returned. Alice is a dreamer, she’s adventurous and not afraid to admit it, she was out there. When Alice put her mind to something she didn’t stop until she got it.

Max: The boy Alice dreams about. Max is very different in the dreams and reality. Dream Max is fun and adventurous. Max in reality is a little stubborn and reserved he likes to think things through.

Romance

Obviously in their dreams Max and Alice are in a relationship, but in reality Max has a girlfriend Celeste, which complicates a lot of things. They both have feelings for each other but Max is taken so its complicated.

My Thoughts

~ My favorite part about this book was reading about Max and Alice’s dreams, they go to the most amazing places and have the most adventurous dreams. In one dream they were going down a river of milk with a Cheerio and Froot Loop as a tube.

~ I kind of felt bad for Alice she finds out that Max is real but he’s nothing like the Max she knows in her dreams. I also felt bad for Max’s girlfriend Celeste, her boyfriend has been dreaming about another girl since he was little.

~ Oliver was probably one of my favorite characters. He was known as a rule breaker and he was swoon worthy. He was one of Alice’s first friends at her new school. He was also the main source of humor.

~ Okay so the problem Alice and Max are facing is that their dreams are starting to bleed into reality and if they don’t put a stop to it they could possibly lose their sense of reality.

~ Max and Alice discover the Center for Dream Discovery (CDD) which is where they went as children to deal with the fact that they couldn’t sleep. Here Alice and Max try to figure out whats going on with them.

~ Finding out what happened that made this two dream about each other was so interesting, I also thought it was crazy that because they’ve been doing it for so long it was starting to become dangerous.

Overall

This book was cute and it didn’t take long to read at all! I read it fairly quickly and enjoyed it. This book is different and I think now is the perfect time to read it, it’s almost the summer and this book is light, funny and cute! Pick it up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

RISE OF FIRE By Sophie Jordan

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RISE OF FIRE By Sophie JordanRise of Fire by Sophie Jordan
Series: Reign of Shadows #2
Published by HarperTeen on 2/7/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Luna and Fowler have escaped the kingdom of Relhok, but they haven’t escaped the darkness. When a battle against the dark dwellers mortally injures Fowler, Luna is faced with a choice: put their fate in the hands of mysterious strangers or risk losing Fowler forever.

Desperate to keep the one bright part of her life alive, Luna accepts the help of soldiers from a nearby kingdom. Lagonia’s castle offers reprieve from the dangerous outside world—until the King discovers both Fowler and Luna’s true ties to Relhok and their influence over the throne.

Now pawns in each kingdom’s political game, Luna and Fowler are more determined than ever to escape and build the life they’ve been dreaming of. But their own pasts have a tight hold on their hearts and their destinies. Luna must embrace the darkness and fire within her before she loses not only Fowler but the power she was destined to inherit.

Short and Sweet

Rise of Fire picks up right where Reign of Shadow ended. Luna and Fowler end up at the kingdom of Lagonia, seeking help for Fowler after a battle with the dwellers that left him poisoned. The two then become the pawns of the King of Lagonia who seeks to use them for his political motives.

Characters

Luna: One of our main characters. Luna is blind and is hiding her identity as the Princess of Relhok.

Fowler: The Prince of Relhok and Luna’s love interest.

Romance

Okay so while I was reading I felt like there could be multiple couple alerts in the book let me start by listing them.

Luna and Fowler: These two have been together since the first book and developed feelings for each other during the course of being together for so long.

Luna and Prince Chasan: Okay these two were supposed to get married because it was the decision of the King, and I thought Luna was developing feelings for him just like we could see Chasan developing feelings for Luna.

Fowler and Princess Maris: Fowler and Maris have been betrothed for a while but Fowler went “missing” anyway this romance was mainly one sided.

Quotes

~ “I lost all sense of time in a world where every moment counted.”

My Thoughts

~ To be honest very very honest, this book was a disappointment. I loved the first book but after reading this one I feel let down.

~ I liked the survival aspect of the first book and trying to evade the dwellers but in this book we get more politics of being royalty.

~ I liked Luna sometimes and others I didn’t, she kept putting herself in situations she didn’t need to be in. She tried to be the hero at times she didn’t need to be.

~ The new characters we meet were pretty interesting. Prince Chasan was someone you didn’t really know if you could trust. Princess Maris was shallow and didn’t care about much except her upcoming wedding.

~ I felt like this book was rushed especially at the end. I thought this would at least be a trilogy but its not, this was the end. I mean Luna was on a quest to go back to Relhok to confront Cullan to get her Kingdom back but we don’t get any of that. I feel like there are a lot of questions that are left unanswered.

Overall

I loved the first book but this book left me wanting so much more. I feel like there was so many things that could have happened that didn’t and we didn’t get answers to certain things. I don’t know if I would recommend this book. Definitely read the first one but Rise of Fire leaves you with the feeling that you want so much more.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

BY YOUR SIDE By Kasie West

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BY YOUR SIDE By Kasie WestBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 1/31/17
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn at first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Short and Sweet

Autumn finds herself locked in the library for the weekend when her friends forget about her and head up to a bonfire. Autumn thinks her friends will figure out that she isn’t with them and come and rescue her. As the time passes by Autumn finds out that she’s not in the library alone she’s locked in with Dax Shepard. All she knows about Dax is that he’s trouble.

My Thoughts

~ Could the setting get any better? Seriously they’re locked in a library. That’s like a dream come true!

~ So Autumn is supposed to go up to a cabin with her friends and a guy she likes but ends up getting left behind when she has to stop in the library to go to the bathroom. How did her friends not notice on the drive that they were missing a person? I don’t know.

~ In the library Autumn meets Dax who doesn’t want anything to do with her. He just wants to pass the weekend by, but Autumn won’t have that, she tries to learn more about him and plans a few activities.

~ I didn’t like Dax at first because he was standoffish but towards the end I came around to liking him, a lot!

~ We’re only in the library for half of the book and then the other half of the book we get to see how Autumn lives life now that she’s free. Basically a lot of stuff happened while she was trapped in the library. Jeff (the guy Autumn likes) was in a car accident and she now has to juggle seeing her friends, him, and trying to fight her feelings for Dax.

~ I loved getting to see Autumn and Dax’s relationship grow outside of the library and how Autumn put in the effort to see him.

~ I don’t know how I feel about Autumn’s friends. I liked Lisa because she was always supportive of Autumn’s choices, but her other friends weren’t as important.

~ Autumn suffers from anxiety and panic attacks which she tries to keep on the down low, because she doesn’t want any of her friends to treat her differently.

Overall

I loved this book, its more than just your usual romance. It was a happy ending and everything was tied up nicely. It didn’t take me long to finish this book. I would recommend it! It was cute and short and if you like contemporaries and romance, pick this book up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS By Liz Czukas

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS By Liz CzukasTop Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas
Published by HarperTeen on 12/9/14
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe's Day

5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market

4) Crashing a cart into a customer's car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi

3) Trying to rock the "drowned rat" look after being caught in a snowstorm

2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)

1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees— of stealing upwards of $10,000

Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe's list of Top Ten Best Moments.

Short and Sweet

Chloe works at a supermarket and has to work on Christmas Eve. If that wasn’t bad enough someone stole some money, now her and her coworkers are stuck in the break room until they can clear their names and figure out who took the money.

My Thoughts

~ I actually read this book when it first came out but never wrote a review for it. I thought what a better time to write a review for this book than around the time it takes place.

~ I love everything about this book, the characters, the plot, and the setting.

~ Our main character Chloe likes to make list which I found fun and interesting to look at. The story is told from Chloe’s POV she’s real and funny, and her daily observations about what happens at the market are hilarious to read.

~ Chloe’s coworkers are diverse and funny also. I like how they all band together to try to solve the mystery of who took the money so they can leave work jail.

~ Chloe also has a crush on one of her coworkers, Tyson. I thought it was cute, I mean what’s better than being stuck with your crush in the store all day.

~Bonds were made after being stuck together. None of the coworkers were really friends at the beginning of the book they were more like acquaintances, but they learn more about each other and bond and friendships are made.

~ The mystery wasn’t intense, but it does make you think about who could have done it.

Overall

This book is light, cute, and fluffy. It’s a great read for the holiday and you guys should read it. How many other books do you know that take place in a grocery store? Do you know how much fun it would be to get stuck in a grocery store and try to solve a mystery. Fun times my friends. Go read this book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings