THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND By Kasie West

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND By Kasie WestThe Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 5/5/15
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship?

Short and Sweet Review

When Gia’s boyfriend, Bradley dumps her in the parking lot before walking into the prom Gia has to think fast and she decides to have a cute guy in the parking lot to be her boyfriend. Everything is fine until a few days later Gia realizes she can’t get him out of her head, now Gia wants to make her fill-in her actual boyfriend, but will this decision expose her lies or ruin her friendships? Bradley dumping Gia was clearly a big deal mainly because none of her friends have met Bradley and there’s a new girl in her group of her friends that seems set on bringing Gia down, after being dumped Gia worries that her friends will think she was lying about her relationship. Gia than finds Hayden and asks him to be Bradley for the sake of not looking like a liar in front of her friends. Gia finds her self falling for Hayden, which I didn’t mind at all they were cute together and had great chemistry. I liked the whole plot of this book Gia finding Hayden and pretending that he’s her boyfriend and falling for him and having to deal with feeling like her friends were being taken away from her. It was interesting seeing how Gia would handle all of the situations that were thrown her way. I found this book to be cute, I love all of Kasie West’s books! This book is perfect to read during the summer, its light cute, and full of fluff, pick it up and read it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR By Katharine McGee

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR By Katharine McGeeThe Thousandth Floor by Katharine Mcgee
Series: The Thousandth Floor #1
Published by HarperCollins on 8/30/16
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Short and Sweet

In The Thousandth Floor we follow the lives of 5 teenagers who live in a supertower. Manhattan 2118 is full of things that scream future, but even though some of these teens seem to have it all when we delve deeper into their lives and discover things aren’t as they seem. Secrets and drama bring these teens together and also tear them apart.

Characters

Avery: The girl who lives on the thousandth floor and seems perfect to all of her friends. Avery seems to have it all but there’s one thing she can’t have and that’s the boy she’s lived with her entire life. Avery was a good character she was looking out for her friends and tried to help them with their problems for the most part but she does end up having a falling out with one of them.

Leda: Leda is one of the highliers and just recently came home from a rehab facility for a problem with pills. She doesn’t tell anyone where she’s been for the summer, she’s also trying to get over a boy or maybe shes still trying to get with him. Guys! Leda is nuts! I mean I don’t think I’ve ever read a character like her she is insane and I’m not exaggerating. She’s spiteful always trying to get revenge and only looking out for herself. She also hires someone to keep tabs on the boy she likes, full on stalker status.

Eris: Another one of our highliers, Eris also seems to have it all until a secret tears apart her family. She goes from living at the top of the tower to going down to floor 103. She tries to keep this a secret for most of the book for the fear that her friends would start treating her different.

Rylin: Rylin does not live an extravagant life she lives on one of the lower floors trying to make money and living paying paycheck to paycheck to take care of her younger sister. One day she ends up getting an opportunity to work for someone who lives in a higher floor in the tower and it changes her life.

Watt: Watt also lives in the lower floors of the tower. Watt is a tech genius and has an illegal computer in his brain which helps give him information on everybody and helps him with his hacking.

Romance

Avery and Atlas: Okay, I can’t stand this couple at all! Atlas is Avery’s adopted older brother and this whole relationship just felt wrong to me. Literally apparently she’s loved him her whole life and I thought she would move on with someone other than her brother but no. It felt like lust and not love.

Avery and Watt: Watt meets Avery and seems to impress her with how much he seems to actually care about her. Watt actually has feelings for Avery, and I thought Avery had feelings for him to but the more I read the more I felt like she was just using poor Watt to make Atlas jealous.

Leda and Atlas: One night in the Andes and Leda’s life was changed forever now she’s obsessed with Watt and is trying to spend as much time as possible with him even if the way she goes about it is creepy.

Rylin and Hiral: Rylin’s boyfriend from one of the lower floors, they’ve been together since middle school but their relationship becomes strained when Rylin starts working for Cord on the upper floors.

Rylin and Cord: Cord is a highlier and hires Rylin as a maid, they begin to have feelings for each other and things just take off from there.

Eris and Cord: Eris and Cord would just hook up and then one night Cord decided to end it.

Eris and Mariel: Mariel is Eris’ neighbor from one of the lower floors, This was one of my favorite relationships Mariel teaches Eris that living on the lower floors isn’t as bad as she thinks they also had a really great chemistry, even though they did have some ups and downs related to how differently they were raised.

Quotes

~ “I believe in happiness. I’m just not sure love will actually get you there.”

My Thoughts

~ So when we start this book we learn that someone has fallen from the top floor but we don’t find out who until the end of the novel.

~ The pace is kind of slow but it makes sense when we have 5 povs to read from and these characters stories all seem to weave together.

~ There’s so much going on with all of the characters in this book it was entertaining and had me hooked, I will say after reading chapters from each pov it gets easier to remember who is who and what’s going on in their life.

~ Let me give you guys some information about Atlas, he’s Avery’s adopted brother and he decided he was going to run away and travel the world and just comes waltzing back into the tower like he was never gone, he’s actually quite secretive so that’s basically all we know about him.

~ I didn’t have a favorite character in this book mainly because they all did something that annoyed me but if I did have to pick on I didn’t like it would be Leda hands down, like whatever drug she was taking was strong because her behavior in this book was crazy.

~ I wish we got to see more of Mariel in this book she seemed to be sensible and she wasn’t dragged into the drama that was going in around her mainly because she only knew Eris and didn’t get to meet any of the other characters.

Overall

I loved reading this book and plan on continuing with this series! The way this book ended just left me wanting more, we find out who was killed and then there’s some blackmailing going on to keep what really happened that night a secret and I can’t wait to see how things will end up turning out!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

TEMPESTUOUS By Kim Askew And Amy Helmes

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TEMPESTUOUS By Kim Askew And Amy HelmesTempestuous by Amy Helmes, Kim Askew
Series: Twisted Lit #1
Published by Simon Pulse on 11/18/12
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery & Detective, Realistic Fiction, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 226
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

After a mistake with big financial consequences topples her throne, former "it girl" Miranda Prospero is bitter: she finds herself stranded in a crazed new world, holding court among geeks and misfits at a mall Hot Dog Kabob stand. Then, she gets her chance for revenge. When the storm of the decade snows in the mall workers and last-minute shopaholics for a long winter's night, Miranda sets out to get back at the catty clique who was behind her exile. But there's a complication. She somehow gets handcuffed to sullen loner Caleb. With him (literally) bound to her side, Miranda learns more in one night about her own heart, and human nature, than she ever did as prep royalty.

Short and Sweet Review

Miranda used to be the “it girl” until a scandal brought her down. Now Miranda is working at the mall’s food court and trying to make it through being a social outcast. A snowstorm hits and leaves Miranda, her coworkers, and her former friends stuck in the mall together, Miranda thinks this is the perfect time to get revenge. There was a lot going on in this book, not only was Miranda stuck in the mall, she’s also trying to get revenge, throw a party for a coworker, and trying to figure out who in the mall is committing robberies during the snow storm. I liked that the setting was the mall I think it would be so much fun to be locked in a mall for the night. I didn’t enjoy Miranda’s character, she was so rude to people and didn’t give them a chance even if she just met them, we do get to see a change in heart from her but it was later in the book like the last 30 pages. Miranda’s coworkers were diverse and it was fun to learn what stores they worked at and getting to know more about them. We also get to see Miranda’s former friends, they’re pretty awful too, most of the book was focused on them and the revenge Miranda planned to get on them. The robbery was a minor plot in the book we hear about it once during the beginning of the book and then again at the end, it wasn’t really much of a mystery because most of the characters blew it off, they knew the person was still in the mall but they didn’t go looking for who it would be. Miranda also has a romantic interest in the book, I liked it mainly because of Caleb he didn’t let Miranda get to him, they were also handcuffed to each other during most of the book. I’ve never read The Tempest by Shakespeare so I don’t know how closely this book resembles it but overall I thought it was an okay read. The book was short and easy to read I just didn’t like Miranda’s dialogue, but I think some of the other characters make up for it.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

ALL THE FEELS By Danika Stone

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ALL THE FEELS By Danika StoneAll The Feels by Danika Stone
Published by Swoon Reads on 6/7/16
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life. When her favorite character is killed off, Liv Just. Can't. Deal. She launches an online campaign to bring her hero back to life. Step one: Bribe her best friend, Xander, into helping by making costumes for his steampunk cosplay. Step two: Balance her booming fandom life with school, parental disapproval, and her (nonexistent) love life. Maybe a trip to Dragon Con with Xander would help?

Short and Sweet Review

Liv is a college freshman and a fangirl of the Starveil franchise. Her heart is shattered when her favorite character is killed off, now Liv is determined to bring him back with the help of her fellow fans, Starveil fandom, and her best friend Xander. I enjoyed this book it was short, light, and a quick read. I found it interesting to read because of her love for this franchise and seeing how Liv interacted with the fandom online, I also liked how Xander wasn’t into the movies like Liv, but was into steampunk. I loved Xander he was quirky and he looked out for Liv and was the sweetest person to her. Liv was a good character too I found it funny how she was moping around because of Spartans death but she was determined to change that I thats what I liked the most about her. I felt bad that her mom didn’t understand why Liv loved Starveil so much, it was her only connection with her now deceased father. Liv continued to pursue her passion even though there was that disapproval lingering from her mom. I liked the transitions in the book, we get to see Liv in Boulder, and then follow her during her spring semester, and then her and Xander go to Dragon Con in Atlanta. Xander and Liv’s friendship made me swoon I loved them so much, they made a cute couple in the end and I was so happy! This book is cute and I would recommend it! We get fandom and steampunk and friendships and the life of a college student, pick this book up!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

EMMY & OLIVER By Robin Benway

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

EMMY & OLIVER By Robin BenwayEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen on 6/23/15
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 357
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy's soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life. . . . She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents' relentless worrying. But Emmy's parents can't seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart. . . . He'd thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who had kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing, and his thoughts swirling.

Short and Sweet Review

When Emmy’s next door neighbor and best friend Oliver is kidnapped by his father, things in her town change. Emmy’s parents become over protective, and all Emmy wants is to be free and feel like she’s in charge of her life. When Oliver returns ten years later, Emmy wonders if they can pick up their friendship where it left off. Emmy was a good character I liked how she went out of her way to make Oliver feel welcomed even though some of the other people in town made him feel like an outcast. I felt bad for Oliver, he was torn because now he has to try to get used to this new life with his mom but he still loves and misses his dad. The pacing in this book was a bit slow which was fine for me. I liked how Emmy and Oliver took the time to get to know each other again they made a sweet couple. Benway did a great job showing the struggles of this two teens, Oliver and his conflicting feelings about his dad and Emmy and hiding her secret passions from her parents like surfing and wanting to go to a college that they might not approve of. This is a great contemporary read and the writing portrays what’s happening in this book in a real light.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

CARAVAL By Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

CARAVAL By Stephanie GarberCaraval by Stephanie Garber
Series: Caraval #1
Published by Flatiron Books on 1/31/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

Short and Sweet

After years of writing the Caraval master, Scarlett finally gets a reply and three tickets. All Scarlett has ever wanted is to take her sister to see the magic of Caraval in person. The only problem is the two sisters don’t have a way to get to where Caraval is until a strange sailor offers to take them. Things seem to go great until Donatella is taken and becomes a prize for who finds her first, now it’s up to Scarlett to play the game and be the first one to find her sister.

Characters

Scarlett: Scarlett is caring and her main goal in this book is to find her sister. Scarlett is like a mother to Donatella and is very protective of her. I did find her to be a little annoying at times mainly because she wouldn’t accept any help and thought she was capable of doing things on her own.

Donatella: Scarlett’s younger carefree sister. All Donatella wants is to leave Trisda and get away from their father. Donatella is very impulsive and will do what she thinks she has to just to get her way.

Julian: The sailor who comes to Trisda and offers to take the sisters to Caraval. Julian was a hard character to figure out her definitely had secrets he was hiding. I didn’t know exactly what he wanted he’s just a hard character to place. What is he doing? Why did he want to go to caraval? Is he actually trying to help Scarlett or not?

Romance

Scarlett and The Count: Scarlett is engaged to be married to a man she has never met, but they do write each other letters. We don’t learn much about the count mainly because Scarlett has very little information about him, but Scarlett did believe that he would be able to provide a better life for her and Donatella.

Scarlett and Julian: I wasn’t sure about these two at first but as the book progressed I was rooting for them. Scarlett found Julian hard to read and first and wanted to know exactly why he wanted to come to Caraval with her. But the more time they spend together the more they come to care for each and I loved it.

My Thoughts

~  The world in this book is so amazing and magical, nothing is as it seems and that’s exactly what Scarlett has to keep in mind while she plays the game. Scarlett gets swept into this world and has to differentiate whats real and what’s make believe.

~ Scarlett becomes more apart of the game than she ever thought she would. Her sister was taken and now she has five clues to figure out before any of the other participants of caraval.

~ Scarlett made some pretty big leaps of faith when she thought she knew what the clues meant and and some points I didn’t know how she put two and two together.

~ Every character that works at caraval was very interesting and they were all so different that they brought something to the magic of the book and making the world more realistic.

~ There’s a lot of secrets about caraval and past players and games and it was interesting to learn about.

~ The master legend was also a mystery mainly because we don’t meet him but we do but we don’t it’s crazy and kind of hard to follow.

~ The ending was great and it just makes me want the second book now, I want to know what else could happen that hasn’t already.

Overall

I enjoyed this book so much! There were so many twists and the world was so amazing it just kept me invested in the plot! It was a light and fun read and it’d be a great read for the summer. I feel like this is a book I can read over and over again! I can’t wait until the second book is released.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE WINNER’S CRIME BY MARIE RUTKOSKI

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE WINNER’S CRIME BY MARIE RUTKOSKIThe Winner's Crime by Marie Rutkoski
Series: The Winner's Trilogy #2
Published by Square Fish on 3/29/16
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

A royal wedding is what most girls dream about. It means one celebration after another: balls, fireworks, and revelry until dawn. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement: that she agreed to marry the crown prince in exchange for Arin's freedom. But can Kestrel trust Arin? Can she even trust herself? For Kestrel is becoming very good at deception. She's working as a spy in the court. If caught, she'll be exposed as a traitor to her country. Yet she can't help searching for a way to change her ruthless world . . . and she is close to uncovering a shocking secret. This dazzling follow-up to The Winner's Curse reveals the high price of dangerous lies and untrustworthy alliances. The truth will come out, and when it does, Kestrel and Arin will learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

Short and Sweet

In the last book we see that Kestrel made a deal to free the Herran in exchange for her hand in marriage to the emperor’s son. Kestrel is now in Valoria surrounded by Valorians and all of the riches she could want, but she’s unhappy. All Kestrel wants is to help further Arin’s cause and help the Herrani people but she also knows that she has to remain loyal to her father the general and her own people.

Quotes

~ “If you won’t be my friend, you’ll regret being my enemy.”

~ “Sometimes you think you want something,” Arin told him, “when in reality you need to let it go.”

My Thoughts

~ There’s so much going on in this book with Kestrel, shes living with the emperor and his son preparing for their wedding, but she’s also trying to figure out how she can help the Herrani from Valoria.

~ Arin is still in Herran and even though his people are technically free, but the Valorians are taking anything from the country and it’s leaving the Herran people with little faith.

~ Kestrel and Prince Verex do not get along during the first half of the book, due to Verex knowing that Kestrel has her own motives for wanting to marry him. They both make a truce and he becomes helpful by letting Kestrel know not to play games with the emperor.

~ At her engagement party Kestrel meets Tensen, Herrani’s minister of agriculture. She agrees to give him political information as long as he does not let Arin know where he’s getting the information.

~ When Kestrel becomes a spy for the Herran she has to try to keep a low profile but that’s hard for her to do especially with Arin around.

~ When Kestrel decided to become a spy I got nervous for her. The emperor was not a nice man and I felt like if she made one wrong move she would be killed.

~ I honestly liked reading from Kestrel’s point of view rather than Arin’s. I know his POV was important, because we got to see what was happening in Herran but Kestrel was risking it all in the Valoria.

~ The ending killed me. I don’t even know how to describe Kestrel, crazy, brave, courageous? Ugh I don’t even know what I would do in that situation and I can’t believe that it even happened the way it did.

Overall

I need to read the final book in this series asap! The ending in this book was too much for me to just not want the next book in my hands. I want to see what Kestrel and Arin do next and how everything will wrap up. If you’re looking for a new series to start this is a great one! There’s love, betrayal, and a lot of politics involved.

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

 

 

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE CHESS QUEEN ENIGMA By Colleen GleasonThe Chess Queen Enigma by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #3
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/6/15
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

In this third installment of the Stoker and Holmes series, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes have reluctantly agreed to act as social chaperones and undercover bodyguards for Princess Lurelia of Betrovia, who has arrived in London to deliver a letter that details the secret location of an ancient chess queen that's been missing for centuries. But when the letter—which will heal a centuries-old rift between England and the Betrovians—is stolen out from under Evaline and Mina's watchful eyes, the two girls are forced into a high-stakes race to ensure they find the chess queen before anyone else does.

Short and Sweet Review

Mina and Evaline are asked to be social chaperones for princess Lurelia of Betrovia, the only problem is the princess seems to be dull and boring. Not only do the two girls have to worry about watching the princess, they’re also trying to find a chess piece that has been missing for centuries before their foe the Ankh gets to it. This is my favorite book in the series so far! There was so much going on that it just held my attention and made me wonder what was going to happen next. There were a few storylines in this book, one involving the princess and the chess piece and one that involved Pix and his mysterious device which was mentioned in book two. The Ankh is also back, and I felt bad for Mina because it always seemed like the Ankh was one step ahead of her. Mina and Evaline are still growing and in this book I felt like they respected each other more, which lead them to work better as partners. We got to see more of Grayling, I enjoy scenes with him and the interactions he had with Mina. This book was my favorite and I can’t wait until book four is released! I highly recommend this series especially if you love mysteries!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen Gleason

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE SPIRITGLASS CHARADE By Colleen GleasonThe Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason
Series: Stoker & Holmes #2
Published by Chronicle Books on 10/7/14
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak.

After the Affair of the Clockwork Scarab, Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes are eager to help Princess Alix with a new case. Seventeen-year-old Willa Aston is obsessed with spiritual mediums, convinced she is speaking with her mother from beyond the grave. What seems like a case of spiritualist fraud quickly devolves into something far more menacing: someone is trying to make Willa appear lunatic using an innocent-looking spiritglass to control her. The list of clues piles up: an unexpected murder, a gang of pickpockets, and the return of vampires to London. But are these events connected?

As Uncle Sherlock would say, there are no coincidences. It will take all of Mina's wit and Evaline's muscle to keep London's sinister underground at bay.

Short and Sweet Review

In The Spiritglass Charade, Mina and Evaline are asked to investigate who is trying to get a young heiress’ fortune. There’s also the mystery of a missing brother and vampires coming back to London. In this book we still have the same characters we met in the first book. This time both of the girls are eager to show that they have the skills to solve this mystery. The mystery surrounding Willa was well done, it wasn’t obvious who was trying to get her fortune. Mina was a hard character to connect to mainly because she comes across as smug  whenever she makes a deduction. I like Eva but during this book she made a lot of reckless decisions. Pix was also in this book and he’s just a big mystery. Who is he working for and what is he up to? Grayling is also back and I just love his character I want more of him he takes his job seriously and keeps Mina on her toes. I thought that Grayling’s scenes with Mina were cute I liked when they were together. The Ankh doesn’t make an appearance in this book but she was mentioned. I love mysteries and this series is great, I can’t wait to read the next book!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsHalf

HUNTED By Meagan Spooner

I received this book for free from Reviewer Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HUNTED By Meagan SpoonerHunted by Meagan Spooner
Published by HarperTeen on 3/14/17
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Reviewer Purchase
Buy the Book
ReviewedbyDani

Beauty knows the Beast's forest in her bones--and in her blood. 

Though Yeva grew up with the city's highest aristocrats, far from her father's old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who's ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there's no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas...or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva's father's misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he'd been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters' protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory--a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva's only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

Short and Sweet

Yeva lives in the city with her two sisters and father, but when her father makes a risky business decision that goes wrong the family is forced to move to her father’s lodge in the forest. Her father used to be a hunter and takes it up again once they arrive at the lodge, but he starts to lose his mind and goes missing in the woods. Yeva goes after him and the beast that he mentioned before he went missing.

Characters

Yeva (Beauty): Yeva is family oriented and she loves them a lot and she’s willing to make sacrifices that she thinks will help her family. Yeva is graceful and intelligent, she has a love for nature and hunting.

Beast: We get to read from the beast’s POV and we see that he’s conflicted with fighting his animal side and human side.

Romance

Yeva and Solmir: He was one of Yeva’s suitors he was rich and willing to help her family. He and Yeva built a friendship over time and Yeva tries to find feelings for him, so that she might take him up on his offer of marriage. When Yeva goes looking for her father she makes a deal with Solmir that if he looks out for her sisters when she comes back she’ll marry him.

Yeva and Beast: This was a slow building relationship. Yeva was being held captive by the Beast and their interactions were tense at first, but they soon began to understand each other and show more compassion.

Quotes

“She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.”

My Thoughts

~ Let me be completely honest, I’ve never watched Beauty and the Beast so going into this book I didn’t know much about the original story.

~ I think the book started off slow but once I got to the point where Yeva and her family moved to the lodge things started to pick up for me.

~ Yeva was always looking for something more in her life but whenever she thought about what that something was she didn’t know. The Beast was also the same way and that was what led him to being cursed.

~ I liked seeing the relationship between Beauty and the Beast develop it was slow and it took time. Beauty’s presence helped Beast regain control of his human side.

~ Beauty was intelligent and knew that the Beast couldn’t tell her about the curse so she did some inquiring of her own around his castle whenever she had the chance.

~ I loved the setting, it was somewhere in Russia and we get to go through the seasons and it felt like I was there with the characters.

Overall

The writing was beautiful and as soon as I got into the book I couldn’t put it down. I loved the characters and their different personalities and getting to see Yeva grow. This was a great introduction to Beauty and the Beast for me, and I recommend it!

SmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatingsSmileRatings